We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second family ski holiday at Chalet Balthazar”
Review of Chalet Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Balthazar
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second family ski holiday at Chalet Balthazar”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

For the second time our family rented Apartment 3 in Chalet Balthazar and again enjoyed the spaciousness and the very high standard of furnishing and fittings. The children (3 and 5) had great fun playing in the snow pile in the enclosed garden, and at the end of a busy and tiring day skiing at Bretaye they particularly were delighted to find home just a step away from the station of the little train which descends from the ski area to Villars centre. The adults appreciated the convenience of being so close to an excellent bakery and a first-class supermarket, not to mention the many bars and restaurants of Villars. The chalet was clean and the owners and their local representative friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninagrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We decided to book Chalet Balthazar for a company get together and it was an excellent choice, the chalet was very well presented and equipped. Importantly it also had a very reliable and fast internet connection and we all loved the open log fire - quite rare these days.

However our trip was very memorable for another reason - the owners of the chalet could not do enough for us. As we were all busy working as well as skiing; they booked restaurants, ski guides, provided assistance and advice on equipment for cross country skiing and booked an evening adventure to the best mountain restaurant I have ever been to in over 35 years of skiing, the trip was worth it just for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A fantastic chalet in the best location in Villars. i always like to have my home comforts on holiday and wasn't disappointed in Villars. The Chalet had everything you'd want right down to the Nespresso coffee machine. Two minutes to an excellent if not ridiculously expensive little bakers and the shops and next door to the train station that takes you to the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunMcgauchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have been visiting Villars for over 35 years and I have stayed in various appatments and chalets with my family. This time we decided to rent closer to the train station for easier access to the ski slopes. Although we knew that the views from the small appatrment we chose were not going to match previous experience the location was excellent. In addition the apartment was spacious, ideal for 2 to 4 people, good storage for our boots and skis and more importantly situated right in the heart of the village. Having said that the views from the bigger apartments are stunning! We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koulhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalre, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have just returned from a great week stay at Chalet Balthazar. We stayed in 2 apartments, as we were with 9 persons in total. the conditions of the apartments are excellent. Spacious bedrooms and very comfortable bathrooms (with a good shower..for tall people)
Location is amazing. The best you can have if you want to be in the center of the village.
Unfortunately the snow was not as good as we hoped for...but our apartment compensated it all.
We would love to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We recently stayed at Chalet Balthazar for 7 nights and found the apartment (no-4) to be very spacious and comfortable and containing everything you require for a hassle free and relaxing stay.

I have read a number of the other reviews for Chalet Balthazar on Trip Advisor and would agree with all of the positive remarks made, imp particular the good standard and comfort of the apartment, convenient car parking on-site, very convenient location to bakery, restaurants, super market, ski hire, children's beginners ski slopes and train station where you catch the train up to the Bretaye ski area (10 -15 min), everything Is literally 2 minutes away from your apartment, but it is still nice and quite at night.

Chalet Balthazar and the Villars area in general is a great holiday choice, so much on offer, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edytagreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Having read the glowing reviews, one is always sceptical. But Chalet Balthazar outlived the expectations as all descriptions are accurate and all expectations are met.
The appartment itself (app. no 4) was adequately set-up and extremely well decorated with top of the scale material. All kitchen equipment was sufficient to help organise a meal and eat in the appartment.
The ski room is extremely useful, allowing one to quicly load and off-load equipment.
But the greatest advantage of the Chalet is its location. Difficult to beat in Villars.
Very close (100 m) to the train leading to the ski slopes and walking distance to all essential facilities (ski rental, coffee shop, restaurants, ski school, ice scating ring, mini-market etc).
In addition, the central location provided us a front-row, balcony view to the fireworks display on New Year's eve.

Overall this is a highly recommended environment for any group composition (we were 4 adults, three children aged 6-8 and a new born) and it will be difficult to find a better appartment for this price (or any price) in Villars.

Finally, the owners have added the extra touch in the pre and post rental period to make sure all our requests were met but to also make themselves available for any added needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patpatmarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villars-sur-Ollon hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#7 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Balthazar

Property: Chalet Balthazar
Address: chemin de la Gare 14 | 1884, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rent one of Chalet Balthazar's 5 luxury apartments located just 100 metres from the main ski access. It's unrivalled location is also moments from the bakery, ski school, ski hire and restaurants of Villars' village centre. Chalet Balthazar blends comfort and luxury with a 'home from home' feel. Rent an apartment for a week, month or season and see why guests return year after year to enjoy Balthazars' ultimate convenience and Villars' fabulous family skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing