We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic Ski Lodge Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We really loved staying here. The hotel offered great views of the mountains, had cute shops, and a variety of lovely hikes and activities nearby (we visited in the summer). They offer a free transport pass that is valid in Villars and the surrounding area so guests can go up the mountain free of charge using a variety of different transportation modes - bus, train, or cable car. There are regular rooms, which are beautiful, but the hotel also offers budget rooms and these are extremely charming in a rustic way, even though they lack the view of the regular rooms and are a bit smaller. I have to say, I really appreciate an upscale hotel that also takes into account the benefit of having budget rooms as well so all travelers can appreciate the gorgeous Swiss countryside. The staff is also extremely friendly and helpful with regards to things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a real gem of a hotel and situated in the heart of the village and directly opposite the lift station and ideal for skiing and probably walking in the summer. The staff are very friendly and the place is immaculate.

The hotel does have a restaurant and bar which is owned by someone else which is very good and compliments the hotel very well.

We stayed in one of the bedrooms with a newly refurbished bathroom with amazing mountain views.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back with a mountain view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed her for 2 nights to ski for a couple of days of skiing, The Alpe Fleurie delivers what one would expect from a quality 3 star establishment in a top Swiss ski destination, and actually lays a few hidden gems in your path that are worth admiring.

LOCATION: To reach the lifts in Villars-Gryon from in town, you need to take the ski train up the mountain. It's a pleasant (and quaint) journey, provided the crowds are not too unwieldy. Fortunately, when we were there, the mountain was quiet and this made the 10 +/- minute trip to the top easy. The Alpe Fleuire is indeed the closest hotel to the station. It is right across the street, so if one wishes to minimize the hassle of walking distance and carrying skis, you would be in the right place. This also puts the hotel just about equidistant from one end of the town of Villars to the other. So as far as location is concerned, unless you want to stay on the mountain (which has the trade off of making access into town below a bit more challenging), then the Alpe Fleurie is as good a choice as you will find. The town is easily explored on foot, and walking from one end to the other takes no more than 20 minutes or so.

HOTEL SERVICE: The overall service is what you would expect from a Swiss 3 star. Efficient, but not robotic, engaged and friendly, but not obtrusive. As is typical with the class of hotel, the reception closes around 8 p.m., and there is an emergency number and a key code to enter the hotel after hours. Our few queries were answered as we need, and with one or two exceptions, everyone spoke good English and were not at all put off by our limited French.

ROOMS: Surprisingly spacious for a Swiss 3 star, and certainly larger than what one would expect in a ski resort. Storage space was more than adequate for a few days. (The hotel has a ski/boot room). The room was clean and housekeeping was unobtrusive and did a nice job. Bathroom has a wet room "open shower" which was fine, and we also had a lovely wrap around balcony that gave us a nice outdoor sitting area to peruse the valley and the mountains. Hallways were quiet and the town at night was not loud. It was was easy to sleep as road noise was minimal. Again, all of those things may have been owed to the time of year, as it was later in March after the term holidays, but even so, I suspect it is not all that different in the busier seasons.

FOOD: Aha! The hidden gem. The restaurant (which is owned and managed separately from the hotel) is lovely. The food is great and the service is delightful. They were welcoming of children, so no issues there. We ate breakfast and dinners in the restaurant. Breakfast buffet has the expected assortment of breads, cereals, and juices, etc., and all were fresh and well prepared. Dinner menu is typical Swiss inspired cuisine, and the various dishes we tried were all good. Yes, the prices of the food are high, but it's Switzerland, and that's just how it goes. You could spend 3 or 4 days eating in the restaurant and be perfectly content.

OVERALL: The Alpe Fleurie delivers on expectations. If you are looking for a pleasant ski holiday, or short summer outing in Villars, the hotel does tick the boxes. it is not a 5 star experience, (and it doesn't pretend to be), but it most certainly provides the base for an enjoyable respite in the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Although we didn't stay at the hotel we ate in the restaurant. Everything from the service to the menu to the food was excellent, we will definitely be back!!!!!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Although Ihave not eaten here it has become my regular haunt for a quiet coffee and a drink.
The restaurant is close to the village and station and has good views of the mountains. I have sat outside on the terrace which is a nice sun trap. The waiters provide good service and are very friendly! I would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel has a great location right opposite the little train station that takes you up to the skiing.We had one of the suites which was very nice with plenty of room and a very good bathroom.although the standard rooms looked a little bit basic and although the hotel is a 3 star if you like a bit of comfort,go for the suite.The restaurant is under separate ownership and I can't give it enough praise from the very good choice for breakfast and the really friendly staff to the wonderful food at dinner. I think that it would be really nice if the hotel could just up its standard of décor and furnishings to come in line with the restaurant,although I must add that the pillows were probably the most comfortable I have ever had anywhere in the world.The whole layout of the room was perfect,its very rare that you get a chair at the dressing table with a mirror that you can see more that the top of your head and a plug nearby for the hair-dryer,normally the mirror is on the opposite side of the room!!
Thank you Alpe Fleurie
I must also compliment the reception staff who were extremely helpful when my husband had had a fall and the insurance company,(Lloyds) were next to useless.
We will most definitely return. Thank you .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were very satisfied by this beautiful and quaint chalet. The staff were absolutely wonderful before we arrived (they responded to requests for information I made by email promptly and were very helpful) and during our stay. The large showers with windows overlooking the valley and mountains are breathtaking. The rooms are also very cosy.

I recommend this chalet for skiiers. It is in the best location: Straight across the road from the train that takes you to the ski slopes!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Eagleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
58 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#8 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence

Address: Rue Centrale | Case postale 147, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: £129 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With probably the best location in the resort of Villars, the Alpe Fleurie provides a direct access to skiing and hiking activities and offers a wide range of housing solutions. Enjoy the authentic warm and welcoming atmosphere of a real mountain chalet offering an incredible view on the Alps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing