We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term ski Holiday 15/02/2014 to 22/02/2014”
Review of Hotel de Verbier

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verbier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de Verbier
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Half term ski Holiday 15/02/2014 to 22/02/2014”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Chalet hotel de Verbier is centrally located on the Place Centrale de Verbier.

The rooms have, I understand all been re-decorated at the end of last year and are simply but comfortably furnished. All rooms have free wi-fi which works very well. The rooms are cozy and have a large flat screen TV with hundreds of stations from around Europe including most BBC and ITV channels.

The bathrooms are compact but adequate and there was plenty of hot water at all times!!

The hotel is managed by Inghams during the winter months.

The food is excellent . There is a breakfast Buffet together with a full English style cooked breakfast each day (except Wednesdays) when most staff have a day off. At about 4.15pm each afternoon the staff lay on an excellent and plentiful afternoon tea and cakes with Soup. In the evening there is a pre-dinner aperitif served in the bar at about 7.45pm with home made nibbles which are delicious, followed by a delicious 5 course dinner in the dining room including cheese and tea / coffee.

The wines (Red white or Rose) served with the meal are all good quality plentiful and enjoyable.

The staff are nearly all keen to assist in any way possible and Mary, (the manager) is charming and efficient.

You may hear a little noise from outside the hotel particularly around 4am when the local night clubs close up and also if the snow clearing machines are working (usually from around 5am.) but the very central location means this is inevitable.

Also the room walls are not particularly well insulated so you may from time to time hear some room noise from your neighbours.

To conclude: We had a most enjoyable holiday at this hotel over February half term and can fully recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Verbier and wants a well located reasonable value half board hotel in this resort (Verbier is still expensive !!)

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter than those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wrightro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    38
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had the best holiday so far, wouldn't of been the same without barman Tom, Dj Jacky D and assistant Beathoven (James), we always felt welcome around the hotel by all the staff. Loved the old school funk from back in the day playing in the bar whenever we wanted, would love to come back again next year for the insane skiing and excellent nights out.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackRussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel was in a perfect location, facilities were excellent and the staff were brilliant; not only brilliant service at the hotel but they knew all the places to go out too. Bar manager Tom and resort manager Jack were absolutely on the ball, great service and will happily show anyone how to party!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoMeAFlavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Recently I stayed in the Hotel de Verbier, managed by Ingahms. I can truly say that it was great value for money, although my room was small it was clean tidy and recently refurbished with en suite facilities. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful they really made an effort to make my stay enjoyable.
The food was excellent with a choice of courses and complementally wine. Wednesdays is there day off so you will need to eat out on that night. But this is not a problem their more than happy to advise you on your options, use it to your advantage to explore Verbier.
The hotel is located in the centre of Verbier with easy access to the Médran lift either by foot or the buses which stops about 20 meters from the Hotel. Separate boot and ski rooms with individual lockers for your skis are available in the hotel or you can pay to keep them at the Médran life station.
Finally I would also recommend the Warren Smith Ski Academy for Intermediate to Expert skiers it’s great fun and challenging, they will really push you to the next level!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slickwithers
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Forget X Factor and think wow factor, a C-sensation where cosiness, cosseting, cuisine, camaraderie, character and commitment are A-list.

In a showy, snowy tinsel town of opulence and extravagance, Hotel de Verbier is the perfect blend of common sense and character. Inghams obviously know what clients want and in this little darling of an establishment have gone all out to please.

Amazing staff constantly going above and beyond all expectations, food worthy of an AA Gill Table Talk accolade, central position, need I say more? Actually, yes, thanks for truly fab week!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craggyskickwithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at Hotel de Verbier, the accomodation is basic but clean and comfortable. The food exceeded our expectations and the staff were without exception very helpful and friendly. I stayed in a room at the back of the hotel (no noise from late night revellers and snow ploughs) and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GCG155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I booked with Inghams as I was using Warren Smith's Ski School. Several others staying there were in the same position. The staff were really great and all British, as were the guests .I would normally avoid such a situation but it really was excellent. The food was very good ,well cooked and well presented .Each evening the staff allocated the guests to a different table which really made the whole evening very sociable.
The afternoon tea was very well done between four and five in the afternoon and it was great to have complimentary teas and coffees throughout the day.
It is a pity that K hotels are not as good as this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.0 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Chalet d'Adrien
Le Chalet d'Adrien
#2 of 23 in Verbier
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#7 of 23 in Verbier
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#8 of 23 in Verbier
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Verbier
Central Hotel Verbier
#18 of 23 in Verbier
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Verbier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Verbier

Property: Hotel de Verbier
Address: Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
La Vallee Hotel Verbier
De Hotel Verbier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing