We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ticks all the boxes for me.”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Weggis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“This hotel ticks all the boxes for me.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There are 5 Star hotels scattered all around the world. Many are huge, glitzy and amazing. Many sadly fail to live up to their rating. The Hotel Beau Rivage is the right size of hotel for me, the right décor, a modest and friendly reception, a very comfortable lounge, all of which make you feel at ease immediately you enter through the front door. The rooms are quite Spartan but nicely furnished with good size bathrooms - in my case it was a wet room with an excellent shower. Everything you need is there - flat screen TV with great coverage of channels, a desk & chair, comfortable chairs and a small table and a big cosy bed plus a modern coffee maker. The only thing it lacked was air conditioning. The main window was a door to an oversize balcony from which the views were breathtaking. Gazing across the hotel gardens, heated outdoors swimming pool, small landing stage from which you can slip or plunge into the fresh lake water. What lake you ask? Lake Lucerne. The view from my room was looking across the lake in either direction and watching the funnelled paddle steamers and other ferries run their regular passenger routes around the lake. Weggis is one of their stops - out from and back to Lucerne. The dinning room is quite big but has been designed to make it feel more intimate. Cocktails are served in the lounge while selecting your dishes for dinner. The menu is not overflowing with choice, there is enough to satisfy most tastes and, talking of tastes, the meal was superb. Service attentive but not oppressive and made a fine end to what had been a busy day. Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection and it can be taken either in the dinning room or outside on the terrace under a striped awning. There are flowers and bushes all around which makes it such a charming garden. Did I love my stay - yes I did. Would I stay there again - yes I would.

Room Tip: Obviously a room facing the lake is a must. There is only one drawback to this wonderful location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    49
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
88
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just got back from a 2 week vacation at the Beau Rivage. We were back for the 5 the time. Again we had the confirmation of our expectations. The team of Mr Muller is doing an outstanding job. They go out of there way to accommodate all your needs and we were no easy going customers. Although we had a few to many rainy days they made sure that our days were filled with sunshine. We would like to thank especially (our almost full time waiter) Filip for the outstanding job to try to fulfill all our requests. As we have found out it's an all Italian team in the kitchen and the variety, quality and presentations of the meals are exquisite . I will especially recommend to have a home made ice cream in the perfectly manicured courtyard or a heavenly tasting creppe Suzette ( it's a show) after a fulfilling meal. Thanks again and hope to see you next year.. Rita

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cicus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Discovered thru Tripadvisior, we were very nicely surprised by the hotel.

It has an excellent location on the lake, all rooms are entirely refurbished to meet the present standards. We booked 2 superior rooms with lake view and it was worth the rate difference.

Excellent service allover. We arrived one day earlier as originally booked due to our error and the manager in charge accepted to change the bookings without any problem or silly comments. Great service indeed.

Nice restaurant with a superb terrace, maybe a bit overpriced on some items but the quality is good such as breakfast Buffet with an excellent coffee.

Own parking lots ( watch if you park on the 3 lots situated on the other side of the hotel as we found our car covered with a strange mixture coming down from the garden upstairs and we had a great difficulty to remove those large stains of what looked like calcium deposits)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Swiss_Traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very scenic locale, hotel is right on the lake, gorgeous landscaping which fits right in with the surroundings, there were other beautiful hotels in and around, but this worked for me. Room was fairly comfortable, though I didn't pick the one with the best view. The manager and other staff were kind and helpful. The hotel seems to have undergone a renovation recently so the rooms are modern, while the interior and dining room etc. don't necessarily match, as they're still in the classic old style, but that adds to the charm. Very comfortable bed and bathroom. Good breakfast. Look forward to being back in that area and staying here again. Enjoyed taking the ferry back and forth to various other villages and the proximity to Rigi.

Room Tip: I had trouble with my Wifi because I didn't have a local phone number, but the hotel staff helpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Due to our previous experience we've decided coming to this marvelous hotel again. We booked the Suite including own Whirlpool for 3 nights and were surprised about the perfect and great renovation. Nice design and new beds for a perfect rest.

The hotel is located very convenient about 200m from the boat and bus terminal.

The restaurant improved dramatically compared to last year and we recommend the Zurcher Gschnetzlete to everyone!!!

The SPA area hasn’t changed and we would prefer a seperate way from the rooms to the SPA than walking through the main entrance..

The staff was very charming and we even had the possibility on a boat trip with the director. He brought us to a restaurant opposite the lake with stunning sunset and great food and atmosphere.

As we travelled by car we realized the problem with the parking space is still limited and looks bit messy. However, we were always able to park the car there.

Room in August is booked already for a quiet celebration of my birthday with the family. We recommend this hotel to singles, couples never mind what age.

Room Tip: Room 102 or at least lake view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My family have stayed here several times but this was my first visit to Beau Rivage and it is certainly "beau". The location is impeccable right on the lake side with phenomenal mountain views. The staff are very friendly and the hotel manager is a true hospitality professional. The hotel rooms have recently been updated with excellent bathrooms and all the modern tweaks that one now expects. Rooms on the first floor (2nd level for my USA compatriots) enjoy a private garden terrace. The hotel has a lake side pool and a "spa". The breakfast buffet offers an excellent choice and is as good as any five star London hotel. Dining in the restaurant is equally pleasurable and the cuisine has a slight Italian touch. There is a terrace for outdoor dining and the interior dining room has a romantic atmosphere. The location of the hotel is also great for walking to the nearby boat station and band stand which offers free live music every day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SrqMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a charming, elegent, cosy hotel, beautifully location with lake views. handy to the boot/ferry terminal and with super leisure facilities (heated outdoor pool).
Excellent food, pleasant atmosphere (service) and we really enjoyed our two day stay here and would come back here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Lake view room - it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weggis hotels
0.0 mi away
SeeHotel Gotthard
SeeHotel Gotthard
#3 of 17 in Weggis
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#11 of 17 in Weggis
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#4 of 17 in Weggis
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 17 in Weggis
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campus Hotel Hertenstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau Rivage
Address: Gotthardstrasse 6, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Weggis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Weggis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Weggis
Beau Rivage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing