We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Panorama Villars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Panorama Villars
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and comfi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

It is a nice place to stay. it is especially comfortable if you come with children. It is not a large unit but it is well organized so there has almost everything you need for a nice and comfi stay. Has a kitchen with microwave, stove and dishwasher.
You will get dish soap and detergent for the dish washer as well as sponge and dishcloth.
We took a 1 bedroom apt. meaning one bedroom with 2 beds and 1 double bed in the living room. However this unit had another bunk bad that could host 2 more kids. Everything is compact and quit small. We eat in every evening and it was fine. There is an extra "towel fee" of 6 F per day per person. However we stayed for a week and only once the apt. was cleaned and the towels were changed.
I can summarize the stay at this place as nice and homey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

If you're looking for a fine place to stay without restaurant facilities you've come to the best place. The hotel is immaculately clean, located in the lovely town of Villars. Staff are exceptionally helpful. Facilities are an indoor heated pool, sauna, free wifi, free car parking. Rooms are spacious and spotless.

Room Tip: Rooms are all well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Residence is a large chalet-design building in central Villars. There are 6 floors – with three separate lifts to access each floor. The building used to be a hotel, but is now accommodation rental/timeshare only. The only amenity is a small swimming pool; reception is open during office hours.

Our one-bed unit was fine and comfortable for our purpose – with a good Alps view from the balcony. However, because of the chalet design, it was long and narrow - and thus dark with a small kitchen and bathroom. Wifi reception was OK; there was a good selection of English-language TV channels. There was no utility charge and the tourist tax for two people for a week was 46 CHF.

The central location was handy; one of the supermarkets is open on Sunday morning. If arriving by train, the Residence is 5 mins walk from the station; the last part is a steep downhill path, but manageable. For local restaurants, we liked l’Alchemiste and, at lunchtime, the menu de jour at Café Heiz.

The free tourist access card (funded by the tourist tax) for summer months is excellent – giving free travel on local trains, some buses (with limited frequency) and cable cars (outside summer maintenance periods). An easy, and spectacular, circuit is to ascend in the Roc d’Orsay cable car (15 min walk from Residence), enjoy the 30 min downhill walk to Bretaye station - then train back to Villars.

We were fine not using a car. Villars is just over 2 hrs by train from Geneva Airport with one change. For the week we had a regional rail pass (2nd class) at 130 CHF (£93) which, for a week, which gave 3 free days travel and 50% discount on other days. The eligibility area includes the not-to-be missed Golden Pass line from Montreux to Zweisimmen (catch a train with panoramic carriages) and all the ferries on Lake Geneva (the French towns of Evian and Thonon are well worth visiting). Taking lunch on a ferry restaurant is an enjoyable experience – for which you will probably need to pay a 1st class upgrade (50% with a pass). Upgrade is recommended if you travel on a ‘Belle Epoque’ paddleboat steamer as 75% of the passenger space is 1st class.

When packing, check the weather forecast for both Villars and the Lake area (eg Lausanne). The climate at higher-up Villars for our June stay was generally cooler than the Lake. We had one day at Villars of total white-out from mist – when the Lake weather was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Barrybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I chose the hotel from booking.com but the description did not really implicate that it is actually an apartment turned former hotel. The reception works only a few hours a day, not even in the full time indicated. There is no cleaning services unless you order it (we paid 35 CHF and not even the sheets were changed). There is no restaurant or bar just a wending machine which sometimes half empty (or half full???). The location is OK, not far from the center of Villars and from the train which takes you to the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberrohrdorf
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Pros:
- Functional apartment, nothing missing you'd expect from a basic flat
- Great view
- Quiet. Either all rooms next to us were vacant, or noise isolation is pretty good.
- Friendly staff at reception.

Cons:
- Furniture and devices mostly worn out. Some of it looks like they got it from the next garbage dump.
- Cheap mattresses caused back pain.
- Steep walk up to the main street. Cumbersome and even dangerous when you do it on icy ground with a baby stroller as we did. Alternative is a looong detour.
- Wifi signal rather weak. Causes frequent disconnects on iPad.

Would I come back? For a significantly lower price, maybe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room - far away from the elevator (true everywhere, but this one is really noisy when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OberrohrdorfVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed at the Panorama together with my family for a week in an RCI exchange in January 2013. I got one of the apartments in the 6th floor, with plenty of space and a fantastic view. I do not know much about the other apartments. The residence is very well kept, the apartments are well isolated (but in terms of noise and temprature) and furnished with all the appliances that one may need (I had also the dishwasher!! First time in an RCI apartment). The service was very good: people at the front desk were extremely kind always available to give us informaion about skislopes, restaurants, grocery stores and so on; the repair man came promptly as soon as we let them know about a problem with one of our shelves. The only problem we had was with the swimming pool, whose water was awy too cold, but the guy at the front dest told us that this was the way things work in CH... The location is great for what concerns the view, but the walk to the train station can be a bit tiring (especially when the path is covered with ice!), but this is unsurprising for a mountain village.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment on the valley side, the view with the fog sea is absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svcalleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

we had three apartments between 12 of us. aged from 4 years to 54 years. Clean, showers wonderful, kitchen facilities good, just no conventional oven in our apartment. Beds really comfortable and slept peacefully. No noise from other people. In the one bed apartments we still had our own bathrooms and doors to lock at night giving us complete privacy. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were a must for a day skiing, and us all chatting about our hard day on the slopes! We had a 5 minute walk up a steep path to the ski train, which took us up to the sloops. The views from our balcony and bed were breathtaking. We had a problem when we arrived as we were late and could not find the keys, which was our error, (they are in a big RED envelope just as you enter the hotel) however we called their emergency number and someone was with us within a few mintutes, despite the issues our fault, they still were welcomimg. We got alot of quality for our money. will stay there again in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mooninmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.5 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#7 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Panorama Villars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Panorama Villars

Property: Residence Panorama Villars
Address: Route du Village, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Panorama Villars 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Residence Panorama Villars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Panorama Villars Hotel Villars-Sur-Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing