We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
202
65
15
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
65
15
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal bathsfree accessother hotelsbreakfast buffet isworth a visitbogn engiadinalocation is greatperfect hotelexcellent value for moneyunderground passageviews of the mountainspublic transporttrain stationnovawintervalleysteam
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

When the Vereina train tunnel was opened 1999, Scuol became a new favourite in the Engadin - and the Belevedere was the place to be. Its owner was there in the right moment and he did the right things. The Belvedere Hotel enjoyed a great time for some years, its was popular with different kind of travellers. It seems to have become a victim of its success. Soon you could not get any rooms anymore last minute, then a new building was added (modern, but not suiting the old time charme of its main building). Suddenly there were too many guests to handle and the hotel lost the personal touch. This is mostly visible during dinner time. Several times it has been severely chaotic. You have to wait to long for the five courses, sometimes you will not get what you have chosen etc etc. And service personnel is just running around the place rather headlessly. A pity. And rather dangerous. If the y continue like that, they will lose their loyal guests. But, there is hope, try the Guarda Val, that belongs also to the Belvedere group of hotels. Go there, eat there, stay there, and forget (at least at the moment) the Belvedere.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We enjoy skiing in the Lower Engadine region of Switzerland due to the prevailing sunny days.

Scuol does not have a large ski area, however the slopes are well suited for intermediary skiers with kids. The town has an indoor swimming/sauna/spa (Bad) center that is perfect to relax after the skiing.

This is the big advantage of the Hotel Belvedere. It is connected to the Bad so after returning from the slopes, you just put on your swim wear, robe and 300m later you reach the pools and saunas. Jacuzzis, hydro massage, manual massage...

We were on half-board for the week, and we enjoyed the quality of the meals in all dinners. Realizing that we did not understand German, the hotel staff prepared an English version of the menu for us everynight. The wine cart had many versions of regional and foreign wines.

We actually stayed in an apartment that the hotel owns on the other side of the street. We were just four, but the two-floor apartment can fit confortably 6 people. The only inconvenience is the access to the Bad.

For the skiing, the hotel has a van that takes you to the ski resort in pre-determined times. Unfortunately it does not bring the skiers back, so we had to take the free sport bus back to the hotel, a 20 minute trip.

In some nights the Hotel sponsored live music in the bar, which was a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromAuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I booked three months before our arrival and was promised a large room. We got a miserable little room facing the main road with a huge balcony that was shared with about 10 other rooms. Reception and their handling of the complaint was marginal. They abviously allocated our confirmed room to someone who stayed more than 2 nights. Meals were ok but the decoration and lay-out of the Hotel is marginal, more like a middle class business hotel in a city. The food was good. If you book there make sure that you get a good room, I saw one corner junior suite that was fine but not available.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manon423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

This hotel combines super Swiss efficiency with friendliness, excellent cooking (the breakfast buffets are memorable) and panoramic views. It retains the atmosphere and charm of a family-run hotel yet provides the facilities of a much larger hotel. It is encouraging that the hotel retains the same staff for many years.There is a direct covered access to the thermal baths. Located in the town of Scuol it is so easy to reach the stunning mountains, by cable car or directly by foot or by taking the post buses, and shops are just outside - yet is wonderfully quiet in the south-facing rooms. The rooms in the new wing are modern and beautifully designed using wood and granite. The reception (and most of the restaurant) staff speak excellent English and some French - the hotel can provide an English translation of the dinner menu. I have been coming to Scuol every year in the summer since 1992 and have stayed at the Belvedere for the last 3 years - which has been an excellent decision! The family who own the Belvedere also own the Belvair next to the thermal baths and there is an arrangement for taking dinner between the two. And overall the hotel provides excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willybach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We stayed in the Hotel Belvedere for a week ending 23rd Sept 2007 and were very happy indeed with the experience.
The review of this hotel dated 27th August 2007 says most of it, but I have to add that the room we had was very large, with a balcony and a decent sized bathroom with shower. So when you book, and I recommend you do, then ask for a room with balcony. We had room 110, so 210 and 310 will all be similar.
The north and east facing rooms have a view of the road or over the building next door, so pay the extra and get a south or west facing room with fantasic views over the valley to the mountains.
Overall a very nice place, with extremely friendly staff.
Is the wine expensive? No more so than any other 4 star hotel.
Buying by the glass is more economical as they do not measure but pour by eye, and the staff are more than generous with the measures.
We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews