We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option”
Review of Hotel Welcome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Welcome
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Excellent option for those coming by car, mostly. The hotel has easy parking and great reception. We received an upgrade and were very well treated during our stay. The train station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and the train arrives in Zermatt in a few minutes. The room is large, modern and very comfortable. The breakfast is simple but adequate and tasty. Anyway, we liked a lot our stay at Hotel Wellcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Good, clean and modern accommodation. Reception very helpful and got us on the taxi shuttle up to Zermatt at short notice. This was only CHF 6 each. We walked back from Zermatt, the road is quiet and it took about an hour.
The hotel has good views and balconies - although be careful not to wander out there half-dressed, there are no balcony walls so your neighbours may well be sat there. Bit strange to have a kitchen but no cutlery/ crockery etc.
Breakfast was a bit limited but this reflects the price. Parking is free and right outside the hotel. No complaints really and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Tasch is a good base from which to visit Zermatt and Gornergrat. I booked this hotel for that purpose which it served well and was much cheaper than staying in Zermatt. But this is a basic hotel so don’t expect too many frills for the price.

Check in was quick and efficient. Service was polite, but minimal. The room was spacious but basic. Beds were not at all comfortable. Our room had a kitchen but nothing other than glasses in the cupboard which was a bit confusing. Guess they don’t want guests using these facilities.

Despite a separate parking garage for day trippers the car parking for hotel guests was at a premium when we stayed. On arriving back after dinner I asked where to park at reception was assured there would be plenty of space in the two guest parking garages. In fact there was none available at all – but after I informed the receptionist of this she did give up her own park so we
could have a place for the night.

There is a train shuttle to Zermatt from the Matterhorn train terminal (a short walk from the hotel). We wanted to catch the first shuttle of the day in order to get on an early cogwheel train up to Gornergrat (based on local recommendations to avoid the masses of tourists). Unfortunately breakfast at the hotel (which was included in the price) did not start until 7:30, so we caught a train at 8am. When we got to the cog-wheel station in Zermatt it was packed with people and the train was full. Next time I’d skip breakfast and go earlier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RDF51080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel provided an excellent location for visitng Zermatt.It is a short walk from Tasch station
and provides very clean and quiet accomodation at a reasonable price.We paid UKL 167.00 for
2 nights bed/breakfast.We had dinner at the nearby city hotel where we had a good meal with
drinks (beer and coffee)for around £40.00.The train into Zermatt is very frequent and takes 10
minutes.For myself Zermatt is too touristic and very expensive.The cog train to Gorneergrat
was very expensive and extremely crowded although the frequency of trains will shortly increase.
We travelled early June and the season ? starts June 20th.Staff at Hotel Welcome were most
helpful .Breakfast was a big choice continental style.Check train times carefully when leaving for
Visp or Brig ,I had misread the internet timetable.From Brig our EC train on a Friday afternoon
was packed solid with humanity and their baggage.For older people like myself and my wife, it
was not pleasant.

Room Tip: rooms facing towards Zermatt provide an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our purpose to stay in Tasch was to visit Zermatt and the cog train to Gornergrat. To stay in Zermatt is more expensive than Tasch. This hotel is 500m walk to the train station. There is a train shuttle to Zermatt roughly every 20 minutes so very accessible. The hotel is clean, modern with spacious rooms and balconies with great views. Reception staff very welcoming. Pleasant breakfast. Our stay was for 2 nights and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Room 226 has an excellent view towards the mountains surrounding Zermatt. This is on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HILARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent 2 nights here and our stay was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable and we were able to sit out on the balcony to enjoy the amazing view. The breakfast was great, staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauri56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We loved everything about this hotel - helpful staff, a good spread for breakfast, a very well equipped room with modern fittings & new furniture, and to top it off, picturesque view of the mountains. Free parking at the hotel premises and the train station to Zermatt is a short walk away. We stayed two nights and enjoyed every moment of it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasch
0.4 mi away
Typically Swiss Hotel Taescherhof
1.5 mi away
Matterhorn Golf Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#4 of 7 in Tasch
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#11 of 111 in Zermatt
230 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Budget Alpenhotel Tasch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome

Address: Kantonsstrasse, Tasch 3929, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Tasch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Price Range: £42 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welcome 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Welcome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing