We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, improvements possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights after our wedding, as we did not want to go directly back home.

We had asked for a early check-in, which was confirmed from the hotel staff as they knew my husband would come to get ready at the hotel. When he arrived the room was not ready and he was told to wait until official check-in time. He had to insist on this issue, as otherwise he would not have enough time to get ready until the ceremony.

As they knew that is it our wedding night, I would have expect to have some surprise in the room, nothing big.. but there was nothing! A bit disappointing.

The room itself was newly renovated and quite big. We like the style of modern rooms and we liked to stay in the room. For some people the design could be too cold. Bathroom does not give that much privacy. Milk glass and sliding door. What I really do hate is a shower curtain is this kind of hotels, it really does not fit into the ambiance.
Most important thing is, that the room was really clean.

The staff is friendly but sometimes you have to look for them, as they are not that attentive. The morning after the wedding the cleaning lady knocked on the door the clean up our room, when we told her that we want to sleep she did not understand us, as she was barely speaking german and she came back half an hour later. We had to inform the reception that we do not wish our room to be made, as we want to sleep. Later the afternoon when we passed by the reception we were asked, if we are interested in making up the room, which was quite nice. We did not expect that.

Breakfast is quite basic but enough. Some might expect more for the price, but Switzerland is expensive and the basic breakfast had good quality.

Spa facilities are small, but you can still enjoy a quite afternoon and relax.

Location is in the thermal area of Baden. Please note, that this area is not in the center and you have to walk a bit. Mostly car parks are not nearby as it is in the old part of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We value your constructive feedback and have communicated it to the affected teams with an aim to ensure that similar unpleasantries do not reoccur. Our policy is to surprise newlyweds with a special token wishing them well. Unfortunately on this particular occasion, we did not deliver and we apologies for the disappointment caused. "Do not disturb" door hangers are available in our hotel rooms and when not utilized the Housekeeping Team will attempt to enter the room to conduct the routine clean. In addition, we wish to clarify, that parking is available 100m from our establishment and the city center is a 7-10 minute walk along the Limmat promenade via the Limmat Lift. Our new website aims to clarify these points to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to our establishment soon and wish you well.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Walking into the old building, I did not expect much except some old-world charm.
However, the new rooms were pretty spectacular, even by Swiss new builds. Generously sized, expensively & stylishly furnished, hardwood floor, big balcony, view...
The old building has a 19th century or older ballroom upstairs, and the whole part of town surrounding the Roman springs is that rarest of things i Switzerland: unrenovated baroque splendour, a little decaying, but very atmospheric.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building across the Limmat river all have balconies facing the river bend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

the public baths in Baden are closed, and it looks like they'll be closed for a while.

we happened upon this hotel, and decided to stay there for a night, while visiting Baden. The price comes with entry to its private spa, which has a pool/Jacuzzi, ice room, steam room, sauna, and sitting rooms, including a small area outside, plus a range of massages/facials/etc. very nice facilities!

the hotel is in two places, the older building where the spa is, and across the limmat river (via bridge), a short distance to a very beautiful, new, modern hotel facility. we stayed at the new facility across the river. the room was gorgeous, spacious, modern, clean, with a terrace, ... a lot more beautiful than most modern 3 star hotels. quite beautiful, great materials and function in the room, a "wow", actually! cable tv.

apart from free spa use, you get a discount on spa treatments if you stay at the hotel. I had a 'full body massage'. I had a pain in my back, and the massuse couldn't seem to deal with helping me, as she said 'but this is to be a full body massage'. ok, whatever, a waste of time and money, but the pool/jaccuzi was nice, the hotel room was QUITE nice, and the breakfast that came with it was good (despite grouchy woman who runs the restaurant; what's with the attitude???!!!).

I'd stay here again, and again, though. off season price was terrific if you go on booking.com. It's mostly quite a 'class act' at a darn good price for Switzerland, despite the couple mishaps we experienced at spa and restaurant. great room and very nice spa facilities.

Room Tip: take a room in the new, modern building, rather than in the older building (though I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourdoornthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We value your constructive feedback and have communicated it to the affected teams. The Customer is afterall King, and with that said, we look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I liked my stay at Limmathof Private Spa during my visit to Baden and found it to be the one of the best places to stay in Baden. The location is right opposite the river with all rooms facing the river. From your balcony, you can hear the sound of water. Novum Spa was under renovation at the time so I did not experience the fitness center and thermal water spa. The rooms were spacious and modern finish in an otherwise old town. However, the lack of air conditioner hurt. It was hot and I could not find any hotel in Baden area with Air Conditioner. A must during the summer months

Room Tip: All rooms have same view. However Private Spa rooms has modern finish and looks much better than Nov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManishAggrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. Regarding the lack of air-conditioning, we apologies for the inconvenience caused. Room fans are however available in our rooms for guest use during the summer months. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I have stayed in Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa during my visit to Baden and I found it to be one of the best place to stay. Staff is extremely good and kind of facilities available for guests are awesome.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Baden area.

Special thanks to Front Office Manager : Michèle Thürig for her assistance during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013
Google Translation

Lieber Gast

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung und Ihren Aufenthalt im Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa.
Ihre Zufriedenheit ehrt uns sehr und vielen Dank für Ihre tolles Feedback. Frau Thürig haben wir Ihren Dank gern weitergeleitet und es wurde mit grosser Begeisterung aufgenommen.
Wir hoffen, Sie in der Zukunft wieder im Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa willkommen zu heissen.

Es grüsst Sie herzlichst, das Limmathof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Business trip with a night in Baden and this was a nice change from the chain hotels common to European trips. Hotel is split between the Novum Spa on the main part of town and the Private spa on the other side of the river. The private spa is newly built and had nice large quiet rooms and is only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Baden. Prices are reasonable for switzerland and includes access to the health centre if you remember swimming trunks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. The reception was really friendly. The spa area was really good. Our room had view of the river which was great and the room was very clean.The breakfast was pretty standard but quite good. I would definately recommend it as it is also very close to the city centre.

Room Tip: Best to get a room with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoannisGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baden
Atrium Hotel Blume
#1 of 9 in Baden
198 reviews
Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 9 in Baden
254 reviews
Trafo Hotel
#4 of 9 in Baden
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seerose Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meisterschwanden
857 reviews
Blue City Hotel
#5 of 9 in Baden
84 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 137 in Zurich
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa

Address: Limmatpromenade 28, Baden 5400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Baden
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Baden
Price Range: £186 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Limmathof And Novum Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing