We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gasthaus Alpenrose
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Landgasthaus Neues Bild(Appenzell)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adler(Appenzell)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belvedere(Weissbad)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stossplatz Hotel(Appenzell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
12
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationminutes past the hourpost buscroissantstrain servicecontinental stylenight's sleepfruit juiceen suite facilitiesshared bathroom toiletspoke excellent englishcold meatsopened the windowcable carquiet locationcow bellsone night
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I didn't actually stay in the Alpenrose,however I did visit it regularly and found the family run hotel was very friendly and most hospitable. Real character to the place and I would reccommend it to anyone. I will be back hopefully in 2011.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotrednose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

After a merry mixup with booking our holiday (my fault entirely) we were left without a place to stay on a Saturday night in June!
This place had a room (we needed a triple) and booked on the spot!
Beautiful views, cows with cowbells on, train nearby, hiking galore (we didn't have enough time for that, just a lovely stroll), a great place to watch the paragliders from our balcony. Our 3 year old was delighted!
More time is needed for the Appenzeller region, it is breathtaking!and well worth any effort to get there!
Breakfast was nice, it was amazing to see people of all shapes and sizes going into the mountains for a Sunday morning hike. Families, young and old, could do with seeing more of that in the UK (and US!)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarsandStripes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed overnight at the Gausthaus Alpenrose, arriving late in the evening. The owners were lovely and even made me a delicious cup of coffee laced with Bailey's. Much needed after a long drive through the Black Forest from Baden Baden (with a few stops for sightseeing on the way). Our rooms were very clean with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. We had a balcony and sat outside in the dark listening to the noises coming from the woods. A stream ran outside but it was too dark to see it. There is a popular hiking take-off spot right next to the hotel. In the morning we had a great breakfast in a cozy nook of the restaurant. Check out the Swiss paintings on the wall. Afterwards we took our coffee outside and sat under the trees. From there we watched the lift nearby taking people up the Ebenalp and on the other side of us, the hikers disappearing into the woods. A delightful experience. Follow it up with a trip to Appenzell for a picture perfect visit exuding all things Swiss.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dlmcbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews