We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising at its finest!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were incredibly disappointed with this hotel, which we intended to enjoy as a weekend romantic getaway. Some of the "why":

1) The "Central Thermal" spa which, judging from the pictures on the website, appeared to be quite lovely. However, we quickly realized we had been misled. The facility resembled a poorly maintained community pool, with screaming kids running around, old and worn tiles, crowded facilities, lousy view of cement buildings and overall a most UNrelaxing atmosphere. Beware that it looks NOTHING like the pictures, and is incomparable to any of the wonderful spas in the Zurich area. It functions simultaneously as a Spa for the community and the hotel guests. Yikes.

2) The room decor, which seemed outdated and just plain ugly. Utterly unromantic.

3) The layout of the hotel - we had to traverse a strange and long corridor, with strong sulphuric odors, to reach the Central Thermal, which continued to disappoint with its YMCA-like atmosphere.
The hotel itself was not much of a feast for the eyes. The pictures on the website are simply not an accurate reflection of this very commonplace establishment.

4) The Bed - it seemed to cave in in the middle, and lack support in a most incommodious way. I wouldn't not have slept there if you paid me.

Also on our mind:
-We left before dining in the restaurant, but I can imagine the cooking would not have been very inspired.

-We bought our getaway package on Deindeal.ch, which had listed the original price as something upwards of 600 francs a night for our package deal, which included breakfast and dinner. Even with our near 50% discount, this hotel wholeheartedly disappointed us and was not at all the experience we had expected.

****Please beware if you choose this hotel as a getaway, that you might as well spend the day at a spa nearby and sleep at home - there are far better way to indulge...and in fact, this was the least indulgent establishment i have ever visited in my life.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. The Centre Thermal is not a private Spa but a thermal complex open to public and a very important attraction for Yverdon-les-Bains and its citizen including families with children.
We are continuously improving the comfort of our rooms and for this year we shall continue. As per your last point in regards to the food, we wish you have had stayed and tried as we strongly believe that you would had have been nicely surprised by the culinary art of our Chef and his team.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal- Yverdon-les-Bains

Guy Lindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

already when entering the hotel, the history of it is coming towards you. the beautiful reception area, where friendly and competent staff helps you to check in. the restaurant should have more stars, what a delight to wine and dine here. the rooms are spacious and very clean. great spa accommodations.

thanks for all the great nights!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LqF00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGHB, Directeur général at Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, I remain at your disposal

Yours Sincerely

Guy Lindt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here with my mother for a weekend and was positively surprised considering some of the negative comments from other contributors.

The hotel main building is beautiful and well maintained. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of a corridor in the newer extension. The corridor feels a bit institutional in style but the room itself was typical 4* hotel: 2 beds, wardrobe, small seating area, tv, ensuite bathroom, etc. It was all in very good condition, clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower was super, powerful and hot!

Breakfast is a generous buffet of cold things, fruit, muesli, meats, cheeses, conserves and lovely fresh bread, or you can order cooked.

We ate in the restaurant our last night and it was excellent. Four courses for fixed price of CHF 75 sounds expensive but it is really worth it. We couldn't manage the full menu but thoroughly enjoyed our chestnut and maple soup (Mum) and pumpkin soup (me), followed by medallions of wild boar with spätzli, savoy cabbage and pumpkin mash. The coffee came with chocolates and the bill came with superb creme brulee and truffles! Wow!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights and was satisfied by the service and friendliness of staff. Thermal baths are great as well. However signs in French only but staff always eager to help. Food quality was great. Some colleagues found rooms too warm without air conditioning.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Wajjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I booked the dine and sleep experience , which includes a 4 course dinner in the outstanding restaurant. Staff is very friendly and competent. Nice location and direct underground access to Spa and thermal bath.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

4 stars hotel in a beautiful building.
It is quite expensive but offer good Rooms with tv and internet (you have to pay for internet and this is not accettable).
Breakfast is very good, bath are connect with hotel, towels are Always available, Rooms clean and big.
Staff is pleasant but not Always really prepared ( we have received 2 different prices).
Good experience even if They should update some details (internet free).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottantagiorni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Spent 2 nights here and found it excellent in every regard, despite my not being easy to impress as a rule! Staff all very helpful and very friendly, but also in the adjoining thermal baths and in town. Food was just right in quantity, choice and quality and we would go again. Quiet bedroom, good room service and pillow choice, collection service, prosecco, spa essentials all provided, gift from kitchen on departure. Nothing to complain about at all!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unimpressed749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yverdon-les-Bains
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#1 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Source
Hotel de la Source
#3 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hotel de la Prairie
L'Hotel de la Prairie
#5 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Lac Grandson
Hotel du Lac Grandson
#1 of 1 in Grandson
5 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Grand Hotel des Rasses
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
191 reviews
20.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal

Address: Avenue des Bains, 22, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Des Bains)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Yverdon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Yverdon-les-Bains
Price Range: £132 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and calm, the Grand Hotel & Thermal Center will allow you a break for full recharge. Directly linked to Thermal Center, this peaceful place offers quality services. Ideal for alone travellers, couples or family as well as for your business trip to Yverdon-les-Bains. We will treat you to make your stay magic and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Yverdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing