We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but lacking something”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location but lacking something”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a spacious family room overlooking the valley at the back. The hotel is in a great location near the station, has a lovely terrace and dining room, and free and excellent wifi which was much appreciated but...

Ventilation in the rooms was a problem. There is no air con and no windows to open, only the door onto the balcony. We were ok in August as we kept the doors open, even overnight, but what you do in the ski season, or if its really hot, I don't know. This was a theme as the internal bathroom didn't even have a fan and the family room had no opening window either, although it was an 'internal' room and quickly got warm and airless with the interconnecting door closed. TVs in both bedrooms and a plentiful selection of channels was very much appreciated.

The bath/shower had no thermostatic control so the water changed temperature from hot to cold regularly which isn't acceptable in a 4* hotel.

The lighting was good which is not always the case in hotel rooms. The family bedroom for 4 had a very substantial beam above the beds which is at a nasty height for both the bedside table and getting into/out of bed for teenagers/adults. Ouch!

The reception staff were helpful and efficient when asked, e.g. giving info about wifi, requesting more comfortable pillows, and a bedside light etc. The bar staff were sometimes difficult to find as they were also serving in the restaurant/doing other things. They were generally cheerful and efficient however, if not necessarily experienced. This is the only hotel of many we have stayed in in Switzerland which didn't have lovely soft down/feather pillows as standard but enormous synthetic ones. This was quickly rectified though when softer pillows were requested, and they did make a difference.

In summer the hotel seems to cater for US tour parties. There were 3 or 4 groups of American tourists during our 6 night stay. However, despite having 75%+ english guests, the plentiful newspapers were resolutely French and German.

If you want to take the half board option it was quite expensive and had to be for a minimum of 3 nights. Whilst the food was good (and the cheese trolley excellent) there was no choice. The night we asked for an alternative starter we were offered a salad (the second course was a salad, from the same salad bar?....). Having said that I think this may have been different if we had had a different waiter that evening. One waiter was extremely capable and more charismatic but we only saw him on one evening.

Breakfast was extremely disappointing. The minimum that could be reasonably offered we felt. A small amount of fruit, cheese, meat, bread. Definitely not what we have experienced in other Swiss hotels.

On a plus point the hotel is immaculate in terms of cleanliness. It is in a great location and has some good facilities but somehow it's missing character and things need to be asked for rather than coming as standard.

Room Tip: At the back with the balconies and views down the valley, but if you want a double I think they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coventrytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    80
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
96
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel Du Golf

Great Service Great Location but a 3*

Very welcoming staff at reception as I arrived. Lady was quick at helping me with Parking instructions and quick check in and she immediately booked a table for dinner. She
was efficient and quickly gave Wifi code, local info and all that was needed.

Had a drink at the Bar before dinner. Bar was small but OK. Waitress was very nice and efficient but as it was almost dinner time she was alone at Bar and with only 3 guests she spent time going to the Kitchen to get leave things, leaving the Bar unattended (not for long periods, but she kept on coming and going).

Sat at dinner and staff was very efficient and polite. They had a La carte and a set menu. The staff had no problem in changing the starter to a soup so I chose the Set menu. I was one of the last to arrive and the roast served seemed to be the last pieces as they seemed pieces from the end and it was dry. Rest of the meal was Good. The soup was excellent. Staff was efficient and friendly.

Common areas area seemed 3*. No bathroom in ground floor and you need to go to the basement. The basement looks like that, like a basement., Very bland. To be 4* needs little more luxury (no much more expense but some decoration advice, to imp roe the look). Toilettes in basement did not have soap/gel/mousse dispensers and had soap bars - unhygienic for a common bathroom shared by all guests.

Rooms:
Chose a standard room as was only there from 9Pm to 8 am best am. Rooms had carpet, something I am not a fan of unless they are these fluffy carpets and it sees that they have been foamed after every stay. Carpet gave a rough feeling. The room had a nice small balcony.

Bathroom: Nothing wrong with it but not a 4*. Toilette seat covers were basic plastic. Towels were simple.Simple tiling, some modern granite/marble (at least tiles that look like it) would have been appreciated.
Rooms had no spare electrical sockets.. We all travel with many devices nowadays so I had to charge all in the bathroom.
Bed: No sheets!!! Mattress covering sheet and a quilt with a quilt cover but no sheets in between. In a hotel thee should be a sheet between the quilt cover and you. Standard mattress. Need to complain about something that was good. It was summer so did not need heating and the room was at an adequate temperature. But the quilt was too warm, and as there was no sheet, spent the whole night taking the quilt off and putting it on.

Internet: Free and good speed.
Speedy Check-Out

Overall nothing wrong with hotel, good staff and good location, but its a 3*. Great points to staff. The restaurant did a have a 4* feeling but the hotel did not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArBy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our comfortable room had a south facing balcony with a good view towards the French Alps an Mnt Blanc.The hotel is very spacious with good amenities although the style and decoration is quite dated in artex and pine. Maybe this helps it appeal to an older more conservative crowd an it was a look which we encountered a lot in this region. The weak spot was the food. Dinner was quite average and overpriced and the buffet breakfast was sadly one of the worst I have encountered in a 4 star hotel. Cheap cuts of processed meat an cheese, a limited selection of alternatives and burnt black lumps in the scrambled egg showed a real disregard for what breakfast should be. You could see the dissatisfaction of the guests who were wondering like us just where their money was going? Now whether it was just an off day or not the chef should not have allowed the eggs to go out. Equally good cheese is a stalwart in this region and the hotel has a decent chariot du fromage so there was no excuse for such obvious cost cutting. A hotel can succeed or fail on the quality of its food and a good chef should ensure quality in all aspects of the menu throughout the day. We ate elsewhere on the second night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a south facing balcony and if the breakfast is still rubbish complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepbluepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Hotel du Golf is a stone's throw from the centre of Villars and the combined bus/trolley/cog railway terminus.
We had a large room at the back of the hotel with a balcony giving great views across the Rhone valley to the mountains beyond. We especially welcomed the full size bath as in the area this was something of a rarity in our experience.
There is a very attractive outdoor dining area with views which we were unable to use because of the weather. Indoors, there is also a large and impressive dining area. The food we had was elegantly presented and very good - both under half board and the next night a la carte(we were so taken with our first meal that we decided not to venture to other venues). The breakfast was also among the best we have sampled in Switzerland.
The staff of the hotel were very helpful. We appreciated the Access Card that was provided free to give free transport during our stay. The only stipulation was that we returned them on departure.

Room Tip: A room at the back should secure a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent location, very excessible to public transport both on and off the mountain and to other attractions.
Very welcoming and friendly people. The hotel was older, but has been very well maintained and excellent wifi without distruption. Basic but nice european breakfast.
Stunning view, definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great big rooms with beautiful view from the large balcony. Clean and comfortable. The staff was polite and obliging. The food and service was good.
I stayed at the hotel during off season. It may be busy and noisy during the summer and winter.

Room Tip: Top floor left side rooms may be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9MariaB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent. We had dinner on the patio. The view is amazing. The food and service were very good. We had the perch and bass, with lovely vegetables and salad. The apricot tarte was simply wonderful. We did not stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel. We ate in the restaurant which we would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J46_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#7 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Pillon
Hotel du Pillon
#1 of 4 in Les Diablerets
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Property: Hotel du Golf
Address: Avenue Centrale 152, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Villars Sur Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing