We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kastanienbaum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The view is stunning, food is more than excellent but disagreeable service. Nobody could speak any Swiss German (only German from Germany) and they looked bothered every time we asked for something. The only table decoration was a plastic rose in a glass... really disappointing knowing how renowned this place is in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214Swisstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Seehotel Kastanienbaum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is wonderful in all aspects, especially the location - it's on the lake and the view from the room was breathtaking... Very nice staff, great room and good breakfast. Easy access to the city of Luzern- the city buses stops in front of the hotel, you can keep the car on the parking of the hotel. I loved to go back again...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maya_BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just out of town with a 15 min scenic bus ride to Lucerne city centre this hotel has so much to offer. Reasonable rates for the well appointed room (good bathroom, excellent english speaking choices on TV)with spectacular view and really great breakfast which was included. We had a car so the free parking was appreciated. If you are driving it is easy to access as traffic is never too congested. The bus service to town is right outside the hotel and very regular. Getting back to the hotel by bus late at night is no problem. This is a well managed hotel with experienced, informed multi lingual staff. I would love to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room on the lake side.. It is so worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated a few miles past Lucerne. We had a delightful balcony overlooking the lake, which is of course framed by majestic mountains. The welcome we received was friendly and good advice was available on what to do locally, including the boats that take you to the mountain railway at Mount Pilatus or the trips into Lucerne. The Lucerne boat goes regularly (11:10, 12:40, 13:00, 14:10, 15:40 17:10 and 18:40) and cost 22 Swiss Francs.

There's parking in front of the hotel, and a short fairly steep surfaced road takes you down the side of the hotel to the jetty where boats arrive regularly to take you on trips around the lake.

The hotel has a small swimming pool, and access to a stony "beach" which permits you to walk straight into the lake to swim. In August it was certainly warm enough to walk straight in. There's also a small play frame for children.

Meals were fine but expensive, with set menus going as high as £50 and some man courses over £30. Switzerland continues to be pricey, in spite of attempts to devalue the Swiss Franc by pegging it to a lower value against the Euro. But the setting was great on an outdoor patio with a view over the lake, and the prices were very comparable with restaurants in Lucerne itself.

While the standard overall was high, as you'd expect from a hotel of its class and price, there were a few little bugbears - which most hotels tned to have to some degree. Why, for instance, do they impose a wifi charge when the cost for rooms is already fairly steep? We were a party of nine and paid the hotel a lot over the two days we were there, and they kindly waived the charge for wifi when we checked out, but I'd now expect such a service to be complimentary anyway.

The other was the shower head, which was fixed to a moving arm. There was nothing wrong with the shower, but the arm needed tightening and the shower head persistently dropped when the water was on. A small detail, but maintenance is important when you're charging fairly high prices. Expect to pay around 200 Swiss Francs per night for a superior room.

The staff were also completely overwhelmed at Breakfast on our second morning - there was virtually no food available for a time, though they corrected things after around 15 minutes.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were uniformly friendly, even giving us a leaving gift of chocolates. They did their best to make us comfortable and welcome. We'd stay here again and it's a sound choice if you're not bothered about being smack in the centre of Lucerne itself.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

It was difficult to choose a hotel in Lucerne. Since we had a rental car we could look a little further out. We chose the Seehotel Kastanienbaum and were very pleased. It is about a 10 minute drive from the city center on the Horw peninsula. The hotel is right on the lake and has its own ferry stop. The setting is beautiful. You are away from the noise of the city and the lake views are stunning. I do recommend paying a little more for a lake view room. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They graciously switched to English for us. Our room was a nice size and very clean. The bathroom was a little small but we had no problem with it and it was well appointed. The breakfast each morning was excellent. Lots of different breads and cereals. They made scrambled eggs for us as well. We ate breakfast out on the terrace which is a quite a setting being right on the lake. I have really no complaints with this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Also, the rate was quite competitive compared to other Lucerne hotels. The location was a plus for us because we had a car. Parking was easy and free. But if you didn't have a car you would need to use the bus or ferry to get into Lucerne. We never did that but it seems that it is fairly easy to do. Again we had a very positive experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth paying more to get a lake view room. We had a lake view with a balcony and it was de...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gzimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is probably the nicest view I have ever had in a hotel in my life. The view is absolutely breath taking.

The rooms are quite large for a European style setting. They had large flatscreen TVs, with lots of english programming.

The food was very good, there was a good variety, and everything was professionally prepared. I didn't have anything that I didn't like. After a few days, even the best food gets old, and you crave something different. It's a fair distance from the downtown core and all of the other restaurants. The cab was over 30.00CHF. The next time, I took the bus, and It's about 30 min, and they run every 15 min until about 10:00pm.

It's a small hotel, and the demographic was between 40 - 65 years old. There isn't too much for kids to do, so I wouldn't recommend this place if you have kids. They will get bored. If you are looking for a place to unplug, and relax, but not be too far from the action, this is a great place. Luzern is an amazing place, I would highly recommend going there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is great great lakeside hotel, we loved it. This is the best hotel my husband and I stayed in during our half month trip (with other 4) in Switzerland. It's in Kastanienbaum, Horw, not in downtown Luzern, but it's very easy to take bus 21 to get downtown or Luzern train station, just remember the last bus to get to hotel is at midnight, go to front desk, they are more than willing to give you the bus schedule they printed out, the employees at the front desk are very HELPFUL and patient. I would wish female employees in Hotel Auteuil of Geneva would be trained there.
The hotel is located in a gorgeous area of Lake Lucerne, the hotel swimming pool is meters away from Lake Lucerne. It's nice to visit there during summer time so that you could enjoy swimming in both pool and the beautiful lake.
Not only is outdoor breakfast area with fantastic view, but also the lounge area, they decorate the couches with red pillows, looks so cute.
Our room has gorgeous lake and mountain view with lovely balcony.
The only thing we don't like is they don't have coffee/tea maker, it's hard to believe such a GREAT hotel (somewhat pricy too) doesn't offer coffee maker, this is the only hotel we stayed in without coffee maker. Hopefully hotel will change that when we visit there next time.

Room Tip: We were in room 301, not only with lake and mountain view, but also with the view of cute houses aro...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuaiZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastanienbaum
3.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
516 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seehotel Pilatus
Seehotel Pilatus
#1 of 3 in Hergiswil
215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Seehotel Sternen Horw
2.7 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 67 in Lucerne
592 reviews
3.0 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Kastanienbaum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Kastanienbaum

Address: St. Niklausenstrasse 105, Kastanienbaum 6047, Switzerland (Formerly Kastanienbaum Swiss Quality Seehotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Kastanienbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kastanienbaum
Price Range: £119 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Kastanienbaum 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Seehotel Kastanienbaum, 15 minutes to Lucerne, beautifully situated on the Horwer peninsula. Relax, enjoy the panorama of the lake and the mountains and discover the numerous opportunities to explore our region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seehotel Kastanienbaum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing