We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hollyday”
Review of Chalet Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Balthazar
Reviewed 29 August 2012

It is located in avery nice town over the mounten. 30 mints from Montroux. Near the supermarkets, shops, train - bus station , sport center (ice-skate - swimming pole - bowling) and Halal turkish restaurant. The landlord is very friendly and supportive. I really recommend it.

Room Tip: The grand floor appartement have a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

I rented Chalet Balthazar (apartment 5, the penthouse) from April to June 2012 . The apartment is very well located in the middle of the charming village of Villars. It was absolutely perfect for the whole family, and the view from the balconies is outstanding. The quality of every service, and the courtesy of the owners was greatly appreciated. It makes a big a difference to be in a place that is maintained and managed by the owners with such high standards.
I would absolutely recommend Chalet Balthazar to every family that wishes to be in a stylish, comfortable and luminous home away from home

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soledad t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I are regular visitors to Villars and have always stayed in great accommodation, Chalet Balthazar did not let us down!! The 1 bedroom apartment we stayed in is warm, comfortable and very well equipped. We always do self catering on skiing trips and therefore look for accommodation that will hopefully provide us with great kitchens. This one provided all we needed. The only thing with the basement apartment is that it obviously does not have a view or balcony. So next time we will go for one of the apartments higher up.

Room Tip: If you want a view and balcony, dont stay in the small basement apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Took the family to stay in Appt 5, Chalet Balthazar. Wanted a successful introduction to skiing for my two eldest children, aged 5 and 4 (!) whilst my wife and youngest (aged 2) were able to do other activities in and around Villars.. Reckoned that warmer weather and good snow from a great season should do the trick. Arrived at CB. Very happy with the excellent accommodation arrangements. Even happier that the back door to ski hire is literally 50 yards from the front door, ski school to make all the arrangements is less than 50 yards as the crow flies (I organised private lessons for the first 4 days and then ski school) and the Jardin de Pistes where the juniors start learning is only 250 yards away up behind the Gare. Superb. Well, it's Mission Accomplished. By the last few days of the holiday they were going up chairlifts with me doing blues no problem. They had a fantastic time and think skiing is great! Villars was great fun and we were able to catch up with some old friends whilst Laura from Peanut arranged great babysitting service! We also swam, ice-skated, bowled, tobogganed and snow-shoed. No shortage of things to do and we all had a great time. Bretaye is also ideal to meet the non-skiers up the mountain for lunch. Villars gets from us a big yes, CB gets 5 stars. Come back again? For sure! M&L, Oxford, UK

Room Tip: There's no swimming pool or fitness centre in CB although good facilities are available in the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Chalet Balthazar id within a minute's walk of the station in Villars, and right next to a grocers, a ski-hire shop and the central bar- yet we found it incredibly quiet at night. Our balcony was sunny and enjoyed a superb view. The kitchen was clean and well equipped and the beds were all comfortable. Every room had its own audi visual equipment though this was not a feature that we used much ourselves..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Chalet Balthazar is a real find. Cozy and food shops, ski hire, and mountain railway are on the doorstep, so incredibly convenient for families with young kids (there’s no need for car to get around). The owners are very responsive. A fab time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have been trying to book Chalet Balthazar for few years (but always fully booked!). Thanks to advance planning, we manage to reserve our place this year, and went for the Fully Monty as we stayed 2 weeks across Christmas and New Year's Eve. It is outstanding. We totally endorse most of the comments made in some of the other reviews: we had apt 5 and apt 1 for our friends and family. You really feel at home and the combination of the facilities, location, views and space available really strikes you since you step into the apt. David has done an outstanding job at thinking ahead of what guests, with family or not, might need to achieve a stress-free holiday, and the quality of the finishings. Mission accomplished. Bedroom are spacious and warm, kitchen and dining area perfect for relaxing, enternaining, the fireplace is the winner (althou my daughter think it was more the Wii Sport!), and the views just phenomenal. Finally, for those looking to stay, I would say the website is a fair reflection of what will get, no cheating, for which, yet again, David should be credited for. We will be back (in the calendar already)!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmé W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villars-sur-Ollon hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#8 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Balthazar

Address: chemin de la Gare 14 | 1884, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Villars-sur-Ollon
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rent one of Chalet Balthazar's 5 luxury apartments located just 100 metres from the main ski access. It's unrivalled location is also moments from the bakery, ski school, ski hire and restaurants of Villars' village centre. Chalet Balthazar blends comfort and luxury with a 'home from home' feel. Rent an apartment for a week, month or season and see why guests return year after year to enjoy Balthazars' ultimate convenience and Villars' fabulous family skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing