We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Baar, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It did not start well as we got downgraded due to a misunderstanding between the hotel and hotels.com
The call number for services at night were charged 5chf even thought it was for legitimate reason (feather allergic).
They forgot to charge us for the breakfast and we got called 3times the day after to be told that it was our fault if they are not able to do a correct bill for prebooked breakfasts.
Not to make it any better, the personal was unfriendly almost rude, and did not propose any commercial solutions to our problems.
Staying in this hotel was a disappointment, I would not recommend to anyone and will not go there again if I travel to this nice city of Villars!

Helpful?
6 Thank Fuppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michellod_S, Directeur général at Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are obviously taking very seriously any disappointing comment. We can make a mistake and we will, in that case, try to correct it in the best way we can. In that case, we did one mistake which was to forget to charge the breakfast at the client’s departure. When we noticed that, a couple of hours after the check-out, we charged the missing CHF 20.- (2x 10) with the credit card given at the reservation and kindly informed the guest about it. We were obviously in our right to do so. The rest of the comment are the words of an angry young man trying his best to downgrade our hotel. It is totally untrue that the client has been downgraded, he booked a “small budget room” at CHF 130.-/night. This unhappy customer who checked-in during the afternoon forgot to mention that he phoned our emergency line at 10PM to inform us about his feather allergy and required that we change his bed. He claimed that he could not expect feathers because all the hotels in France he stayed in have synthetic pillows and duvets.. We had to wake up a housekeeping member to do this. We do not only feel that we had to put extra effort for this reservation, but also that we have been thanked in a very awkward way. But isn’t the client always right? This is why we would like to apologize. We do apologize for giving the guest the room he booked; for disturbing him late in the evening to change his duvet and pillows because of his allergy, to charge him for the breakfast that he took in the morning and for not answering him with the same rudeness he used to talk to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    41
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
49
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This very well located hotel (just across the railway station) is a nice and price-worthy alternative to the larger, more impersonal hotels in Villars. It has been renovated recently, and I particularly liked the bathroom (spacious, with wood and granite. The shower had a fantastic view of the Dents-du-Midi). We had a double room on the first floor, facing the valley, and it was just lovely. Breakfast was okay, a bit more fresh fruit, or a fruit salad would have been a plus.
We had an evening meal at the restaurant, which serves classic dishes. Good, simple fare, but could do with a bit more imagination!
Altogether a nice experience.
The staff, Portuguese, was warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divehigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Spent New Years in Villars. Hotel staff were very friendly especially the ones at reception. Single room was nice and looking over the square and tram station. It did get a bit noisy at times being next to the stairs but cleaners even left earplugs without me asking on 31st. Shower was immense.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rhunllwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What could have been a lovely location turned out to be a disappointing experience, which we will not repeat. We were literally talked out of the small budget room we had originally booked and offered a payable upgrade to a holiday apartment, which was too big for two, had the questionable charm of the 70tees and was not at all warm and chalet-like but run down and somewhat neglected. The empty picture hook in some rooms left the impression that previous customers had taken the decoration home with them and had never been replaced. We ended up arguing about the price for breakfast which needs to be pre-ordered in order to qualify for the lower price (indeed only 10CHF instead of 16CHF), but the pre-ordering conditions were not quite clear so we ended up paying the higher price. Altogether we spent ~ 500CHF for two nights and were very disappointed with what could have been a great stay in a great place in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: if you are a couple don't opt for an apartment, ask to see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFlowergirlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michellod_S, Directeur général at Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Once in a while we get a comment from a guest that seems to be coming out of nowhere and this one is surely among them. How often do you have a guest complaining that the room is too big for them? We offered them to upgrade in this room for half of its price because it was the last room available; they visited the room and could have obviously gone back to the “Small Budget room” they previously booked. The breakfast situation need some explanation as well. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast for CHF 16.-; nevertheless, you can choose to book it for your entire stay at the preferred rate of CHF 10.-. Those guests have decided not only to book it for the 2 nights they were spending with us, but also for 7 extra guests. We decided to let them have breakfast at CHF 10.- even though they were not staying with us. On the first morning the 7 friends did not turn up. Part of the food prepared for those 7 guests obviously had to go to the bin. On the second morning, one guest comes to take a coffee and says that they are coming back for breakfast. It ends up that nobody came back for breakfast on that day: It is food for 9 guests that we had to bin. The guests have been charged 2 breakfast at CHF 16.- at check out. We strongly believe that a bad comment should be treated with most care and must help us improve. Everyone makes mistakes, and we gladly send an apology (often together with a voucher) when we have made one. But in that case, the hotel should be the one complaining about a very unfair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just opposite the mountain railway and with good views out over the valley from our first floor rooms away from the railway the location of this small hotel with various connected annexes was excellent for our short family skiing break. But even aiming off for Swiss prices it seemed a touch expensive for what it was. The restaurant, which oddly didn't belong to the hotel but provided the breakfasts and dinners, was very good - quality Swiss mountain dishes, friendly and efficient service, helpful willingness to serve dinner later than foreseen due to travel problems, good DIY breakfasts with excellent bread, coffee, yoghurt, cereal,and lots of trimmings If the restaurant and bar was part of the hotel we would give a very good rating overall.

However we never really had any contact with the staff of the hotel proper except on check in and check out and we found the whole hotel side of the experience a bit bland and characterless. The rooms were very adequate, a good size with plenty of cupboards with good bathrooms and lots of shelving space.

If there was a good rating we would probably give it, but overall and taking account of value for money we think average is fair.

Room Tip: rooms on the side away from the railway have better views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Readers of my reviews will have discerned by now that I am a value traveler ~ lets say I am plain old fashioned frugal, so it delightful when I find a great property at a great price.

Alps Fleurie is perfectly located in the mountain centre of Villars, 30m from the cog railway that takes you upto Bretaye and skiing, or mountain activities in the summer.

My single room was (mountain) traditionally decorated and of good quality. The single bed ~ comfortable (I slept like a log). The bathroom is an even nicer surprise, stylish with good quality materials throughout. Wonderfully warm (so important in winter) and a great rain shower ~ don’t see too many of those in the mountains.

Free and fast wifi ~ see photo

A great breakfast and an enthusiastic front desk. Parking outside the front door. Worth CHF50 alone

Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain facing, stunning views of Dent de Midi and Mont Blanc ~ extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a ski weekend. Perfect location across the road from the train station, bus stop and small ski train to take you up to the slopes. The inhouse restaurant is good. The staff are friendly, there's free wifi and a discount at the ski hire place next door. The cheapest rooms are small - cosy and rustic - but absolutely fine for a short no-frills stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
202 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#7 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence

Property: Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Address: Rue Centrale | Case postale 147, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With probably the best location in the resort of Villars, the Alpe Fleurie provides a direct access to skiing and hiking activities and offers a wide range of housing solutions. Enjoy the authentic warm and welcoming atmosphere of a real mountain chalet offering an incredible view on the Alps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing