We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and designer rooms”
Review of Blue City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Baden
Reviewed 11 November 2012

In the centre of Baden right by the train station. My room faced on a busy street but was surprisingly quiet. The room was a good size and very clean. This is also true for the design. The hotel also includes a nice pub like bar and restaurant. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank SlyMos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Blue City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

It is a great hotel with great location. It offers the very basic necessity for a stay but does not have anything additional, such as refrigerator, iron board... It is a litty noisy if your room is facing the street. And there is no lunch on Sat. and dinner manu is not as attractive as lunch one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiang-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed at the Blue City hotel twice, and I must say, I was pleased on both occasions. The location cannot be beat. It is right next to the train station, less than 5mn walk from the center of the town, and, in my case, right next door to the office.

The decor is very modern, and in true European fashion, the rooms are not huge, but all necessary amenities are there, and despite the smaller size, the room was very comfortable on both stays.

The restaurant's selection was limited, I think, but offered enough variety to satisfy most needs. I had lunch and dinner there, and was pleased on both occasions. The breakfast is a buffet style, and offers a very nice selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, and cereal. A nice change from the typical breakfast buffets you find in most hotels.
There is a full bar that offers plenty of sitting to accommodate various sized parties.
The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful, no issues there. For English speakers only, no worries, the staff is perfectly able to communicate in English.
The access to the internet is probably my only negative. First off, it is not free, which still baffles me for a hotel that caters mainly to a business clientele, but again, it is something I have come to expect in Europe. Second, the quality of the access was less than adequate, at least while I was there.
While it was inconvenient at the time, I wouldn't say that it left me with a negative impression of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend the hotel to anyone coming to do business in Baden itself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefsprive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgit K, Leiter Front Office at Blue City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We appreciate that you chose the Blue City Hotel for your stay and will consider staying with us in the future.
Kindly be informed that the internet connection has been offered to our guests since the beginning of this year. We kindly ask you to double-check your invoice if the connection was mistakenly charged to your bill.
Furthermore, the connection was updated to a higher standard. Therefore, it is surprising that you still faced difficulties in connecting to the internet. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience.
We are looking forward in welcoming you in the near future.
Yours faithfully,
Raffaela Gantenbein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at the Blue City Hotel, it's located near the train station and a busy street but we didn't hear any noise (the room was at the third floor).
The staff was extremly helpful and the rooms were big, modern and very clean.
There were only two downsides: no fridge in the room (not really a big problem) and it's a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SitoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Rooms are sufficiently spaced, housekeeping is good, amenities in room lack a wardrobe, tea and coffee maker, restaurant is nice. Basically it meets minimum requirements of traveller sans tea and coffee maker.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Ultra clean, ultra Swiss, and so damn 'right.' I've stayed in many other hotels in Baden but this one really beats them all. Reception really helpful and super attractive. Bar & restaurant always busy. It's a business hotel, so probably families should avoid. Book early - it's always busy. Excellent breakfast, good coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brimpsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Great little hotel which is just by the train station (no noise, good windows) in the cente of Baden.

Check-in was easy and accompanied by a free welcome drink - the reception staff seem to work also as waiters for the reception area bar.

Room is a little stark - wood floor and stripped back decor. Shower (rain shower and a sep. handset) share a "privacy pod", with the sink in the main room. The arrangement works well and my room had plenty of space.

Reception shuts down around 11, the bar at 12. The restaurant food is good, and well priced. A lot better than many hotel offerings. (There are lots of places to eat in the town - just stroll through the rail station and you'll find the main hub)

No mini-bars in the rooms, but an honesty bar on the 2nd floor with beer, soft drinks and pringles.

More than happy with my stay and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AONE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baden hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 9 in Baden
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trafo Hotel
Trafo Hotel
#4 of 9 in Baden
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel Blume
Atrium Hotel Blume
#1 of 9 in Baden
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Linde
Hotel Linde
#6 of 9 in Baden
65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Landgasthaus zum Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue City Hotel

Address: Haselstrasse 17, Baden 5400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Baden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Baden
Price Range: £140 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baden's little gem is centrally located in walking distance to the train station and the city center with numerous shopping options and a beautiful footpath along the river Limmat. Adjacent to the hotel the new city district "Baden West" emerged various restaurants, a movie theater, a hamam and atelier. The hotel was build of natural materials and artistic sensitivity. The 25 rooms and 3 living suites are furnished with timeless elegance and the most modern comforts. The hotel-owned restaurant Lemon is famous for its exclusive burger creations and its uncomplicated cuisine. Hotel guests may use, at an additional charge, the wellness and SPA-area of the sister hotel "Limmathof". (located 10 minutes walking distance) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing