We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Romanitk Seehotel this past March. Our guests had traveled from Canada and from other parts of Europe to stay there as well, and they all enjoyed it! The rooms were great, the food was fantastic, with some authentic dishes on the menu to tickle your fancy.The view of Lake Zurich was special. The staff and service was amazing, and really made our event an evening to remember. The small and intimate bar lounge was an ideal spot to unwind after gallivanting around downtown Zurich.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Many thanks for the great feedback. We do know that the wedding day is one of the most important days in a couple's life and therefore it is always our outmost goal to satisfy the whole party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Sonne is a charming hotel, well located near Zurich. We came for a bit of a weekend getaway but, having stayed in tiny, exorbitant, dated "5-star" hotel rooms in central Zurich, I would also recommend it for budget-conscious travellers intending to explore Zurich as it is a 2-minute walk to the train station and then only 12 minutes to Zurich's main station. The airport is also easily accessible (about 30 minutes), and there are boats plying the lake that can take you to Zurich or other destinations.
It seems from other reviews that all rooms are not created equal, but we were happy in the courtyard rooms 138/139-- nonsmoking, spacious with comfortable seating area, good storage. The only downside was the lack of a view but we were prepared to sacrifice that.
Our only gripe regarding the hotel in general would be that the front desk staff were not all equally helpful/friendly (most were, but not all).

Room Tip: 138/139 in the annexe building don't have a view but are modern, spacious and nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Many thanks for your very positive comments. In fact all our 40 rooms are different and it make most of our returning guest curious to explore all of them. The categorie lake, lake deluxe and
the juniors suites have an amazing view of Lake Zurich.
We do apologize for the front desk employee who was not very service minded to you....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I often go to Zurich and it happened to me to enjoy lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant, which has a very good offer.
I stayed there for the weekend and I found the accomodation very nice and clean. The room dimension is large enough for bed + sofa + desk and I found the staff very kind and gentle.
They welcomed us with a glass of wine and left a bottle of water in our car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Valeria
Thank you for your positive review. We are looking forward to welcoming back soon.
Summertime at the lake Zurich is so wonderful....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

A wonderful hotel, in prime location - close to the train station, right on the lake, with its own garden and lake access / small beach, and an ice skating rink in the winter, which becomes an outdoor restaurant in the summer. If you plan to come to Küsnacht or just want to stay in an enjoyable place within EASY reach of Zürich's old town (15 min by train to Hauptbahnhof with trains every 15 min), Sonne is a place to be. And when all restaurants are closed on Sunday or holidays, the Sonne always has visitors and a lovely kitchen. The service is cordial, the feel of the place - warm and inviting, and the overall experience quite relaxing. The rooms are nicely appointed, and not as tiny as some Zürich hotels can be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarfishJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you very much for your postive feedback. Hopefully many readers decide to stay with us - you won't be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

One of the best locations (if not the best) on the Zurich Lake, at short distance to Zurich by car or even by train ( train station 200 meters away).

Rooms are cosy, impeccably clean as well as the bathrooms, but they are small and noisy on the street side.
On the lake side, especially in the nearby building across the courtyard , the rooms are lovely with a great view on the lake and quiet,but expensive.

The "Burstube" is ' gemütlich ' , the cuisine correct but without imagination, and the other stuben ( Küsnachterstube and Gaststube ) are less appealing with too bright a ligntning.
The wine list in all restaurants is limited and expensive.

The breakfast in the Sonnengalerie is perfect, service good and attentive.

Last but not least a dinner on the terrace during warm nights is an wonderul experience.

Do go !

Room Tip: Book well in advance, hotel always full !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Bruce

many thanks for your very nice comment about the Romantik Seehotel Sonne.
In our Buurestube we serve Swiss cuisine which consist of traditional Swiss dishes.
Guests who are up to more modern cuisine are welcome in our Sonnengalerie where we service traditonal dishes as well as modern cuisine. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards Catherine Julen Grüter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our room was small, but beautifully laid out, and the bed was very comfortable. Service was impeccable: available and efficient but never pushy. I loved the small, sophisticated cocktail lounge, and salute the barman for his topnotch dry martinis. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgoldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We opted for the expense of a lake view room, which had obviously been recently painted. The room was nice, but very tight for our family of four, and the smell from the paint was strong. The skating rink had limited hours, so we were unable to enjoy that. The breakfast was decent. Overall it just was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losvegas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry, that you could still smell the new painting in the room and we do apologize for this inconvenience. Our rates are very competitive with similar hotels in the city (small first class hotels) and the breakfast buffet is always included. Our double rooms facing the lake have a nice size 25 to 35 m2. (of course with two children it is not spacious) and we charge CHF 30 per child until 3 to 12 and CHF 60 over 12 years (also with breakfast included). The ice skating rink will be open again next winter. Usual opening hours are: Thuesday to Friday from 2pm until 8pm and on Weekends from 1pm unil 9pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kusnacht
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#7 of 138 in Zurich
880 reviews
Hotel Belvoir Swiss Quality
#1 of 2 in Rueschlikon
308 reviews
Seefeld
LADYs FIRST Hotel
LADYs FIRST Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sedartis
#1 of 1 in Thalwil
226 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 138 in Zurich
423 reviews
Hotel UTO KULM
#97 of 138 in Zurich
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Seehotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Seehotel Sonne

Address: Seestrasse 120, Kusnacht 8700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kusnacht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Price Range: £159 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Seehotel Sonne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is situated in a unique position directly on lake Zurich, just 12 minutes by car or public transportion from Zurich-city. Ideal starting point for exploring the cities Zurich and Rapperswil. With the car: Zurich-City, follow the signs direction lake (See), Meilen, Rapperswil. Kusnacht is located on the right side of Lake Zurich. With the train: direct train connection from Zurich-airport with the train S16 within 30 minutes, from Zurich City (main train station HB or Stadelhofen) with the train S6 or S16 within 12 minutes. You will find the hotel within 2 walking minutes from the station "Kusnacht ZH" in the direction of the lake. 40 stylish hotel rooms, most of them with a unique lake view. Wireless internet, hard wood floor, well-kept appliances matching the historic house. The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is equipped with 4 air-conitioned meeting- and banquette rooms and 40 stylish hotel rooms. Free wireless internet, free parking, welcome drink and free access to our elegant wellness- and fitness area. Private lawn by the lake with access for swimming in lake Zurich. Our well-balanced breakfast buffet is included. Stylish wellness and fitness area in the hotel. Private lawn for sunbathing and direct acces to the lake for swimming. Restaurant Sonnengalerie: Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. Very popular terrasse in the summer with view to the lake, modern dishes and traditional swiss specialties. Gaststuben: popular restaurant for straightforward kitchen in historic rooms, many traditional dishes, warm kitchen all day. During the summer, when the weather is good, the restaurant stays closed. Beer garden : the most beautiful beer garden on lake Zurich with a large grill station, thai-wok, salad buffet, cozy athmosphere on warm evenings. Kusnacht meets here. During summer from March until October open daily when the weather is good and temperatures reach a minimum of 15 degrees. Turmbar: elegant bar in the oldest part of the hotel. Meeting place for locals and hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantik Seehotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Hotel
Seehotel Sonne küsnacht
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Kusnacht, Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing