We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel with views to die for....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campus Hotel Hertenstein
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have just returned from a five night stay at this lovely hotel and were delighted to get one of the suites on the 5th floor. This rates along with the best places we have ever visited. Away from the crowds in Weggis, the Hertenstein stands in splendid seclusion at the end of the peninsula, smack next to the ferry terminal, which added a little excitement to the glorious views every half hour or so. The rooms are all well designed and immaculately maintained, all with southish facing Great Lake views. I suspect that you get a better aspect and less noise from the restaurant terrace the higher you get.
Staff are all helpful, professional and smiley - especially Laura, who gave us enthusiastic advice about where to go and had all the necessary tickets to hand. You definitely feel as though you are being well looked after and moving yourself away from the hotel, it's views, lake access and peace is a real struggle.
There was an eclectic mix of guests ( few fellow Brits ) from around Europe - and for 2 nights a convention from some Swiss company. Be aware that this has a very smart meeting, seminar block attached. Luckily, the convention goers were largely unobtrusive but it may be worth checking what is going on before you book.
Clearly, all this glorious beauty and luxury comes at a relatively high, but not unreasonable price, in the context of Switzerlands expensive standard of living. We had a few gripes and/or suggestions which would have made our stay even better.
1. Charging hefty rates for the well advertised kayak and pedallos was just greedy. Most hotels of this quality would include these things for free.
2. Breakfast on the terrace by the lake each morning was a real joy. The selection of food, however, was pretty standard and the same every day. We stayed at the Sofitel at Heathrow before flying to CH and their breakfast in terms of freshness and variety was far better for about the same price. Offer something different.
3. The bar is disappointing. Stuck at the end of reception, it was rarely staffed and rarely used by guests. Getting 2 glasses of wine to take to our rooms should have been much easier. I'd move it to encourage mor people to use it.
4. The restaurant seemed to be well used, but was expensive. There was nowhere that you could just get a sandwich or snack during the day, although the adjoining Cafe Vienna did some pastries and expensive main course meals.
5 rooms were well serviced. We had to ask for new soap a couple of times so attention to detail could be better.
These are all minor things and in no way detracted from our view that this was a top notch place to get away from it all, to soak in the scenery and to simply enjoy the lovely atmosphere of the place. We would go again and again.......

Room Tip: Go for the higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BillyboyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent service. We (myself, husband and my son) were there for about 5 nights in April 2014.
Thanks to all the hotel staff (Laura, Andy, Patrick, Michael and the girl (Russian origin) who served us breakfast (sorry we forgot her name)) who went all the way to make sure that our stay was the most memorable experience we ever had! They even went all the way to make us an elaborate room service breakfast because we had to catch the 7 am ferry to Lucern on one morning. On a Sunday morning, they took the trouble to arrange a chauffeur with a limo to make sure we get to our destination on time, as there was no early ferry.

The views from the hotel was magnificent and breathtaking. The suite on the top floor was simply the best, with the right ambience if you are looking for a perfect honeymoon experience! Yes, it's that awesome! That's what we love best about this hotel - the suite, the views and the excellent service by the friendly staff! We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: we recommend the top floor honeymoon suite (508).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherKSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leguggi, Manager at Campus Hotel Hertenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Esther

Thank you for your kind message and the funtastic feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests!

We are looking forward to welcome you again on campus Hotel Hertenstein.

Yours sincerely

Lars Güggi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is one hotel where I can safely say the photos do not do this hotel justice. Recently renovated and still smells new. Staff are very welcoming. Even the cleaners greet you in the morning. The rooms with a view are amazing. The location is tranquil and secluded and could easily sit and watch the steam boats go by all day. Great mid holiday layover for a few days on a hectic 4 week Europe holiday. A car is recommended if you stay here and intend on seeing places off the lake although the steam boats arrive regularly right on the hotels doorstep to take you around to the other towns on the lake. Bike hire is not far away either if you are inclined. No visible crime here. Few people lock their bikes up here, leave their car windows down and no graffiti. Can't fault this hotel other than to say two pillows would be nice as I got a bit of a sore neck watching the GIANT TV.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
event2, Geschäftsführer at Campus Hotel Hertenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Ro B

Thank you for your message and feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the peninsula.
We will gladly consider your proposal on the pillows and discuss it internally.

In anticipation for your next visit.

Your sincerely

Lars Güggi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Recently refurbished, this hotel is by far the best I have stayed in during my European travels. Heated towel racks, modern facilities, free wi-fi, automated bathroom lighting, plush balcony, complimentary bar fridge, great food and multi-lingual staff are but a few of the many features that separate this hotel/resort from the rest.

There is a ferry stop outside the resort if you need to get to one of the nearest towns, but many will choose to stay on-site and relax on the shores of Lake Lucern and watch the world go by. The scenery is world class. It's easy to forget the outside world here and I would reccommend this place to honeymooners or couples that need some pampering away from the usual destinations.

Hertenstein is not a place for travellers on a tight budget, but the experience here cannot be understated. If I ever visited Switzerland again I would definitely try stay here again. Simply bliss! Thanks to the staff here for making me feel so welcome.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
event2, Geschäftsführer at Campus Hotel Hertenstein, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Warren C

Thank you for your message and the great feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the peninsula and have felt like at home.

We are looking forward to welcome you again on campus Hotel Hertenstein.

Yours sincerely

Lars Güggi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oliever H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank evbaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Path F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weggis
0.9 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
612 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
527 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#7 of 16 in Weggis
183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Central am See
Hotel Central am See
#10 of 16 in Weggis
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campus Hotel Hertenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Hotel Hertenstein

Address: Hertensteinstrasse 156, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Price Range: £175 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When the past meets the presentBuilt 150 years ago on the idyllic Hertenstein Peninsula in Weggis, the guest house Hertenstein welcomed prominent guests right from the start.Amongst these guests were the English Queen Victoria, the Bavarian King Ludwig II, as well as the American writer Mark Twain, who called the peninsula the most beautiful place on earth.The past 150 years may have seen many changes to the hotel itself, but the view and the feeling of being at home still remain.Come in, sit back, enjoy the views and soak up the unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Campus Hotel Hertenstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing