We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verbier in style”
Review of W Verbier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Verbier
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Verbier in style”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A bit of New York in Verbier. Ultra modern, with a few local touches here and there (chalet-like details). Brand new and spotless (opened Dec 2013). Looks like a perfect location for skiers (really close to lifts). A place where singles and teenagers would be happy too (hip music, places for hanging around with a drink in hand, and so on). Cozy and trendy feeling everywhere.

Spa nice too, nothing spectacular though. Would have appreciated some more privacy in the showers area.The hot stone Away massage was nice and relaxing! The swimming pool is "OK", half inside half outside.

Food at the Arola restaurant was cooked to perfection - but the presentation of the plate could be improved.

If you go off season, like we did, be prepared for really slow service at the restaurant despite the friendly staff's best efforts (there seem to be too few of them) and for a rather 4* breakfast experience, with limited choices at the buffet (you had to order the rest from the menu, which tends to limit customer choice) some insipid omelette, things arriving way too late, etc. Again, the staff really did their best, but there seemed to be "some problem with the kitchen".

We are glad we didn't take our 3 year old with us, there would be nothing for her to do there (no playground or similar anywhere in sight). Clearly more of an adult than family hotel.

Definitely worth visiting though, would not stay anywhere else in Verbier. We are pretty confident the small hiccups will be resolved when the hotel operates at full speed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elan_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear elan_Switzerland,
Thank you for posting your constructive review. We genuinely value our Guests’ comments and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us.
I appreciate your kind comments about our design and Arola Restaurant. I have made good note of your remarks regarding our Spa and our breakfast; I will follow up on with the relevant departments.
We hope to welcome you back soon here at W Verbier.
Don’t forget to check out our Facebook and Twitter Pages.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    96
    27
    18
    16
See reviews for
93
224
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the W Verbier Hotel downstairs restaurant and enjoyed a superb Easter lunch of Lamb.

The staff were courteous.

We left the car with them and had a lovely walk around Verbier, there was minimal snow on the ground tho the upper slopes were busy.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel but have been told by others that the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Suzy P,
Thank you for sharing your review about your recent experience at Arola Restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again here at W Verbier,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I heard a lot about the W hotel brand, so was very curious to try the W in Verbier. WOW! The hotel is new and it shows. Nice big rooms with amazing views, great food, terrific spa, and the most comfy bed I've slept in. But the highlight is the service. From when we arrived to when we left, we were treated like royalty (and we were in a standard room, not anything fancy). Anything we asked for, the reply was "yes". Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Niel O,
Thank you for your great review and for recommending our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you had such a Wonderful stay with us! Whatever/Whenever service is our promise and our passion.
We hope to have you back soon here at W Verbier!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I think this might be the best hotel in the W brand that I've ever been in. I stayed with a friend in April 2014, which was about to be the end of the ski season. What a pleasure! The hotel was almost empty, so it was very quiet and the staff was available, very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We were allowed to get our room before usual check-in time and were even taken to the room by someone who carried our luggage and took the time to explain us every technical feature available. The room was amazing with a spectacular view over the valley from a floor-to-ceiling window and a large balcony. The bathroom was huge and had a bathtub and a shower. The only negative point is it offers no privacy. You can see the bathroom almost wherever you are in the room, as it has glass walls...

Later in the evening, someone knocked the door to ask if we needed extra towels or bottles of water. We ordered room service for dinner. It's overpriced, although it's not more expensive than you should expect from a five-star hotel in Switzerland. The food was delivered quite quickly and the meals were delicious and well-presented.

Breakfast is served at the hotel's Arola restaurant. Although I arrived just a few minutes before the end of breakfast service, I was welcomed with a smile by the friendly staff. The breakfast menu offers a selection of hot meals and there is a large buffet with a wide choice of breads, hams, cheeses, juices...

The W-signature bed is (as in every other W hotel) like sleeping in heaven.

The SPA is also very large and has an amazing interior/exterior pool and some cool amenities such as hammam, jacuzzi, sauna...

We had a snack at the W Café before leaving and there again, the staff was very welcoming and friendly.

I don't know the hotel during the peak winter season, but if you want to relax and have a peaceful time between the winter and summer season, W Verbier is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: "Spectacular" rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Daniel N,
Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at W Verbier. Your feedback is a great value for us and we are glad to learn that you have had a Wonderful time with us.
We really appreciate your kind comments regarding our Talent. It is our Team that creates memorable experiences and truly makes our hotel a great place.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again here in Verbier!
Please don’t forget to check out our Facebook and Twitter Pages.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here last week for 2 nights. It is in between seasons so the weather was not too nice. I selected this hotel as I love the W hotel concept and we just came here to enjoy the hotel, not to ski and not to hike.

From the arrival until the departure our stay could not have been any better. I used my loyalty program from W hotel in order to get an upgrade and we got an amazing room which we enjoyed very much those 2 days. Besides the design of the hotel which is spectacular in every way, it is the people who give you the amazing WOW experience. Personally I do not like the formal/traditional service in 5* hotels and therefore i enjoy it so much that the staff is very informal but service oriented - normal. All the staff we talked to are very proud to work for the hotel and you feel this in the way how they give service. As a customer you feel that they are passionate about what they are doing and that feels nice!

Previous comments i've read about not being child friendly is correct. Also know that the W hotel concept is not made for children so please stay away with them. It is a sexy concept with young people who understand the world and want to have and give an experience to the same global minded people - not to children. On the other hand - i specifically select hotels on not being too child friendly because that's not the kind of place I am looking for while going on vacation.

Furthermore, the drinks were amazing, food was good and spa treatments were done very well. It is not a cheap hotel and more expensive than other W hotels but when you are here anyway, better enjoy what they have because you do get very good value for your money.

The only improvement the hotel can make is the breakfast. As we were only with a few people in the hotel the buffet also looked like there would only come a few people. I think this can be improved by only offering a a la carte breakfast. Giving the customer a better WOW feeling (specially compared with the breakfast at other W hotels), the waitress more to do and the cook more of a challend to make even more dishes look spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello bergo !
Thank you for posting your detailed review about your recent stay with us.
It’s great to hear that you had such a Wonderful stay in our hotel. What pleases me most are your kind comments about our Talent; I am thrilled to learn that you were able to experience Whatever/Whenever service.
I have taken note of your remark regarding our breakfast; I will follow up on with our B&F department.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at W Verbier.
Please, don’t forget to check out our Facebook and Twitter Pages.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is conveniently located, right under the slopes and the main cabin lift. We didn't have enough snow to find out if you can ski right to the hotel, but it was only few minutes walk anyway. We loved the brand new and modern hotel, with the latest technology in use and contemporary design. The corridors were a bit too dark for me, but I did love everything else. We got our room upgraded and it was an excellent space, with a closet, balcony, and so brilliant in its 'newness', really making most of modernity and luxury. The spa with the pool and jacuzzi was great too, although we were lucky it wasn't busy at all - I don't think it would be spacious enough if the hotel was more occupied and larger number of guests would use the amenities after skiing. Breakfast was good, with sufficient selection of food. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and permanently smiling, which was lovely and we always appreciate this. We were assured we can bring our dog too on our next trip, so we will definitely be going back and warmly recommend it to yo!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello JitkaW!
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to learn that you had such a Wonderful stay with us. We especially appreciate your comments about our Talents. Whatever/Whenever service is our passion and our promise.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again here in the Swiss Alps.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Ideally located at the Medran funicular, the W, set in a beautiful Verbier typical barn is a truely welcoming place after a day on the slopes.
Rooms are well appointed, all new with loads of amenities, with a large balcony facing the valley. We loved the breakfast buffet, although it was a bit lacking in cheeses and other dairy, loved the spa as well, even though we deplored the fact that kids are of limit after 3pm, which pretty much excludes them altogether.
Staff was very welcoming and caring.
Well be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yves_alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Henri B, General Manager at W Verbier, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello yves_alexis!
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
At W Verbier, we genuinely value our Guests’ feedbacks and we are delighted to learn that you had such a Wonderful stay with us. We especially appreciate your comments about our Talent. Whatever/Whenever service is our passion and our promise.
I have made good note of your remarks regarding our Spa and our breakfast buffet.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again here in the Swiss Alps.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#2 of 23 in Verbier
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chalet d'Adrien
Le Chalet d'Adrien
#4 of 23 in Verbier
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol Verbier
Hotel Bristol Verbier
#7 of 23 in Verbier
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Cordee des Alpes
La Cordee des Alpes
#5 of 23 in Verbier
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#6 of 23 in Verbier
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chalet de Flore
Le Chalet de Flore
#9 of 23 in Verbier
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Verbier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Verbier

Property: W Verbier
Address: rue de Medran 70, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Verbier 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CROSS THE LINE and experience the world's first W Alpine Hotel and Residences.Perched on a Swiss Alp, above the clouds at 5'000 feet, the W Verbier mixes contemporary urban alpine design and the hottest W happenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Verbier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing