We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and convenient”
Review of Hotel Phenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Phenix
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Good location- pretty quiet but close to everything. Had a great room with a sun-up & sundown deck on the top floor and maybe the reason it was so expensive was that I booked relatively late (1 month prior?) in a relatively high season (2/24--3/2). I thought breakfast was great for getting the 1500 calories I needed to ski all day (breads, cheese, eggs, meat, yogurt, juice, cafe and muesli. Facilities a bit limited but nice little bar for apres.

Room Tip: Sun-up/ sundown decks on the south side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmikedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

The furniture is probably older than many guests, but location of the hotel is excellent and staff friendly. On the plus side, the breakfast was above the Alpine average (continental + yoghurt, scrambled eggs, sausages etc), wifi is free like parking. At least our room had a balcony. Also the bar lives up to its name (Cozy) and seems to be favoured by some locals as well. What takes the score down is lack of dryers in the ski room, and the fact that you need to access it through the upper ground floor. Bathrooms need renovation soon, and you might need some more sound proofing as well..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mmiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

perfect place for 1 or 2 nights, on boys weekend rather than with family or romance. the hotel is really outdated, particularly the bathrooms, decor, noise insulation and electricity. but this is compensated by good bar, perfect location, ok breakfast and indoor parking (maybe i was lucky in off-season). i would stay here again, but any guest should be aware of more negative points. service is friendly.

Room Tip: stairwell is really noisy, go for high up rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witteveen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Went here at the end of January with a group of friends, having been attracted by the very good reviews on tripadvisor. I am afraid to say that we were all very disappointed. The rooms were large and comfortable but a bit dated but that wasn't the issue. What was an issue was the appalling breakfast. The very limited amount of hot food was cold and the cold selection was very limited to put it mildly. The waitress was pleasant but trying to get a hot drink was a real battle. without a shadow of a doubt the worst breakfast I have ever had. The ski room was at the back of the garage on the lower ground floor which was okay and you could exit via the garage door.But most of us weren't provided with a key to the garage so upon our return someone had to wait with the skis whilst someone else traipsed through the hotel in ski boots to open the garage door. A real faff. Positives were great location for nightlife and nice bar. Could be good with a little more effort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SepoJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Hotel Phenix has the best location and the friendliest welcome. Just adjacent to where you arrive on the Post Bus.

Guests are friendly too and prices are competitive in this rather expensive resort.

The Cosy Bar is a lovely place to meet and they do a terrific chocolate chaud.

But please don't tell too many people. It's already popular. But they deserve to do well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Great location next to ski bus stop so not far to walk back after a tough day's skiing. Ski hire shop also next door as is the place to book lessons. Ski hold had no heated boot racks and just a room off the garage definately no frills there.

Big rooms but very dodgy electricity point with cables running off to the appliances, had to fiddle and wiggle them to make the connection to old fashioned tv- would not have passed UK health and safety for sure. good ensuite with shower and bath.

Simple breakfast but served with lots of hot coffee. The bar was the selling point for us, reasonable prices good beer and friendly staff even had a chinese take away menu which we could eat in the bar. The staff friendly but new nothing about skiing which was very odd indeed, couldnt recommend a ski guide, hire shop or where the best snow was-this is really the basic minimum for ski hotel staff to know!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfrancombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This is my second time in Phenix hotel and I’m again extremely pleased with the service and everything. The cozy hotel has the best location of all, in a great area to be able to walk around and is surrounded by other restaurants and bars. Nice and spacious rooms with big balcony and great view of the mountain. Fantastic service. Staff are so helpful and warm.If I go Verbier the 3rd time, I"d certainly would want to stay at Phenix hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurgulMumcuoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol Verbier
Hotel Bristol Verbier
#4 of 23 in Verbier
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#7 of 23 in Verbier
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chalet de Flore
Le Chalet de Flore
#9 of 23 in Verbier
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#11 of 23 in Verbier
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phenix

Address: Poste, rue de la 4, Verbier, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range: £115 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phenix 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Phenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing