We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal set-up in ideal location”
Review of Chalet Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Balthazar
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Having read the glowing reviews, one is always sceptical. But Chalet Balthazar outlived the expectations as all descriptions are accurate and all expectations are met.
The appartment itself (app. no 4) was adequately set-up and extremely well decorated with top of the scale material. All kitchen equipment was sufficient to help organise a meal and eat in the appartment.
The ski room is extremely useful, allowing one to quicly load and off-load equipment.
But the greatest advantage of the Chalet is its location. Difficult to beat in Villars.
Very close (100 m) to the train leading to the ski slopes and walking distance to all essential facilities (ski rental, coffee shop, restaurants, ski school, ice scating ring, mini-market etc).
In addition, the central location provided us a front-row, balcony view to the fireworks display on New Year's eve.

Overall this is a highly recommended environment for any group composition (we were 4 adults, three children aged 6-8 and a new born) and it will be difficult to find a better appartment for this price (or any price) in Villars.

Finally, the owners have added the extra touch in the pre and post rental period to make sure all our requests were met but to also make themselves available for any added needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patpatmarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Balthazar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed as a family in apartment 4 during half term in 2013. Where do I start! The ease of entry into the apartments were simple after a long journey with the kids and to be able to park so easily outside made a huge difference.
The decor and attention to detail of Chalet Balthazar could not be better, from opening the door to the apartment everything was perfect, so stylish and so spacious, not like many other apartments we have rented, plenty of bathrooms with quality fittings and the little touches that the owner adds like the amazing bath foams after a long days skiing .... perfect! The kitchen is well equipped with absolutely everything you need if you fancy a night in, home from home .. but better!
The welcome pack was really a great touch as we arrived late at night. We awoke in the morning to find that we can could get fresh croissants from the bakery literally 2 minutes away! Although from Chalet Balthazar everything is 2 minutes away, it has a great central position in a stunning ski resort.
Thank you David for being so helpful and making our stay a delight! We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have stayed at chalet for a week during August. We took 2 apartments.
The chalet is located in the center of Villars, just behind the Main Street with all the shops and restaurants. This was great, since we could go by foot to eat and to buy stuff.
The chalet itself was clean an had everything that we needed or wanted. Including PS and games for the kids.
The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed having dinner at the large dinner table.
Bottom line a great vacation at a wonderful chalet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at this luxurious chalet (apartment 3)
We could not fault the high standard of accommodation on offer.
The furnishings are very tasteful, the kitchen well equipped with all the mod cons.
This is a spacious , stylish delightful home from home.
So convenient for the village centre/trains/gondolas and wonderful local shops.
Stunning ! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Norbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Our family of three generations, seven adults and three children under four have just had a terrific week in apartments 3 and 5 of Chalet Balthazar. The flats are stylish and well equipped, car parking and ski storage are excellent and the owners responsive and helpful, but the unbeatable advantage is the great location a mere fifty metres or so from the train up to Bretaye, the lovely children's skiing and sledging area, and of course all the shops - never have the logistics of a winter holiday been so uncomplicated. We certainly hope to be back again in 2014. The Walkers

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninagrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

On the back of last year's near perfect Christmas holiday at Balthazar (apt 3, top floor), we were back this for New Year's week. As our family need increased over the course of the summer with baby n.3, we have asked David and Zani to stay in the larger, conveniently located ground floor. Fabolous! Spacious, elegant, fully equipped (the Nespresso machine a very pleasant surprise), absolutely perfect for a family with kids as you can enjoy the indoor ( dont underestimate the outdoor garden too) space, the kitchen area, the double sitting room and still have plenty of space for a quick rest or a peaceful look at the latest news. Kids particularly grateful for the selection of Wii games! Last, but certainly not least, ground floor location made it feel we were literally in the heart of Villars, without the noise but with the ease of getting in and out as easily as going down a blue piste. Last year we said "we loved Balthazar because we felt at home in the Alps", and we can only underscore once more that feeling, and look forward coming back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was a lovely apartment, really well equipped with stunning views of the dents du midi, right in the centre of Villars, just 50 metres from train up and down the mountain.
No faults at all and very helpful owners at the end of a phone !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villars-sur-Ollon hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#8 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Balthazar

Address: chemin de la Gare 14 | 1884, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Villars-sur-Ollon
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rent one of Chalet Balthazar's 5 luxury apartments located just 100 metres from the main ski access. It's unrivalled location is also moments from the bakery, ski school, ski hire and restaurants of Villars' village centre. Chalet Balthazar blends comfort and luxury with a 'home from home' feel. Rent an apartment for a week, month or season and see why guests return year after year to enjoy Balthazars' ultimate convenience and Villars' fabulous family skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing