We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a great weekend at Royalp with my wife and 2yo daughter. We booked an Executive room but got an upgrade to a large, beautiful and comfortable Junior Suite. I could be a bit grumpy about the restricted view but well, for one night only, it was a detail.

Breakfast buffet was among the very very best I never had anywhere around the world, absolutely stunning! We got a couple of drinks on the lovely bar terrace, and really enjoyed professionalism and enthusiasm of Delphine, her passion for her job being a great added value to the place. But all staff showed a high level of efficiency and kindness too.

Royalp is a good value during summer time, but a bit expensive to me during peak winter season. I will very likely return for a weekend gateaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    98
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
197
288
5
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

What a great place. The new manager has really brought a personal touch to what truly is a five star establishment. The staff ate friendly and the facilities are first rate. Would totally recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Royalp is a gorgeous place, I highly recommend it being a fervent customer for over a year!
A human size luxury hotel with all the necessary possibilities to have a great time all year long.
Not only are the rooms spacious and cosy with a typical sense of Swiss flare but the Royalp has a fantastic rewarded European SPA with a beautiful Mirror Swimming Pool, exercise room, 3 restaurants (one Gault & MIllau rewarded 14/20),one pool room, playroom for kids, video room etc... It's a fantastic spot for the family just 1H30 from Geneva in car.
In the winter skiing is super easy as the walking distance train stop takes you directly to the slopes and you can easily come back skiing directly to the hotel...
They have culinary events with great Chefs, week end specials etc...
Its a beautiful relaxing Hotel with a charming staff always happy to help and serve the best way possible.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing directly the Alps (B Building) of course higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here two nights while on a bicycle tour. The hotel lobby and downstairs area is decorated a little like a hunting lodge, with animal heads on walls and animal skin carpets on the floors. It is very rugged looking, yet cozy. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a sitting room and outdoor patio.

The "queen" bed was two twins pushed together with a queen sheet put over it - something we didn't like. An anomaly, which we noted throughout Switzerland, is the lack of a top sheet under the duvet. Most of these hotels, including this one, have central temperature control, so we always woke up hot in the middle of the night. Instead of being able to throw off the coverlet and just use the sheet, we had to open up the doors and let outside air in. Not that we minded the fresh air. It was wonderful and worked okay since the place was quiet!

Our breakfasts and diner at the hotel were delicious. We were served fresh butter with every meal and since dairy farming is big here, it tasted fresh and delicious. I've always been one to go very light on butter on my bread, but I abandoned this habit during my stay!

The lovely indoor pool had comfortable chairs on the deck and poolside showers with settings to massage the neck and shoulders nicely, which felt heavenly after our long rides.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went to the RoyAlp after buying an online offer and reserving well in advance. When we booked, we were warned that there would be a wedding going on during that weekend, which we appreciated greatly, but decided to go anyways as the date was the most convenient for us.
When we arrived, the hotel was full of people and very busy, so we did the check-in and came back after lunch. Our room was ready even though we were warned it may take a bit longer than usual due to the amount of people (turns out there were TWO weddings going on!). The room was roomy and quiet, facing the mountains.
The hotel is just next to a train stop that can take you down to the village or up to the mountain.
We had also reserved a massage in the spa plus dinner in Le Rochegrise. We highly enjoyed the massage and then spent some time in the spa, which is not very big, but has a bit of everything (jacuzzi, pool, sauna, hammam).
Dinner was nice, service a bit slow, but waiters apologised continously, as they were serving both weddings as well. We were invited to the drinks at the end of the dinner as a final apology! We also enjoyed the recommendation of the sommelier, and had a very nice, good-priced wine.
The breakfast buffet was amazing, so many things to choose from and great quality. Staff was also a bit overwhelmed by the amount of people to be served...
We also enjoyed the cinema room (while having a great cocktail which they brought up for us) while we watched one of the World Cup's matches, a lot of fun!
We had a small problem when we did the check-out as with our offer we also had discounts on dinner and the hotel services, which was not applied on our first bill, but was quickly fixed once we pointed it out.
Overall, a great experience, highly recommendable, the area is also very nice in summer, with quite a few of interesting hikes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful hotels in the mountains I've ever seen. Tasteful and stylish, with a very nice restaurant and beautiful view from almost every window. A lot of entertainment, both for adults and, especially, children.
Some stuff could be more friendly, but there are some of the waiters, who compensate it)
Unfortunately the mountains are not very high there, and I wouldn't recommend it for good-skiers. But all year round it's the best place to take some fresh air)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naylita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A unique, yet special person. He is the nicest barman in the world and creates unique new cocktails such as my personal favorite: the amaretto sour with sprite. He also follows the rules from his superiors such as not entering the smoking room which can get quite annoying. We still all love him very much.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
201 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
171 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa

Property: Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Address: Domaine de Rochegrise | Route du Col de la Croix, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and casual, cosy and authentic, the Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa, member of Leading Hotels of the World, invites you to enjoy relaxing moments in a unique setting. In winter or in summer, the Chalet RoyAlp Hôtel & Spa is a haven of peace in the heart of the Villars-sur-Ollon resort in the Swiss Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Royalp Hotel Villars-Sur-Ollon
Chalet Royalp Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing