We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks in the bar.”
Review of Hotel Vanessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vanessa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Nice ambience (below comment not withstanding), but not really big enough, and plenty of people walked in and walked out as there was not enough room.

Service was ok, and pricing was on par with other bars in Verbier (i.e. very expensive!).

Bar was spoilt by being full of snotty young kids being allowed to run about the place. Ignored by the sort of parents who are sadly becoming the norm, and don't give two hoots how much disruption their kids make so long as they aren't disturbed themselves. Management need to realise this is a bar not a kids play room, and not everyone loves your kids folks!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vanessa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have recently returned from a week skiing in Verbier over New Year. We stayed at the Hotel Vanessa, a hotel with a great location for the town/slopes and for the most part a lovely hotel....HOWEVER, even although we knew before booking we were not in one of the refurbished rooms (for some reason the recent and well done refurb only extended to some of the rooms - perhaps they ran out of time/money before the start of the next season?) we weren't quite prepared for the room we got.
The room was like something out of a 1970's sauna stylie 'adult' movie! The walls were clad in yellow pine wood, from floor to ceiling and although the bedroom was a good size the bathroom and toilet were an absolute joke!
You couldn't swing a hamster in the bathroom never mind a cat and I've not seen green tiles like that since Bobby Ewing came out of the shower and it was 'all just a dream'.... Talking of showers, ours was a shower head attached to the wall mid way along the smallest bath in the world (although it couldn't have been that small as it took up the entire bathroom and was attachted to the sink) Above the sink was a small strip light which gave your face a nice yellow tint and made it difficult to do your hair/make up etc and you couldn't really see what you looked like - that was ok however as the lighting in the rest of the room was so non existant and yellow my bf couldn't really see me anyway - but don't worry there is a decent mirror in the elevator (that's if you can be bothered to wait for it, as I think that arrives from the 70's also , which explains why it takes so long to come and get you....)
The bed was uncomfy (and a twin - which to be fair to them they did 'adapt' upon request, but really all they did was put a double sheet over the twin beds to 'miraculously transform' it into a double. It was still uncomfy, but at least we were a bit less likely to fall down the gap now...
There was very little hanging space (see photos) and the room was obviously a family room as it also had an upstairs with small beds for kids - great if you are a family, however two of us struggled sharing the bathroom/toilet , so I'm not sure how a family would cope!
There is also not much to do when you get a 'white out' day as the spa (just a jacuzzi and sauna - but brand new and lovely) only seems to be switched on at certain times of the day, we went and it wasn't on which wasn't ideal. Also the TV in the room is teeny tiny and there is no option to purchase a movie or watch anything in English apart from BBC world news. Anyone who has watched this for more than a day will know how much it repeats - but we have come home very well informed! ;)
On the plus side the view from the room was stunning and there was a little balcony with nice table and chairs too. It was also on the fourth floor which meant you weren't subjected to the cheesy music if you fancied an early night (bit lound for the first and second floor guests) and the rest of the hotel , bar, restaurant etc was all lovely.
We just went B&B and the breakfast was good. Usual cold stuff, bread, cheeses, jams, meats, pastries, fruit and cereals and there was scrambled eggs, bacon and (if you were up early enough) sausages, with toast/pancakes etc on hand too.
The staff were lovely, but they did seem a bit rushed off their feet at times (it was new year so their busiest week probably) and it seemed to be the same staff at breakfast, dinner, on reception and I did start to wonder when they ever had a break - sometimes it did seem they were a bit stressed and couldn't really be bothered, maybe that's why...
The location is good - near the bottom half of the resort and a 5 odd min walk up to the main lifts. It's a steep hill however and hard going in ski boots, but they do run a courtesy bus up to the slopes (we only discovered this half way through our holiday, so remember to use this service from the start!)
We also did the train from Geneva airport to Martigny and then got a taxi from there to the hotel. The taxis are expensive (150 chf up and, for some reason, 120chf back) although expensive this was the best option (unless of course you have a group or you're on a transfer) as the other option is to change at Martigny to Le Chable and then get a bus/taxi/cable car (don't do the cable car as how you do this with suitcases is beyond me!) and the taxi from there would be aprox 65chf anyway, so get a taxi straight to the door of your hotel instead! There is a taxi rank right outside Martigny train station.

So.... my advice? Stay here yes, but only in a refurbed room! Take a book, ipad, laptop etc for those white out days when you can't face another day at the pub/eat any more! Buy your passes each day as you go (we bought a 5 day pass and couldn't ski 2 of those days) Also, unless you're a very good skier, don't bother with the 4 vallees pass (although to be fair there's not a massive discount) because unless the conditions are perfect you're unlikely to ski the whole area, the verbier area is pretty big , and don't go unless you like red runs as I'd say about 90% are red, a few blue but they are nearly all road runs and the rest are black. oh - AND DON'T GO IF YOU'RE SKINT! Verbier is not cheap, I've been to lots of resorts and although I know lots to be expensive , this was a bit over the top (perhaps, again, because it was new year?)
Hope this review helps!
(ps If you're going to try out the new W hotel then it's defo worth going to see - BUT their Arola restaurant is awful! we sent our food back - i'll do a seperate review on there)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alybjns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Recently refurbished and in excellent condition with very helpful staff and homely atmosphere. Spacious rooms and outside balconies. Certainly recommended. I found the breakfast to be simple but very adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have stayed here on three occasions and it only gets better
very helpful staff
car park in the centre of town
Hotel well situated
nice terrace and bar facilities
loos separate from the bathrooms in the rooms a real plus

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haletravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was there for business last week. The service was excellent and the location is perfect. It is a high-end hotel with all of the room amenities you would expect. The bathrooms are small, but certainly functional.

I was disappointed in the breakfast. There were no hot items...just a bread / fruit / cereal selection. For a hotel of this level, I expected a lot more.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the mountain and others face the parking lot. Make sure you inquire within.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very central location and very clean, nice etc. inside but a lack of traditional Swiss decoration which would have given the hotel more character. Yummy but expensive food (but I guess Verbier is very expensive anyway!). Very useful hotel shuttle bus to the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just back from a week over Easter staying at the Vanessa in Verbier, wow, what a great place to stay, a huge amount of money has been spent on this hotel, the decor is great, all public areas have been beautifully furnished, the rooms are split in to those which have been refurbished and those that haven't, but there is a clear price difference, so guests will know what they are getting. It doesnt really matter which rooms you stay in, you will still get the same great breakfast, served by the same friendly polite staff.
There is also a small area housing a large jacuzzi bath and a sauna with shower area, this was a great welcome after a hard day skiing.
The other thing that really sticks out about this place is the complimentary shuttle service in the hotels minibuses, they will take you any where in the town, so each morning we were whisked to the lifts, passing all the skiers on foot! we were also taken to a couple of restaurants which were quite a walk away on a couple of evenings, a great touch, and much appreciated.
The other plus with the vanessa is the location, it is right in the middle of the town, but set back enough not to hear too much noise from surrounding bars.
We loved our stay, and having stayed in alot of resorts around Europe, I think this is one of the most stylish ski hotels we have stayed in, Thank you Hotel Vanessa!

Room Tip: Although some of the rooms are not refurbished, they are still superb, with great views, and spotles...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martinjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.3 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#6 of 23 in Verbier
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol Verbier
Hotel Bristol Verbier
#7 of 23 in Verbier
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cordee des Alpes
La Cordee des Alpes
#4 of 23 in Verbier
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet de Flore
Le Chalet de Flore
#9 of 23 in Verbier
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanessa

Address: Vernes, chemin des 1, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Verbier
#5 Luxury Hotel in Verbier
#6 Spa Hotel in Verbier
Price Range: £272 - £852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vanessa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vanessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanessa Hotel Verbier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing