We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for an excellent ski week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

If you want to ski in Villars Gryon, this is the Hotel to stay. Firstly, the location; the Royalp is located 3 minute drive from the town center and right in front of the train that will take you to the slopes. If you prefer you can always ask for a complimentary shuttle between the hotel and any place in Villars. The rooms are very generous in terms of space and very very confortable. There is a lot to do in this hotel, the lovely spa where you can relax after a ski day, 3 restaurants where you can eat (all of them very good), as excellent bar with top-notch cocktails, a billiard room, a cinema room, a games room and several lounge rooms. The service was always excellent and sympathetic. The rooms could be a little colder (you cannot control the room temperature) and finally, this is an expensive hotel, not so much on the room rate but mainly on the food and beverages, but don't forget that you are in Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NunoVaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spent one night for business. The room was luxurous but the price as well! and for that price I expect the TV to work which was not the case neither in the living room nor in the sleeping room, as well in the room of another colleague.
The hotel is quite new and well located but I prefer more family-atmosphere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After spending hours trying to choose the perfect location for my husband, myself and our 18-month old son, we chose Villars-Sur-Ollon in French speaking Switzerland. The village was not too far by train from Paris and offered beautiful accommodation options. This hotel has absolutely everything you want for a snow holiday. The train up the mountain is right outside the front door, the service is first class, the food is BRILLIANT, the facilities are brand new and high quality. There is a great playroom inside the hotel and down the road a little is 'les trotinettes' where our son spend much of his time (and loved it). The shuttle bus will take you there and back. I really need to emphaise how wonderful the dining was here. We took a half-board option and were dazzled each night by the quality of the food. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

It's easy to like the Chalet Royalp.

It offers stunning scenery, well appointed suites, and an overall quality of fine service that is typical of what one would expect from a Leading Hotel of the World, particularly one that demands premium prices.

To start, the reception staff was helpful and courteous. NO problems on check-in, and the front desk manager personally gave us a tour of the property as it was our first visit. Concierge requests (both before our stay and during), were handled professionally and easily.

Our suite was large, and had a beautiful view. In fact, that is true of pretty much every sight line in the Royalp. HINT: if you see a window, look out. You are bound to see something that is postcard perfect. The bath in our suite was as big as most standard rooms at the Ritz in Paris.

The food is very good, and the service crisp. We tried all of the restaurants, including room service, and each meal was well prepared. We had 5 days without a hitch. (The selections from the children's menu are excellent, as well). The best, however, was the fondue in the Grizzly. There are 2 seatings only, so reservations are a must!

Breakfast buffet is well done, and has a pleasing variety of hot and cold dishes.

The hotel bar menu has a collection of interesting libations, and the wine list was extensive and imaginative. Some good choices abound on the list between 70-100 CHF, and obviously, there are other selections of note at higher price points.

Housekeeping was on form throughout the stay, although they did miss turn-down one evening but that was our fault for accidentally leaving the "do not disturb" on the door.

There is a ski locker in the hotel, and walking out through the garage, one reaches the designated stop for the ski train. Returning to the hotel is by train, or by the run down from Bretaye that intersects with the lower sledding area. It is a beautiful vista, and only a bit of flats interrupt this easy 10 minute jaunt back to the front door of the Royalp. In effect, the hotel is "ski-in" but less "ski-out." No matter. There is no place more convenient in Villars to stay, if one wishes to be on the ski train to Bretaye.

It's no more than a 10-15 minute walk into town, but we chose to drive the 3 minutes in our own car. The hotel also has an on demand shuttle both ways, so a stroll in Villars or dinner out is easy, and the hotel is eager to accommodate at the guest's convenience.

There is a kids' playroom, staffed during afternoon hours, and open most of the day. Separate is a games room for older children, with a foosball table and a playstation. Overall, I found the hotel to be "kid-friendly," and would not hesitate to return with my children.

Negatives?

A couple. The price to value ratio is tipping perilously close to the edge of the cliff, as it were. Even for Switzerland, and notwithstanding the quality and luxury of the hotel, I found the pricing to be rather high. Would it keep me from going back? Not at all, but it did strike me as though the pricing was likely set for a clientele that "didn't know any better."

Which brings me to my next negative, and it is unfortunate, but there are a certain band of "hoi polloi" at the Royalp that seem to define what it means to be the "northern end of the southbound horse." They don't even realize they are "N.O.K.D." and I suppose one should ignore it. But it would be better for all concerned if this band of merry folks would learn tact and refinement. It would be more in line with the ambiance of the hotel, and make everyone's stay just that much more enjoyable.

All in all, would I return to the Royalp? Absolutely!! This is an elegant and top quality hotel in a great (family friendly) Swiss resort. All of the negatives are easily overlooked, and In fact, my next trip is already booked. :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we've been here with a couple of friends and the stay was really pleasent and personal most kind...the structure is very recent....very well placed too restaurant are excellent even for a Clubsandwhich .....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaston02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel, but we will most probably not return despite our "very good" rating.
The hotel is indeed very nice : gorgeous rooms and bathroom, great decoration throughout the hotel, etc. It is however "isolated" and one can not just take his coat and go to the shop or bar next door.
Again, the hotel is very nice but it suffers from 2 main factors:
- Villars-sur-Ollon itself is nothing special at all at the first sight;
- the ski resort is relatively small and ski lifts outdated. Long time in the lifts compared to time on the skis.
In addition, we were lucky that it snowed shortly before we went : the hotel is quite low and so is the resort (or at least main part of it).
We did not try by ourselves the pool and spa, but some of our friends tried the pool and said the water was (too) cold.
On the contrary, bedrooms are really over heated : this is not the first time we experience this in Switzerland. We felt bad leaving the windows open in plain winter... and we were not the only ones. This explains the rating we give to "sleep quality", as otherwise, we would rate it "excellent".
Certainly an excellent hotel in Villars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ptitmousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The accommodation is very good, the reception is disorganised with no attention to detail, We asked for somebody to collect our luggage and they did not turn up,we also requested to be taken to the station at 9am so we could catch the train for our flight, again the reception failed us, we asked for two sets of keys as we had 5 adults staying in the room to be told on the first day this would be arranged by the third day they said they did not have a spare set of Keys.
The problem really was that nobody seemed to be in charge.

On the plus side the Food in the main restaurant was good and the Spa was fantastic, its very expensive but its just not 5 star service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivan047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel des Bains d'Ovronnaz
6.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
291 reviews
16.1 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa

Address: Domaine de Rochegrise | Route du Col de la Croix, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: £240 - £1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and casual, cosy and authentic, the Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa, member of Leading Hotels of the World, invites you to enjoy relaxing moments in a unique setting. In winter or in summer, the Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa is a haven of peace in the heart of the Villars-sur-Ollon resort in the Swiss Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Royalp Hotel And Spa
Chalet Royalp Hotel Villars-Sur-Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing