We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful 4 Star Hotel”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful 4 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Perfectly located in the heart of Villars sur Ollon, the four star Hotel du Golf is good at any time of year, and especially good value between the end of the ski season and the start of summer. We booked ahead and were offered a 20% reduction on a room and breakfast for three nights (01-04 May 2012), with use of the Spa—normally CHF 50-60 per day—included. Effective WiFi is available throughout the hotel, but it’s one of those systems that may require re-setting your connection for outgoing mail from a mail client. Receiving mail on two different mail clients was straightforward.
We were allocated Room 201 at the south end of the building; one of only two rooms with a wrap-around balcony on two sides of the room, affording views of the Dents du Midi across the valley, and the mountains to the south. All rooms are large, with spacious bathrooms en suite, a safe and minibar. All aspects of the accommodation are to a very well maintained, high standard.
The only slight drawback was that, although a generous buffet breakfast was included, the restaurant was closed to occasional guests at other times of day—though dinner was served to groups. However, this was no problem as there are several restaurants in the village, two of which are almost opposite the hotel. Our preference was for the Rotisserie des Alpes, where we dined each night. Their menu, winelist and service were all first class.
If you just want to sample Swiss hospitality in the most economic way possible, the Hotel du Golf is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing the Dents du Midi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHiLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    79
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
93
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Last year I had a chance to visit Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland. I blindly booked a room at Hotel du Golf. That I hit the jackpot is an understatement. A smiling, courteous staff greeted me and I was in my room within no time. The front desk manger was kind enough to give me a complimentary upgrade to the valley view room, By the time I came down for dinner, I found out that the restaurant was closed for the night. That was no problem since I had my dietary restrictions. Once again the front desk manager was cooperation personified. We both went to the kitchen, and he helped me prepare a meal.
The room was extremely comfortable. The bath room was spacious and well laid out. I enjoyed the soak in the king size tub. Excellent choice of toiletries, I must say. The complimentary breakfast was fabulous. My only regret was that I just had one day there as it was a business trip and I had to move on. Before my check out I had wanted certain information, and again the front desk obliged me to the extent that he used his personal cell phone to make calls to get me the information I required. Undoubtedly the best stay I ever had in a hotel. the dates of my visit were probably 8th-9th May, 2011.

Room Tip: Choose a room with valley view, it is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zulufire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel du Golf for 1 week in February. The Staff were, in the main, friendly except in the downstairs restaurant where they serve fondue. The food in the main restaurant is very good but very expensive if you are not half board. However, to be fair, it is very expensive wherever you eat in Villars, even 2 Pizzas were around £40. The hotel does not have coffee making facilities in the room and so you have to pay around £3.50 every time you want one. We had a balcony which gave us fantastic views, we would recommend that you ask for a top floor room though so you do not have people above you. The room was very basic but comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to the train station where you have to catch a train to get up the mountains for ski-ing. There is a large room in the basement for your ski boots and ski’s so you don’t have to take them up to your room. The ski area is not huge so you may get a bit bored if you are there for a whole week. If you do not drive from Geneva airport the trip can be very long, we had to get a train and then a bus. All in all we could have flown to the USA for the same time it took us to get to Villars.

Room Tip: Go for Top Floor with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very dated furnishings.

I stayed as part of a tour group, and I and & other singles were given awful small room facing the road, whereas couple were given valley views. I wasn't prepared to stay in this box with a shared balcony for 3 nights so I complained (which I very rarely do), and I was moved to a massive room 4-5 times the size of the original box. Whilst I am thankful for that, even then I must say that the rooms were very dated, and all the furniture including the beds creaked. It seemed that money hadn't been spent on the hotel for some time. Of course I don't know what the standard of accomodation was like in other hotels in Villars, which to be fair is a village. I would never stay there again, unless on another tour and didn't have a choice.

Most of the staff were friendly & helpful (eg suggesting a cogwheel railway which run up to the summit of a mountain with fantastic views, and providing free vouchers to do this was very welcome).

I just expect a minimum level of quality in the accommodation I stay in, and this fell well short of what I expect & accept.

Room Tip: Book a valley view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawnbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Huge rooms, great breakfast and the spa was really nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

First visited in December 2005 with another family and fell in love with the hotel as well as the village. The rooms are unexpectedly large for a ski hotel. Great storage room, always had hot water, space for a third bed for our daughter and still room for a chair to sit an collapse in. Choose a room looking over the valley and you get a great terrace. Day or night the views are spectacular and hugely atmospheric. The family-run atmosphere is genuine and warm. There are several lounge areas and a cosy bar, all of which have corners to hang out in and order tea or wine or whatever. The kids were happy to wander about and set themselves up with a game or a book.
The restaurant is large and perhaps a little functional, but there is atmosphere and the set menus are generous
Located a short stumble across from the route up the mountain and an easy stride into town, this may not be glitz, but it certainly has character an warmth. And we thought it was very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor looking over the valley, not to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We spent very nice time at this hotel. Rooms are rather rustic for a 4 star hotel, but the SPA is great and staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#7 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Property: Hotel du Golf
Address: Avenue Centrale 152, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Villars Sur Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing