We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Gasthaus in Quiet Location”
Review of Gasthaus Alpenrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthaus Alpenrose
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Weissbad
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Gasthaus Alpenrose is a few minutes walk from Wasserauen railway station where trains leave for Appenzell and Gossau at 18 and 48 minutes past the hour. There are also connections at Appenzell for St. Gallen. The Journey time from Zurich HB is just over two hours.
The staff at the Alpenrose were particularly friendly, helpful, spoke excellent English and were keen to ensure that I had an enjoyable stay. If you stay for three nights or more you are given an Appenzeller Guest Card and this entitles you to free 2nd class travel on the trains and buses as far as Gossau and St. Gallen. Also it provides two free trips on each of the three local cable cars, free entry to local museums and discounts at other attractions and services. I was given a full English translation of the text by staff. This is a major bonus and far more generous than many other Swiss destination guest cards and would easily save you over CHF100 if you made full use of it. Sadly, I wasn't there long enough to appreciate all the benefits. There is also an information area in the hotel with booklets on many local attractions.
My room at the Alpenrose was quite spacious, clean, had a comfortable bed, wash basin and a nice view across to the Alpstein range. The location was very quiet, but if you opened the window you could hear the gurgle of the river and the distant tinkling of cow bells. There was no TV to remind you of the dystopian state of the world, but there was free Wi-Fi internet access available. The room had a large, clean, shared bathroom/toilet located next door and this created no problems during my stay.
Breakfast at Alpenrose was continental in style with fruit juice, cereals, fruit, ham, cheese, Yoghurt, bread and croissants. Hot coffee or tea was served at your table by the staff.
Now if you are keen on hiking, then the Alpenrose is an ideal location to sample the many local hiking trails that start from just outside the Gasthaus. A must do is the road up to Seealpsee, although the return journey is a little tough on the knees. The Ebenalp cable car is situated across the road from Wasserauen railway station and will transport you to further hiking options and provides excellent views over the area as far as Lake Konstanz. Appenzell is also worth a visit to see the richly painted houses along the main street and it takes about 13 minutes on the train from Wasserauen. After 19.00, the train service is replaced by local bus which departs outside the stations at Appenzell and Wasserauen.
The Alpenrose offers reasonably priced evening meals served from 17.00 - 20.00 and there's a menu card in English. Portions are generous and there is a fair range of alternative dishes. If you are keen on fruit and ice cream I would certainly recommend the 'Alpenrose' dessert.
Thank you Gasthaus Alpenrose for a wonderful stay, I will have to return again to sample further delights of your region.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

After a very cold and rainy hike in the mountains we got a very warm welcome and got taken care of in the best possible way. The room was cosy and nice, but do not expect a modern hotel. The only real downside was the shared bathroom, which was super cold!
The breakfast was great, lots of choices and beautifully laid out. The fact that we basically were the only guests there made us feel even more welcome! Also, the french fries are a must to try!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I didn't actually stay in the Alpenrose,however I did visit it regularly and found the family run hotel was very friendly and most hospitable. Real character to the place and I would reccommend it to anyone. I will be back hopefully in 2011.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotrednose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

After a merry mixup with booking our holiday (my fault entirely) we were left without a place to stay on a Saturday night in June!
This place had a room (we needed a triple) and booked on the spot!
Beautiful views, cows with cowbells on, train nearby, hiking galore (we didn't have enough time for that, just a lovely stroll), a great place to watch the paragliders from our balcony. Our 3 year old was delighted!
More time is needed for the Appenzeller region, it is breathtaking!and well worth any effort to get there!
Breakfast was nice, it was amazing to see people of all shapes and sizes going into the mountains for a Sunday morning hike. Families, young and old, could do with seeing more of that in the UK (and US!)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarsandStripes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed overnight at the Gausthaus Alpenrose, arriving late in the evening. The owners were lovely and even made me a delicious cup of coffee laced with Bailey's. Much needed after a long drive through the Black Forest from Baden Baden (with a few stops for sightseeing on the way). Our rooms were very clean with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. We had a balcony and sat outside in the dark listening to the noises coming from the woods. A stream ran outside but it was too dark to see it. There is a popular hiking take-off spot right next to the hotel. In the morning we had a great breakfast in a cozy nook of the restaurant. Check out the Swiss paintings on the wall. Afterwards we took our coffee outside and sat under the trees. From there we watched the lift nearby taking people up the Ebenalp and on the other side of us, the hikers disappearing into the woods. A delightful experience. Follow it up with a trip to Appenzell for a picture perfect visit exuding all things Swiss.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dlmcbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gadulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank subzero1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weissbad hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hof Weissbad
Hotel Hof Weissbad
#1 of 7 in Weissbad
202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Frohe Aussicht
Hotel Frohe Aussicht
#2 of 7 in Weissbad
50 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 7 in Weissbad
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waldgasthaus Lehmen
Waldgasthaus Lehmen
#2 of 5 in Weissbad
18 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gasthaus Alpenblick
Gasthaus Alpenblick
#3 of 7 in Weissbad
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Alpenrose

Address: Wasserauen, Weissbad 9057, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Weissbad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Weissbad
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gasthaus Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Alpenrose Weissbad, Switzerland - Canton Of Appenzell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing