We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good locationif coming with car”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Taescherhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Taescherhof
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good locationif coming with car”
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Whilst there is a large car park (muli-story) for people going onto Zermatt, thsi hotel has its own car park under the hotel. Hotel is right next door to station and you can buy train tickets for Zermatt at reception.

Room was nice 'country' style with balcony that looked back up the valley. Yes trains go slowly by every so often but it wasn't a problem.

  • Liked — location, car parking
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-Neddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
48
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

No problem with booking over the phone and fax, great location, lovely views, clean and tidy rooms, good size balcony to sit on a drink a bottle of wine as you watch the sun go down.... food was OK, not great, but when have you ever heard of a great Swiss chef?? Useful underground parking, close to station and shop, and above all, helpful and understanding staff when my credit card was rejected, having been cloned!! Will stay here again for sure.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
Thank FifthEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

Stayed for a long weekend in March 2007. The hotel is a bargain compared to prices of similarly rated hotels in Zermatt, which is just 15 minutes away by very comfortable and efficient train. The station is 2 minutes' walk from the hotel. The room was quiet and well-equipped, the sauna and jacuzzi were lovely to relax in after a day's skiing, and the food was excellent. There's a lounge, a bar and a lovely outside terrace. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and they spoke good English. Tasch is a small village and there is not much to do there in winter, except ski, and if you want some night-life apart from the comfortable hotel facilities you can use the train to get to Zermatt until late in the evening.

  • Liked — friendly staff and good facilities at bargain price
  • Disliked — rather old-fashioned bedroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

We stayed at the Tascherhof for our recent ski vacation to Zermatt. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is located just steps from the bahnhof where you catch the train to Zermatt. Before arriving, we were a little concerned that it would be nosy, but I would agree with the previous reviewer: with windows closed, it wasn't a problem and we weren't disturbed at all. The hotel has tons of amenities including a ski room, restaurant, bar, whirlpool and internet access...we even arranged for our ski passes at the desk. Best of all, the prices were very reasonable, and I would agree again with the previous reviewer: the Tascherhof is a very good value for the money and we would stay there again! (And we will definitely be return visitors to Zermatt, as well: the skiing was fantastic and the scenery was not to be missed!)

  • Liked — Good value, very clean, lots of amenities
  • Disliked — Not located in Zermatt...but the shuttle train runs frequently and is comfortable
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 July 2005

This place was a delightful surprise. The hotel staff were very acommodating and professional with very good English -- no atitudes here. These folks are very pleased to have you. We stayed in the smaller rooms facing the train station. But with solid european engineering for windows and doors you will not here any noise. Its very refreshing. The price is economical and there is a ski area lockup downstairs. Its above average for its price range and rating.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasch
0.1 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#3 of 7 in Tasch
68 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#4 of 7 in Tasch
59 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
313 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taescherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taescherhof

Property: Hotel Taescherhof
Address: Bahnhofplatz, Tasch 3929, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Tasch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Taescherhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Taescherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tascherhof Hotel täsch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing