It was a long week end stay and a very pleasant one. Great room with view over the Bains and the mountain. The staff was very helpful and the requests for special dietary at breakfast were completely respected.More
It was a long week end stay and a very pleasant one. Great room with view over the Bains and the mountain. The staff was very helpful and the requests for special dietary at breakfast were completely respected.MoreShow less
Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes heureux de lire que votre séjour s'est très bien passé. C'est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons à nouveau lors de votre prochain passage au Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal d'Yverdon-les-Bains.
We were incredibly disappointed with this hotel, which we intended to enjoy as a weekend romantic getaway. Some of the "why":
1) The "Central Thermal" spa which, judging from the pictures on the website, appeared to be quite lovely. However, we quickly realized we had been misled. The facility resembled a poorly maintained community pool, with screaming kids running around, old and worn tiles, crowded facilities, lousy view of cement buildings and overall a most UNrelaxing atmosphere. Beware that it looks NOTHING like the pictures, and is incomparable to any of the wonderful spas in the Zurich area. It functions simultaneously as a Spa for the community and the hotel guests. Yikes.
2) The room decor, which seemed outdated and just plain ugly. Utterly unromantic.
3) The layout of the hotel - we had to traverse a strange and long corridor, with strong sulphuric odors, to reach the Central Thermal, which continued to disappoint with its YMCA-like atmosphere.
The hotel itself was not much of a feast for the eyes. The pictures on the website are simply not an accurate reflection of this very commonplace establishment.
4) The Bed - it seemed to cave in in the middle, and lack support in a most incommodious way. I wouldn't not have slept there if you paid me.
Also on our mind:
-We left before dining in the restaurant, but I can imagine the cooking would not have been very inspired.
-We bought our getaway package on Deindeal.ch, which had listed the original price as something upwards of 600 francs a night for our package deal, which included breakfast and dinner. Even with our near 50% discount, this hotel wholeheartedly disappointed us and was not at all the experience we had expected.
****Please beware if you choose this hotel as a getaway, that you might as well spend the day at a spa nearby and sleep at home - there are far better way to indulge...and in fact, this was the least indulgent establishment i have ever visited in my life.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment. The Centre Thermal is not a private Spa but a thermal complex open to public and a very important attraction for Yverdon-les-Bains and its citizen including families with children.
We are continuously improving the comfort of our rooms and for this year we shall continue. As per your last point in regards to the food, we wish you have had stayed and tried as we strongly believe that you would had have been nicely surprised by the culinary art of our Chef and his team.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal- Yverdon-les-Bains
already when entering the hotel, the history of it is coming towards you. the beautiful reception area, where friendly and competent staff helps you to check in. the restaurant should have more stars, what a delight to wine and dine here. the rooms are spacious and very clean. great spa accommodations.
thanks for all the great nights!
We would like to thank you for your nice comment and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Des Bains & Centre Thermal.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, I remain at your disposal
Stayed here with my mother for a weekend and was positively surprised considering some of the negative comments from other contributors.
The hotel main building is beautiful and well maintained. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of a corridor in the newer extension. The corridor feels a bit institutional in style but the room itself was typical 4* hotel: 2 beds, wardrobe, small seating area, tv, ensuite bathroom, etc. It was all in very good condition, clean, comfortable and quiet. The shower was super, powerful and hot!
Breakfast is a generous buffet of cold things, fruit, muesli, meats, cheeses, conserves and lovely fresh bread, or you can order cooked.
We ate in the restaurant our last night and it was excellent. Four courses for fixed price of CHF 75 sounds expensive but it is really worth it. We couldn't manage the full menu but thoroughly enjoyed our chestnut and maple soup (Mum) and pumpkin soup (me), followed by medallions of wild boar with spätzli, savoy cabbage and pumpkin mash. The coffee came with chocolates and the bill came with superb creme brulee and truffles! Wow!
Spent 3 nights and was satisfied by the service and friendliness of staff. Thermal baths are great as well. However signs in French only but staff always eager to help. Food quality was great. Some colleagues found rooms too warm without air conditioning.
I booked the dine and sleep experience , which includes a 4 course dinner in the outstanding restaurant. Staff is very friendly and competent. Nice location and direct underground access to Spa and thermal bath.