We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive room but quite basic”
Review of Hotel La Rotonde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Rotonde
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We decided to go to Verbier in Switzerland at the last minute and it turned out to be quite a challenge to find a hotel in this little town. When we checked on Verbier.com and hotels directly it seemed like every hotel was fully occupied but when we checked on booking.com we were able to get a room at Hotel La Rotonde for 270 Swiss Franc per day (300 USD) – quite expensive if you ask me.

We arranged for transfer from the Geneva airport and we arrived quite late at night in Verbier. We were assigned to room 38 and the room resembled me of a Norwegian cabin – lots of wood :-). The room was not that big but it did contain what seemed to be a big bed (actually just two beds pushed together), a small night table on each side of the bed, a small desk and a couple of chairs and a wardrobe. The TV must be the tiniest TV I have seen in a hotel room in a long time but hey; you are not in Verbier to watch TV right? Talking about the TV…at least it did have some international channels so that we could keep up to date what was happening in the world. The bed was actually not bad – it was on the softer side and that’s how I like it. The temperature seemed to go a bit up and down and it was not that easy to control the large radiator on the wall that was heating the room.

The bathroom was quite tiny but it looked nice with decent tiling and with a corner shower, a sink and a toilet. There were no amenities in the bathroom apart from a liquid soap dispenser at the sink and a similar one in the shower. The water was excellent for drinking – good taste and very cold. When taking a shower the temperature did vary a bit but the greatest danger was turning around in the shower as it was easy to knock into the handle the controlled both pressure and temperature.

When we woke up the first morning it was great fun looking out the window…the view can take your breath away. From our window we were looking out at the roundabout in “downtown Verbier” and we could see the valley below and majestic snow-clad mountains in the background. But as we were facing the street it also means a bit of party noise at night – but there was also a shutter in front of the window and door so it was not a problem. There was a balcony with a small table and two chairs.

The breakfast was served on the lobby level and it was a simple breakfast was you had option of some eggs, bread/toast, cereal, a bit of fruit etc. Nothing fancy in others words but enough to get you started before skiing. There was also a free Wi-Fi in the hotel and it worked pretty well in the lobby area but the signal was quite weak in the rooms. In the breakfast area there was a large Nespresso machine with a small selection of coffee varieties. The hotel also had a small “lounge” or living room with a larger TV and a couple of sofas were you could relax in the lobby area and also this contained a Nespresso machine that we could use free of charge.

There was a handy storage room for skis and equipment by the entrance were each room also had a locker in order to put away the skis – very clever.

Location of the hotel is great – only a couple of hundred meters away from the Medran gondola lift station. From here you could take the gondola up to wonderful ski areas. The hotel was also located in the middle of where it was happening so it was easy to find bars and restaurants within a minute walk from the hotel entrance. There are also places to rent skis and snowboards right around the corner so to speak.

Conclusion
The hotel is quite expensive compared to what I’m normally used to and you certainly don’t get that much for the money. As background info I should mention that I travel a bit for business and I go to Asia quite a lot so I have use nice hotels in KL, Bangkok, Hong Kong etc as reference hotels when I travel around the world. But as I say, Hotel La Rotonde is expensive but this is Switzerland and I guess this is what you have to pay during the high season here. The room was basic but the bed was comfy enough and the breakfast had what is needed to get some energy before you hit the slopes. But the best is maybe the location of the hotel – located near the ski lift and located near bars and restaurants it has an ideal location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gardkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

Stayed at La Rotonde for a week whilst on a ski course in Verbier. Chose the hotel mainly on price as the other hotels I looked at in Verbier were astronomically expensive. Was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Location is good being a short walk down the main street from the Medran lift and close to the centre of the resort. Staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout. No bar or evening restaurant but lots of options for food and drink within a stone's throw. Room was basic but clean and reasonably spacious. Constant hot water. Comfortable bed. Best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the rooms at the front would be noisy at night. Breakfast buffet simple but fine. Each guest gets a ski and boot locker in a room by the front door. Free wifi. Free internet PC and coffee machine in reception. A lot of guests while I was there had stayed there before, some visiting regularly for years - which tells its own story. I'm not sure I'll go back to Verbier as the resort is very expensive generally, the pistes are limited and the off piste is pretty hard core, but if I did go back I'd have no hesitation to book again into this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My husband and I are from Boston and stayed here on our trip to Verbier. We loved it! We have traveled many places and this was one of the most accommodating hotels. The staff was friendly and VERY helpful. Lost/left my purse somewhere and they called all over the village for me to help find it! Our room was quaint with a million dollar view of the mountain! We loved the accessiblity to the village and especially to the ski lift. Would definitely go back and STAY there!! Not to mention the skiing was wonderful!!
**Families were there as well and I would recommend for a family.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We are 2 women best friends skiing together for 20 years. We have been all over Europe in all top ski resorts. Verbier in general and hotel La Rotonde in particular were not our favourite. The food in town and in the mountains is expensive and very mediocre. We couldn't find one with really tatsy, excellent food. No fresh ingredients exist there. The hotel is located in center of town. You have to walk 7 minutes up hill to the ski lift but that did not bother us as we stored our skis in "Ski Center" shop half way up. The hotel is in rather good taste but extremly simple and functional. Our room had a good size, balcony, one large closet which meant decent storing room. But for 290 CHF it was nothing special and even too expensive. The bathroom old and not very appealing, the beds not that comfortable, the music from outside was so loud every night that until 1 a.m we felt as we were in the middle of a discoteque. The service was okay. Generally speaking they were not rude but not particularly caring and warm. The breakfast was nice and decent but nothing special, quite modest and ordinary. One morning we we were carried away with our conversations and the lady incharge started angrily vaccum cleaning around us while there was another table of 3 persons near us still in the dining room. Another time I asked for fresh bread which was absent from the table and was told quite coldly it was finished! ( it was only 9 a.m and closing time is at 10). I commented about it loudly to my friend and after 2 minutes the lady walked to me and said (no smile) she sent somebody to the boulangery to buy new bread, however you could notice that the bread served was out of the freezer. These are minor things. To summ it up - the hotel is not bad but not anything special or extremly charming or pleasing. There are nicer options in other resorts where you get much better value for your money. But this is the attitude all over Verbier. Bad food, meiocer accomodations, extremely expensive rental and instructing prices (we took off-piste group - twice expensive than other places and not worth the money) which means in my opinion - no great respect for their clients.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Hotel La Rotonde is a great little hotel in the heart of Verbier. They provide a great breakfast every morning and have an expresso machine for everybody to use during the day free of charge. It's within walking distance to the Medran lift, the main lift up the mountain. It's also close to all of the bars and restaurants one would need access to. Free wifi throughout the hotel and a PC for guests to use in the lobby. Only downside is no jacuzzi or sauna. No problems here...

One comment about Verbier in general is that his town is party central, and overrun by foreigners (particularly Brits)...was woken every night at 400AM by party-goers. Verbier does continue to offer great skiing, but is best suited to intermediate to expert skiers. International staff working in most of the restaurants were generally pompous and unhelpful (particularly at Pub Mont Fort). On the flip-side, local Swiss staff provided excellent service. Something to be aware of in Verbier if you are looking for a real Swiss experience...Zermatt may be a better option for you.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nguoi_du_lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Rotonde over New Year in 2008.

I liked the hotel it was clean and comfortable, the owners were very accomodating and friendly.

Good points
- Good location, about a 5-10 minute walk in ski boots up to the Medran lift.
- Free nespresso coffee machines in lobby and breakfast.
- Decent boot room for gear
- Some of the rooms have a balcony over looking the place central, this was ideal for New Years eve as we could feel part of the party but with our space to sit and not feel crowded.
- Decent breakfast, usual selection of croissants, toast, ham, cheese, eggs, cereal etc.
- Free parking

Average points
- Some rooms only have a shower which is a bit cramped
- If you are a big group of friends it misses a hotel bar to congregate, its not a big deal though as there are stacks of bars right next to the hotel.

The hotel has 2 restaurants that are in the same building, not sure if they are owned by the same people or not. The Le Millenium was excellent, I think it was the nicest one we ate at all week.
The Toro Negro was great for all sorts of steaks and various meat (kangaroo, etc).

Le Borsalino round the corner from the hotel had an excellent menu too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ish303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

Hotel la Rotonde is exactly what you would expect from a three star hotel: with some positives and some negatives.

Positives:
- Spacious rooms and bathrooms
- Personalised service and attention from the owner
- Good breakfast selection
- Ideally located for apres skiing and shopping
- Complimentary coffee machine in lounge area
- Free internet usage

Negatives:
- Being centrally located means a 5 minute uphill walk to the ski lift or a 5 minutes downhill walk to the ski bus pick up point. Some hotels, further away from the ski lift, were in fact better positioned for the ski bus pick up points.
- Being centrally located means a 5 minute walk uphill from the main bus terminal on arrival. The hotel does not offer a transfer service because of its proximity to the station which results in all ski gear and luggage having to be carried uphill to the hotel.
- Being centrally located means that you are a part of the apres ski noise whether you are in the bars or in your room. The bars themselves are well sound proofed, however, the revellers often bring the noise out with them late at night.

The positives of this hotel still outweigh the negatives, but we would recommend requesting a back-facing room if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank B&OSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol Verbier
Hotel Bristol Verbier
#5 of 23 in Verbier
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#7 of 23 in Verbier
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#8 of 23 in Verbier
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phenix
Hotel Phenix
#17 of 23 in Verbier
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rotonde

Address: Barmete, chemin de la 2, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range: £169 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rotonde 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Rotonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing