We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing retreat where you feel being taken care of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Scuol
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A relaxing retreat where you feel being taken care of”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A very quirky hotel on a small hill in scuol, close to the high street and the spa. The route to the spa is a bit labirinthy, but after a couple of times you get it and it is very nice not to change and simply walk in your bathrobe back to the hotel. The town is very picturesque and offers lots of walks. The staff is very friendly and takes care of you. The dinner was fantastic - we had to book in advance. As a rule, they are fully booked. Well done guys!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at the GuardaVal. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed it. It would be great to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Meanwhile we send you best wishes from sunny Engadin.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    37
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
132
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent 7 nights in this hotel in a junior suite with our 9 year old son. The room is comfortable but a bit small and for 3 persons there is a bit lack of storage space especially for a ski holiday with all the gear you need to take. There is a nice sauna and steambath in the hotel but we only found out after the elevator broke down which leads to the Bad Scuol Thermae. Although the passarelle via the Belvedere hotel is a nice feature, it is a long walk and numerous steps away from the hotel itself. The bar and reception area are very nice. The staff is outstanding and will cater for all your needs. Our room 66 had a superb view on the surrounding mountains and with blue skies almost every day that was great. The best thing I will remember is the excellent quality of the food. The new chef or was it the assistant of the old one ?? had excellent diners and quality was superb. If the can get the timing improved (the restaurant was packed almost every night) he or she is up for Guide Michelin Awards. Breakfast is a feast as well. Plenty of choice and what isn't on offer will be served quickly. Wine Menu is excellent and plenty of choice. This was our third visit to Scuol over a 10 years span and the cosy little village in the limelight of St. Moritz is turning into a small city and it has lost a little bit of it's charm. The new manager is very attentive and does his utmost to make you feel well. If you are not a ski fan you won't mind the couple of steps you have to deal in the hotel with but I felt that there were just a bit too many steps to get back and forth to the ski depot, bus, garage, town....

Room Tip: Room 66 has a perfect uninterrupted view on the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan_vandenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed evaluation. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the GuardaVal as well as the food in our restaurant. Your suggestions will be taken on board and improved where possible. Only the steps would be a great challenge as the building is a traditional Engadine house on a hill. Nevertheless we would be very pleased to welcome you again at the GuardaVal.

Best wishes from sunny Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinach, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The beautiful design and architecture features are the first impression you get - then the wonderful friendliness of the staff. Finally the deliciousness of the food! We paid extra for an Engadine room - glad we did, we had a wonderful view. Highlight of the trip - apart from the dinners (we went for a package with 5 course dinners included - it seemed like a good deal) was a trip to the roman-irish rooms in the Bogn Engiadina. Wonderful - and fun to access it through the longest walking passage-way/ tunnel I have ever seen!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baselrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay at the GuardaVal. Thank you very much for your kind evaluation. We will gladly forward your compliments to our staff and hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Meanwhile we send you best wishes from the sunny Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have been three times in this little grand hotel in low Engadin and every time this establishment confirms its top quality. The modern-traditional decor is amazingly nice and the architect has done a great job in its restructuring 5 years ago or so. The rooms, all different, have all a special touch and charm. The little spa is worth a passage but the highlight of the relaxation is the full access to the Bad Scuol, one of the largest and nicest spa in the Alps. To complete the awesome picture the restaurant is definitely worth more than the 14 Gault Millau points. And the staff is super competent, professional and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you very much for your positive valuation. We are hugely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the GuardaVal once more and that you were fully satisfied with our service, infrastructure and with our food. We will gladly forward your compliments to our staff and to our head chef. Your kind valuation motivates us to render always the best possible service to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again at the GuardaVal and wish you happy holidays.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the moment we were picked up at the train station until our departure we could feel more like royalty. The hotel is great and above all its staff is top notch.

We had room 51 which was really spacious and well appointed. We were there for a wedding in September and could also try their F&B services. What a delight.

Their beds are the best I've had the chance to experience. If any one reads that review, what is the brand of their pillows ???????

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrcacou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind evaluation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the GuardaVal and that you have been fully satisfied with our service. We will forward your great compliments to our staff. We have our pillows from a hotel supplier called “Wäschekrone”. www.waeschekrone.ch

We would be pleased to welcome you again at the GuardaVal and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff was extremly friendly and helpful and this is a large plus for this hotel. The rooms were perhaps not luxurious but the view is quite amazing if you have mountain view and a balcony. The breakfast was ok and the dining room has a nice mountain view. The hotel is connected to a spa through an underground passage. The spa is nice and relatively big with a number of different pools - although not very cozy or luxurious - but we did not try the saunas at all as kids were not allowed (kids allowed in pools after 11 am).

Room Tip: Mountain view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKTHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt B, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your positive valuation. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. As the Engadin Bad Scuol do the therapies in the morning, kids have access to the bath only from 11.00 am until 9.30 pm. We would be pleased to welcome you again at the GuardaVal and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed for a romantic weekend in the "Engadiner Zimmer" and it could not have been more perfect.... the super friendly host and his whole staff made our visit in the swiss alps to a real amazing memory.
The athmosphere in the hotel is just beautiful. We thought the idea of the 'Passarelle' into the spa is done so clever and just carries you straight away into relaxing mood.
All the 'cuisine' has been amazing.... and we also took dinner in the 'gourmetrestaurant' which has been just another highlight of our stay.
All around we just loved our romantic weekend there....and we cant wait go come back again.
Tina & Rian

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt B, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and positive valuation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the GuardaVal to the fullest. Your valuation motivates us to render our very best service to our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon at the GuardaVal and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scuol
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conrad Scuol
Hotel Conrad Scuol
#5 of 16 in Scuol
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#4 of 16 in Scuol
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 16 in Scuol
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filli
Hotel Filli
#10 of 16 in Scuol
30 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#2 of 2 in Vulpera
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal

Property: Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Address: Vi 383, Scuol 7550, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Scuol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scuol
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Scuol
#3 Spa Hotel in Scuol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the firt Romantik & Boutique-Hotel in the lower Engadine, tradition and alpine modernity, authentic cuisine and warm hospitality. 36 individually designed, romantic rooms, an Engadin gourmet restaurant, the cozy fireplace bar and an in-house spa area were designed and furnished with great attention to detail. Plus the fantastic view to the lower Engadine mountains and the unique atmosphere of the 400-year-old Engadine house in the upper village of Scuol. Enjoy a fantastic holiday in one of Switzerland's sunniest regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Scuol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing