We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Nearby Hotels
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Winkelried(Stansstad)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roessli(Stansstad)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seehotel Pilatus(Hergiswil)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burgenstock Hotel(Burgenstock)
US$901
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$902
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
61
57
20
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
57
20
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe buslake lucernebeautiful locationfree parkinga lake view roomminute drivegreat choicesmall balconywithin minutesresidential areaferry stopgood sizea great staymini fridgebuffet breakfasthotel is locateddirect access
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed there for a few days. the hotel suited us as there was included parking and breakfast, by the lake. we had a mountain view room, which was pleasant. the bus into town was very convenient, being right outside the hotel front door. saved trying to park in lucerne. the room had a mini bar , although it did not seem to get cold. the room was a good size and clean with a safe. there we no extra pillows and the 'usual' dooner on the bed (which can be problem, depending on the weather) the room did not have air con ( with very warm days) but the balcony allowed for relief. the staff were helpful (Barbara, in particular) and could speak english, which was very good for us.
overall we had a good stay, with beautiful views over the lake and staying in a quiet suburb.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoalbay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped over en route from UK to Italy. This charming hotel is right on the shores of Lake Lucerne, just a short drive off the main through route. Good parking within the hotel grounds, and a nice welcome from the reception staff. Situated in a lakeside residential area.

We were upgraded from a mountain view room to a lake view room (without even asking), which had stunning views. The rooms were clean and well furnished.

First thing we did was walk down to the lakeside gardens and terrace and have a quiet drink overlooking the lake - service was very friendly and helpful - great end to to a long drive!

Had dinner that night in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent. Fairly expensive, but that's Switzerland for you.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet, well prepared and presented.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lake view if you can get it - spectacular.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have booked an overnight stay at this hotel on Booking.com and travelled three hours to it on Saturday morning.
We have arrived together with our dog, which was accepted as per Booking.com.
At check in, the receptionist has suddenly announced that they will charge us 25CHF for our dog and said we are lucky they accept dogs altogether. We thought the amount was excessive as the dog wasn't going to sleep in the room, and asked to speak with the manager.
This man had a very bad attitude from the very first to second we met him.
He is definitely wrong for his job, with anger management issue, abusive, rude and arrogant.
We were as usual very polite and friendly, and explained about our dog not actually sleeping in the room, but in our large car. He said he has the solution: we don't have to stay at all. And the insult started. . Out of nowhere he became poisonous and so frighteningly angry -  he stormed of few times to contain his anger. Of course I protested against the way he was speaking down on us - especially in a so called Four star hotel! He said he "didn't want to talk to us anymore" and said he is cancelling the reservation and wants us to leave. So from a simple query to a full blown scene and us being literally kicked out, after we said let's forget it you don't see our point, we'll pay... Well, we are still speechless, we have never been treated like this before - especially as guests in an expensive hotel! This man is ruining the hotels reputation and got very close for me filling a proper complaint. Hopefully this review will too do its job and you will find a nicer place which isn't run by an angry maniac.

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are a family of 4 (2 kids aged 10 and 14) and this was our first stop on a 3 week vacation that included touring around Switzerland and Italy, then hopping on a Med cruise for 12 nights. The Kastanienbaum Seehotel was AMAZING. I can't give enough stars. It's located in the charming local town of Horw, about a 5 minute drive from Lucerne. Set right on the lake, the views from the back of the hotel are absolutely spectacular. The hotel restaurant food was very good (the homemade bread was melt in your mouth!), table service excellent, and during the warmer months a patio to enjoy your meal lakeside. The rooms were comfortable (including the beds!) and clean. The people on the front desk were friendly and very accommodating - we checked in early and even though are rooms weren't ready, they made the effort to have them ready within 45 minutes. We were exhausted after an overnight flight from Canada, so we greatly appreciated their extra effort.

As with most European hotels, the rooms are not big enough to hold an entire family. We reserved two rooms through Expedia and I called the hotel after booking to ensure the rooms were beside each other (note: there are no connecting rooms). We went in October, a little off season, and the price was very reasonable. October is actually a really good time of year to visit this area as the tourist crowds are not too big and the days are still warm (evenings are cooler).

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone! In fact, I hope to go back there again sometime in the future. Switzerland is one of the most beautiful, friendly countries I've ever visited.

Room Tip: All rooms on the back of the hotel have spectacular views of the lake and the towering snow-capped Alps surrounding it. Totally worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutsforsnorkelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our only disappointing experience during an almost perfect driving trip through Italy and Switzerland was staying at the Kastanienbaum Swiss Quality Seehotel. After a delightful dinner in their restaurant with a beautiful view of Lake Lucerne, we went to our rooms. Stepping out onto the small balcony, we found an unpleasant view of their parking lot. Knowing it could be noisy, we went to the reception desk to request different rooms. The parking lot was almost empty and the hotel appeared to have few guests .The young women there refused to allow us to pay for an upgrade to move to different rooms. She informed us that because we had paid in advance, our rooms could not be changed until the following morning when her manager was back. Since we only planned to stay two nights and knew we would be spending little time in the rooms, we did not want to waste time the following day moving. Even more disturbing than the unhelpful receptionist was finding scratchy, worn sheets. Ironically, I had told the friends traveling with us, who were visiting Switzerland for the first time, that they could look forward to the high quality of linens in any Swiss hotel. Fortunately, all of the other places we stayed did provide that standard. Early the next morning, delivery trucks in the parking lot did awaken us. The breakfast included with the rooms was excellent. I definitely would recommend the restaurant at the Kastanienbaum Seehotel, but NOT staying at the Kastanienbaum (not Swiss quality) Seehotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, select a room with a lake view, on the third floor or higher to decrease the noise level.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1964040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews