We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy in Villars”
Review of Eurotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eurotel Victoria
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed in two rooms on a family skiing holiday in February 2013. We had fifth floor rooms with terrific mountain views. We stayed on a half-board basis and, whilst the evening meal tended towards bland, there would always be a salad bar to raise the spirits. Breakfast was continental and there was plenty on offer (if you like a cup of "British" tea in the morning, best to smuggle some of your favourite brand).

We found the staff helpful, polite and friendly. No complaints on that score.

Our room was warm, clean and comfortable, with a decent shower and plenty of hot water.

The shuttlebus, which runs every 20 minutes during the day, to the gondola ("telecabine") and snow train stops right outside the Eurotel. The hotel ski room where we stored our skis was adequate and was locked at night for added security.

I would have liked to have a kettle and some mugs in the room for a morning cuppa, but hey, we survived!

Would we stay at the Eurotel-VIctoria again? Definitely!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for a family holiday. The room is spacious with balcony and wonderful view of the mountains.
We stayed on the third floor and the room actually has small kitchenette with sink and looking plates (electrical) although we did not use it. Fridge is too small for any food, few bottles of drink will fit in.
Plenty of fresh towels, also great thing is that the hotel has very large indoor pool with great scenery and two saunas, all is very spacious ( and almost empty, we only seen once another family). Also fitness room has some good equipment, definitely enough to keep you buys for a week.
Breakfast is classic, with fresh croissants every morning, tea and fresh milk, honey, marmalade, and plenty of Swiss cheese, etc...
The hotel is up the hill, so is about 15 minutes walk from train station, the same station where you catch a train to take you from village to ski at Bretaye (1810m). Hence, if you like the village life, shopping (1200m something) the location is ok, but if you need to go ski every day then from hotel location you will have to do some walk. The trip from train station with a small local train taking you up to ski (Bretaye) is about 20 minutes, and it departs every 15 minutes. We rented skis in the village, although if you forget anything you can also find rent-a-ski once you come up.
There are many ski schools for kids. Also there is Club Med, and as usual have been running their own, with large groups about 20 children and only 2 instructors, that is how it looks like, but all kids looked happy.
We arranged private lessons with "ecole Suisse de Ski et de Snowboard" for our 6 years old and were absolutely impressed by wonderful ski instructor Alexander Hinton. Also we found individual lessons having great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavisandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weeks skiing as a group of 14 guys with 7 vary large and clean rooms, every thing was quality about this hotel except the rude attitude of the restaurant staff who seemed only to want to serve our evening meal if the whole group was together and the waiter would stand at the end of the table and expect us to put our hands up to make our choice of meal and when he miss counted would blame us and when asked to go around the table and take the orders separately was not pleased. Apart from this very pleasant stay.if you are going to villars be aware it is vary expensive, and not very well linked as we had to make several long walks at the end of the runs to catch the lift back which caused a lot of blisters.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

This is the most beautiful place of Switzerland.stAted here for a day and enjoyed it a lot.the pool is warm water pool and although the staff is somewhat unresponsive but its understandable.
Not much to choose in food or breakfast as its limited.bit the view from room is spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apotri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Attended a conference at Eurotel Victoria and the room was provided by the organizer. I got a double bed room facing the Alps and it was nice to get a fresh morning air everyday. The only problem is my room is quite old and the fridge provided was dirty (the previous guests left their drinks and food inside). No free internet provided in the room. The bathroom is complete with clean towels and modern bathtub.

The hotel is up the hill (need to walk uphill for about 15-20 minutes from the train station). There are few shops for us to get the groceries done. I also enjoy walking around the hill every afternoon/evening. I could see there are few other hotels around Villars but as I never been to Swiss before, i could not comment much on the rate or location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semua_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed for one week in August, booking 3 rooms (1 double and 2 singles). The double room was spacious and airy with excellent facilities and views of the mountains (including glaciers). An interior door ensured that the room was quiet (from corridor and fridge). Our single rooms, with similar views, were small but comfortable (like the photos on the hotel website). The service was good throughout and the food was excellent. We were seated in Peppino's restaurant, which has great food, including a "salad" buffet to die for (so much more than salad). We were pleased with the location too - it takes just a few minutes to walk to the main street (and the railway/bus stop) and a similar time to walk to the gondola station.The August 1st procession in the village was excellent and we were even serenaded by hornblowers during our evening meal. Overall we we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank candd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

But the 'apartment' had not been prepared for self catering, it was basically 2 bedrooms with a connecting door. We expected a small kitchen but this was poorly equipped, e.g. no kettle, 3 lots of cutlery and crockery for a family of 4. The very small oven got as hot on the outside as it was inside - making it very easy to get burnt! particularly hazardous as located in corridor between bedroom and door to corridor. The mini bar fridge was not cool enough for food, rusty and contained pools of water.
More equipment was provided, and after calls from our rep. we were given a fridge in our bedroom - worked well but noisy at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#1 of 4 in Les Diablerets
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
58 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurotel Victoria

Address: Route des Layeux, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: £169 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Eurotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurotel Victoria Hotel Villars-Sur-Ollon
Eurotel Victoria Villars Sur Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing