We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange Hotel.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel de la Prairie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Hotel de la Prairie
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Strange Hotel.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here for 5 days whilst on a work trip, arrived in the early hours and check in was quick and easy, hotel foyer and corridors were clean and welcoming.
Got to room and thought I had gone back in time but it was clean so not too concerned.

It was only the next day when I met colleagues it was clear that there was no real consistancy with the facilities. Eg: some had robes/slippers, curtains, proper duvet, safe, balcony etc.
Things like balcony, robes etc may be trivial but in 2013 I would expect a safe and definately proper bedding and curtains!!!!
No tea/coffee making facility either.

The breakfast was pleasant enough and the staff were friendly, prices very extreme in the bar/restaurant.

For us the best thing was the on site mini golf which is free for hotel guests and there is a tennis court but don't expect to play unless you take your own racket/ball!!!

It was an ok stay but the hotel needs to catch up with the times in terms of in room facilities and maybe decor.

Room Tip: Not 102 if you wan't to secure your valuables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAX1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    42
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
16
47
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Decadent and dusty atmosphere with plastic flowers in the french restaurant and high volume music from the radio ...
The rooms are really small with an old and dirty moquette and the tiny bathroom totally from the '80 taste. When I saw the rooms I couldn't believe this was a four stars hotel! The garden is nice and the food is ok. The wellness was pathetic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tullitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yverdon-les-Bains hotels

Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The pluses - Very good Bistro and separate French restaurant, the food is excellent in the bistro.

The Downs
First night and the first room.
TV not working - ok a small point.
When I went to get into the bed there was blood on the sheets, the hotel did then swap me to another room.

Second Room
Was ok but they really need to refurbish the rooms, very old radiators, old build in cupboards and the decor was hmmm maybe 1950's but not in a quaint way.

Hallway and stairway carpet has seen better days.

Room Tip: I am told by other colleagues who have stayed here that some of the rooms have been refurbished, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVBFFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Hotel is only 5 minute walk from the thermal baths. Very convenient. Our room on the 3rd floor was quite spacious and obviously recently renovated. Shower exceptionally spacious. Fancy light controls, but not necessarily practical. They have also a Jaccuzzi, Hammam and Sauna (all fairly new). "French" restaurant and Brasserie with same menu (for the time being). We had a 3 course menu of exceptional quality in a very nice, quiet atmosphere. Good wine list. Pleasant staff allround.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

What looks at first site a nice hotel (and it certainly has a good restaurant), as far as accomodation is concerned it is very disappointing. The rooms are quite small and the bathrooms likewise; to have a shower you have to stand outside the cubicle to soap yourself and it is virtually impossible to turn around inside the shower itself. The room was very hot and the bed-linnen seemed not to be cotton, thus making it even more uncomforable to sleep. There is no lounge area for relaxing or reading either. I would say it is in need of a major refurb....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hotel has been taken over by Guignard who usually does a great job, but still many details to be improved.
The bathrooms have been redone but not the rooms, which need it. The shutter did not close, so before going out for dinner we told reception to deal with it. We arrived back at 1am and nothing had been done - no word from reception, no suggestion to change room. That is not 4* at all.
Staff charming but really lacking experience.
On the right path, but still needs some work

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I reserved a non smoker room and very calm through a web site.

I called 2 days before to go to be sure that the reserved room is calm. I informed the receptionist that is very important as I will have exams the days after. The receptionist answer was " do not worry our hotel is next to the forest...." .

What I received: a smoker room and next to the ventilators...very old room, no shampoo, nothing that you expect from a 4 star hotel in a bathroom.

If you would like to go to SPA there is no robe bath and no slipper... is on demand.

When I mentioned to the receptionist the problems they answer " We did not know that you had request a non smokier room and calm" and all this said in a way, I would said to be polite, no customer orientated and no worry for the image and word of mouth best way for the advert...

No sorry, no a symbolic discount for the bill, not a word from the manager after I left the customer satisfaction form. And you pay foe all this service very expensive. At least the breakfast and the restaurant is very nice and makes you forget the rest.

Room Tip: Check that you receive what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yverdon-les-Bains
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#1 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
#2 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Source
Hotel de la Source
#3 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Grand Hotel des Rasses
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
15.7 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel de la Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel de la Prairie

Property: L'Hotel de la Prairie
Address: avenue des Bains 9, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Yverdon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Yverdon-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel de la Prairie 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Hotel de la Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing