We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Taescherhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Taescherhof
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just a perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

we used this hotel just for one night before going in to Zermatt. Excellent comfort, parking covered below the hotel and very spaciuos and modern rooms. tastefully styled, modern and yet very swiss. Breakfast was ok. We found out many people use this hotel for their skiing holiday in Zermatt. The train to Zermatt is about 100 meters from the hotel, carparking for 12 francs per 24 hours is very much OK and ofcourse prices are much cheaper then in Zermatt itself!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
48
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is of mountain hut style which is fine with me but might be unacceptable for those that prefer comfortable conventional hotels. Rooms are pretty small, just for sleeping, but we had a great view to Kleine Matterhorn. I'd say poor value for the money in general terms, but this is expensive place. On the other hand, the hotel has more than one building and separate sections, and I'm not sure that all rooms are the same.
On the bright side, it's very well located - just a few steps from railway station. Our target was Zermatt and Gornergrat, but Täsch is as far as you can drive a car, and the hotel has underground parking, free for hotel guests.
We had quite good dinner in the hotel restaurant, although not cheap, and breakfast was acceptable. Driving was quite simple, much easier than I expected with my experience in Alps, and hotel was easy to find.
Staff was very helpful and gave us a couple of extra hours on the day of departure.
Don't forget warm clothes when you go there as you can easily find yourself in the middle of winter. We left Milan at 29 C, arrived Täsch at 12 C and enjoyed -1 C at Gornergrat next day. Having said thet, I consider ourselves lucky becuse forecast for Täsch 2 days before arrival was -3 C at noon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel has 2 sections, new and original. If possible, stay in the new addition = larger rooms. We stayed in the original wing and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast and dinner was filling but a bit too salty. Your choices are limited to what is cooked that day, not choosing from a menu. There is a ski locker in the basement and you can walk right out into the train station 1 stop to Zermatt. There is a local (Co-Op) supermarket across the street but the one in downtown Zermatt is bigger. No nightlife in Tasch town, and limited restaurants to eat out. The commute to Zermatt is easy and even at the end of the day, you get use to the short 10 minute shuttle train ride. The owner/manager is really nice and cooperative. He assisted our group with lift tickets deposits.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BklynFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

The issue with Autumn travelling is a lot of places are shutting or shut down. Places like Tasch are normally preparing for their peak season, the winter trade. With this in mind the staff at Hotel Tascherof were brilliant, nothing was to much for them. The rooms were clean and tidy, and very quiet. The quiteness suprised us due to its location, right next to the bus and train terminus to Zermatt, so I would have to rate its location very good as well. We had a lovely meal and some drinks in their restaurant, fondue actually, and it was delicious. The day of leaving, we wanted to get up to Zermatt to look at the Mattahorn, we spoke to reception and they were great again, they said we'll look after your bags, and to come back any time to collect them, excellent service. I would highly recommend the hotel, oh, and yes the price was very reasonable, well done guys.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights since it was easy access to Zermatt, the room was spacious and a we also had a spacious balcony but the decor although it is not aged does not give the room a fresh look as its very green and old looking. The room does not have a mini bar, but it does have a tv and a safe. Our balcony was not worth the upgrade we paid for as it was facing directly a construction site and all we could hear from around 7am onwards were men at working. The rest of the hotel is very aged. The 2 men behind the reception are very very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is plentiful but the milk and the juice were always room temperature. The grounds of the hotel are also very tired with lots of grass and weeds growing out from under the pavement. We had dinner at the restaurant one of the nights and it was very good in taste although the presentation was very basic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We loved this little hotel. We stayed with two kids, 6 and 20 months, and they gave us a nice room on the top floor. It was a much less expensive option than staying in Zermatt itself. Plus, it could not be easier to get to Zermatt - the station is literally right outside the door, and the train, which leaves every 20 minutes, is just 15 minutes.

My 6 year old son and I left early every morning to his ski school, which was right in front of the train station in Zermatt. Plus the parking is free if you are staying at the hotel, which saves even more money (if you are staying in Zermatt, you have to leave your car in Tasch anyway, at about 50 CHF a day.

We also ate most of our meals at the hotel. The food and the service are both really good. The manager, Chris, is really friendly, as are all of the staff.

In short, from now on, I will probably stay here each time I go to Zermatt!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTravelerAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago when we were unable to find a hotel with any vacancies in Zermatt. We found it an ideal place to stay last time that we decided to return this time rather than even try and find anywhere in Zermatt.
Couldn't believe the change in the area since our last stay - large new rail terminal with trains at least every 20 minutes to Zermatt. Despite being so close to the station we didn't hear the trains, so that wasn't a problem - and we appreciated how easy it was to get up to Zermatt.
The reception staff are excellent, and very welcoming - and went out of their way to be helpful.
The bedrooms look a little old-fashioned, but that's part of the charm! Most importantly, they are spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very dated, but the shower was good and lots of hot water.
Compared to English standards its expensive for what it is (about £100 for a double room for B&B) - but compared to Swiss prices I think it's good value, and it was cheaper than staying in Zermatt.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasch
0.1 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#3 of 7 in Tasch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#4 of 7 in Tasch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.7 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
3.1 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taescherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taescherhof

Property: Hotel Taescherhof
Address: Bahnhofplatz, Tasch 3929, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Tasch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taescherhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Taescherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tascherhof Hotel täsch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing