We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very nice hotel with a wonderful location on the shore of Zurich See, only a short drive to Central Zurich. Friendly staff. Spent 4 days in a nice room with panoramic views of the lake. You can also enjoy the sunset from their excellent "Sonnengalerie" restaurant. There is a nice forest area just a few minutes walk through the village. Very good uphill exercise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clausglogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    92
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
130
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the lake view and the attentive service. Spacious room was rather hot at first
but with open windows the breeze from the lake was lovely. We had the special gourmet dinner one night which was a special experience. Easy walk from the station and the porter helped us with the baggage when we had to leave on a rainy morning. The level of service was exceptional making us feel very relaxed.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are lovely. No airconditioning but big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here September 2013, its was hot , the place has good access to the lake for swimming. Good rooms and excellent breakfast, the no ac could be a issue i think in the middle of the summer but hey just hang out outside and go late to bed ! very friendly people working there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Many thanks for your nice review. Best regards to Alaska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel lives from its extraordinary location.
The rest is fine and as you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Rooms are ok (no aircondition), bathrooms a bit old fashioned. The service is very good, people very friendly and the little garden/beach beautiful. All in all I find Sonne a good hotel, great price/value and definitely a great place to stay during the summer months. It feels a bit like vacation...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Was in Zurich for business and was recommended this hotel. Incredible location on the lake - you can get up in the morning and go for a wonderfully refreshing swim in the crystal clear water. The rooms were comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer. The little cafe along the waterfront was a nice place to enjoy a drink and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance.

The only complaint would be the lack of air conditioning - though not a surprise, it was unseasonably warm during our stay and leaving the window open at night did little to cool it off and merely attracted to many unwanted bugs.

All that being said, I would definitely return - incredible value for the money as well!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Lovely place for Sunday brunch by the lake. Within walking distance of Bahnhof Küsnacht, or you could even take the boat here in the summer. There is an informal outdoor grill section, but we ate at the terrace of the restaurant. Fabulous food and friendly service.

I started with the light summer cocktail with avocado cream, carrot mousse, marinated tuna tartar in crispy sesame basket with spicy mango infusion. It was beautifully presented and fun to eat. You squeeze the mango infusion out of a little tube onto the dish.

Then I had the seasonal mixed salad plate with sautéed, warm giant prawns. Really yummy and juicy.

They offered a Swiss specialty for dessert called Griessköpfli (semolina pudding). Since I'm always up for trying new things, I ordered it. It was kind of like a heavy pudding, and I was stuffed, so I wasn't overly excited by it. But I wanted to try something traditional, so I'm glad I got to try it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Lin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A small cozy hotel just right beside the lake. Wonderful view from a room and great service minded personnel, not so far from city centre. Much better than a lot of hotels in city where you don't get any value for the amount that you have payed for!
Really appreciated a lot!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kusnacht
Hotel Belvoir Swiss Quality
#1 of 2 in Rueschlikon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#4 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Seehotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Seehotel Sonne

Property: Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Address: Seestrasse 120, Kusnacht 8700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kusnacht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Seehotel Sonne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is situated in a unique position directly on lake Zurich, just 12 minutes by car or public transportion from Zurich-city. Ideal starting point for exploring the cities Zurich and Rapperswil. With the car: Zurich-City, follow the signs direction lake (See), Meilen, Rapperswil. Kusnacht is located on the right side of Lake Zurich. With the train: direct train connection from Zurich-airport with the train S16 within 30 minutes, from Zurich City (main train station HB or Stadelhofen) with the train S6 or S16 within 12 minutes. You will find the hotel within 2 walking minutes from the station "Kusnacht ZH" in the direction of the lake. 40 stylish hotel rooms, most of them with a unique lake view. Wireless internet, hard wood floor, well-kept appliances matching the historic house. The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is equipped with 4 air-conitioned meeting- and banquette rooms and 40 stylish hotel rooms. Free wireless internet, free parking, welcome drink and free access to our elegant wellness- and fitness area. Private lawn by the lake with access for swimming in lake Zurich. Our well-balanced breakfast buffet is included. Stylish wellness and fitness area in the hotel. Private lawn for sunbathing and direct acces to the lake for swimming. Restaurant Sonnengalerie: Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. Very popular terrasse in the summer with view to the lake, modern dishes and traditional swiss specialties. Gaststuben: popular restaurant for straightforward kitchen in historic rooms, many traditional dishes, warm kitchen all day. During the summer, when the weather is good, the restaurant stays closed. Beer garden : the most beautiful beer garden on lake Zurich with a large grill station, thai-wok, salad buffet, cozy athmosphere on warm evenings. Kusnacht meets here. During summer from March until October open daily when the weather is good and temperatures reach a minimum of 15 degrees. Turmbar: elegant bar in the oldest part of the hotel. Meeting place for locals and hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Romantik Seehotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Hotel
Seehotel Sonne küsnacht
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Kusnacht, Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing