We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A certain old chalet charm, but don't expect modern”
Review of Hotel Ecureuil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ecureuil
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon for a 1 night stay. Having checked on tripadv and booking.com review scores, decided on this hotel. However, it is too over priced for what is on offer.
The room is out of date but if the olden style is your thing...then that is ok. Carpet was a kind of rough synthetic material more often found in older office buildings and I had difficulty breathing through the night and found the room to be too dusty. The size of the room was big with a table and seating area.I could feel the springs in the bed and the bedding left a lot to be desired.

The owners were very friendly and breakfast was simple but charming. Not a huge selection, but sufficient enough.

We paid 200 CHF for a double room for the night, and I have stayed in much more modern and luxurious places both in the Alps and other European cities, so for this reason, I am disappointed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swiss_voyager83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

Having stayed at the Chalet RoyalAlp earlier in the ski season (only because we got a good deal), we recognized that Ecureuil was going to be a bit of a step down. That having said, it was quite a step. Overall, it's a bit of a mixed bag. I can see why people would stay here, but I'm not sure that we'd stay here again.

On the plus side, the price is good and so is the English of the owners. THere are also fridges in the rooms so you can store food and (if you want) avoid having to pay an arm and a leg at the local restaurants. Also, although it's a bit further out than some of the other hotels, it's literally only about a 5-7 minute walk (in ski boots with gear) to the train. So that's quite respectable. The breakfast isn't fancy but there are plenty of carbs if that's what you are in the mood for (not bad for skiing, not good for dieters).

On the not so nice side, it is a little bijou and right out of the 1970s. There are signs on the TV that warn you not to turn up the volume lest you disturb your neighbors. Guess the engineers hadn't heard of soundproofing. Also, there are only twin beds in the hotel. However, if you ask for the "big sheets for the big bed", this somehow magically translates into them doing something to bring the beds together. Shame that we didn't find out about that until our last night and they didn't even offer it to us as an option. Also, we had friends staying with us who had a young child; and we were't exactly sure how thrilled the management was to experience that.

While I'm not sure we'll choose Ecureuil if we go back to Villars, but it's not bad as a baseline. I just have a sneaking suspicion that Fluerie and Golf might be a pinch better. But it might also depend upon the price and the time of year.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is an excellent place for simple and traditional Swiss accomodation in the wonderful town on Villars. Well placed for a the ski train up the mountain ( genuinely a three minute stroll) the accomodation was generous, clean, charming owner, simple breakfasts and great value in the face of the Swiss Franc v GB Pound onslaught. Dont go if want to be sat up in the hotel bar ( there isnt one) but do go if want well placed decent stay. I travelled with my 10 year old son

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alderleywedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Been several times in the past year.
Charming family owned hotel.....great value for money....great location....free parking, super friendly staff....no brainer....you can go there with your eyes closed as the French say
Pretty simple- so dont expect fancy stuff- but they are good where it matters- the bed, the shower (water pressure), breakfast, location, quiet and price AND the owner is a charming fellow.....if you are a high maintenance customer, I'd say pay 5 times more and try somewhere else...if not....you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We visited Villars for a wedding and just wanted somewhere quiet and comfortable for a long weekend.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the service was excellent. Breakfast in the room was a real treat. Having such a good sized room with a huge balcony was a blessing - because the weather was unseasonably bad. From talking to other guests at the wedding we think we did better than those who stayed in larger hotels with better facilities. Who needs a hotel spa when the excellent local swimming pool is available free of charge? Cannot think of a down side unless you object to walking 300 yards into the village.


Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKODurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed here with friends in January, really impressed. Huge room, very clean and well equipped. Ours on top floor had fantastic views over the whole valley and mountains with great south facing balcony. Kitchen well equipped. Breakfast delivered on the dot to our room every morning. Friendly owners. Would definitely go again. Heated boot stand in shared locker room. Quiet location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Feel at home at this well run and well kept small chalet-hotel with extremely sweet staff and hospitable and friendly owner. Cozy, wood-pannelled rooms with plenty of space, a bit old fashioned in the good traditional Swiss way, but very well maintained and very clean and comfortable. Extremely good value with breakfast served in the room- there's a smal dining table- but most rooms have also sunny balconies with chairs and a table so with good weather enjoy the view while having your coffee and croissant! Some rooms have a kitchen as well so you can be as independant as you wish to be for a small extra fee that covers the cleaning..
There's high speed wireless internet from all rooms if you bring your own laptop, it worked very well during our stay. All rooms are well appointed with tv, a fridge, good bathroom and all you need for a pleasant stay.
The location is quiet but still very close to the main shoppping street and the station, the little red train that passes by makes it as Swiss as can be but doesn't disturb one's sleep as it runs 'till early evening only.
With the personal attention and the facilities provided it is an excellent choice for a very comfortable stay in a no-nonsense hotel, perfect if you don't want to bring your high heels or dinner jacket in the pretty posh village that Villars is.
Would recommend it for couples, families ( some rooms can be connected) and everybody else that likes an authentic stay without the frills of a big fancy hotel!
RJ and Mina/ The Netherlands

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijnenrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villars-sur-Ollon hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet la Griotte
Chalet la Griotte
#3 of 6 in Villars-sur-Ollon
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ecureuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ecureuil

Address: Centrale, avenue 163, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: £152 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ecureuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ecureuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing