We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thermalhotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I spent 2 days in this nice hotel.
Excellent staff with remarkable attention to customers.
The hotel is very nice, with thermal bath facilities in the hotel for free or through a tunnel to access at the larger thermal area.
In this case the hotel offers a discount rate which has been really appreciated.
The hotel provides bath robe and you can walk straight to the thermal bath and enjoy pure relax in a outdoor hot pool while snow falls.
Our room was large, comfortable and clean with an outstanding view on the mountains.
At the check in we have received a free welcome drink.
Great breakfast rich and various with plenty of choice.
Not same level for the dinner but despite lower choice still remarkable the service level.
Rapid and efficient check out.
We would recommend to use the parking facility: you'll have your car in a indoor parking, parked by a valet which will return your car at the moment of your leave. In winter time is a very good service worth to pay 14 chf for it.
Everything is arranged for your relax!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    201
    180
    94
    49
See reviews for
104
356
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I've been working in hospitality for more than ten years and understand standards and customer care. This hotel and its thermal center haven't got the right service for the price payed!! We went for drinks at the bar and there was no service, once the drinks arrived we where expecting some nibbles.... Nothing! 32 CHF(28€)!!! We then decided to have a club sandwich at the Bistrot, 50€ for the worst sandwich, realy avarege!!
The Room was small, no shampoo, no conditioner, no toothpaste or toothbrush, no iron, lights not working and finally we opened a fresh bottle of sparkling water and it was flat!! (5€ a bottle) onestly it a joke!

NOT RACOMMENDED

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jd0687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leukerbad hotels

Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Siamo tornati al Lindner Hotel Alpentherme dopo un'anno e abbiamo notato che il servizio clienti è peggiorato di molto e i vantaggi di cui beneficiavano gli ospiti dell'hotel per il centro termale Alpentherme sono spariti.
Anche il centro termale dell'albergo secondo noi è peggiorato sia a livello di pulizia che a livello di qualità.
Per concludere posso dire che per il prezzo che si paga e per la qualità che si riceve questo non è più un albergo svizzero 4 stelle.

We visited the Lindner Hotel Alpentherme one year ago and this year we noticed that the customer service was only decent. The advantages for the Lindner Hotel guests are not available anymore (free entrance to the Alpentherme as much as you wanted). Also the Hotel SPA is not nice as it used to be.
To conclude I could say that for the price and for the quality that you get this is not a 4 stars Swiss Hotel anymore that's for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biry87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Leukerbad is a small village tucked into the Swiss Alps at about 1400 meters. The town centers around the huge Spa and its mountain views.

The most troubling deterioration for me as a business person is the fact that when Leukerbad and a stay at the Linden Hotel and Alpen Spa use to say to clients that they are being terated special, it now says that they are being treated cheaply. Here are some of the reasons why I will no longer book clients or client events at the Linden Hotel:

1. The spa is run by the Linder Hotel group and you use to have free access, now you only have discounted prices...and the prices aren't cheap, not even very reasonable. For example, I pay about half for a 60 minute massage in Geneva (with a much better masseus) than I pay at the Clarin cnetre in the spa. You can even fid more reasonable offers in Leukerbad if you look around. You get the feeling you are in a tourist trap and you are treated like in a way that conveys this.

2. They used to provide fruit baskets. This time they provide a solitary orange per person.

3. There used to be good showers. The first night there was no hot water.

4. They used to allow late check-out at least until 2 pm. Now they only allow you to extend the 11 am checkout until 11:30 am!

5. The breakfast use to be excellent with many kinds of cheese, special waffles and freshly cooked omelettes/eggs. The cheese is down to three cheap varities, the waffles are gone (one of my guests use to want to stay here just for the waffles), and the freshly cooked omelettes and eggs are a thing of the past. For that matter even the fresh fruit that use to be found in the the lobby every afternoon has been replaced by free tap water!

6. The free pick-up from the bus staton (if you travel by train you need to take a bus up the mountains) is now an on-demand service, but when demanded for two guests we were told it is not available right now and they were not sure when it woud be available.

7. And perhaps most importantly, the staff that use to always be friendly and helpful are now stingy and rude. For example, when they did not have towels in the sauna area of the hotel and I asked for towels I was told that they are never there even though they were the last five times I was here. I mentioned this very politely and was told rather tersely "Well the hotel management has changed and we don't provide them any more." I held myself from replying, "Did they change over night, because they provided them yesterday?" Any retort would have been useless as she had already turned her back on me.

On top of all this prices have gone up since early 2012 about 20%, when in most of Switzerland they are going down. The reason, apparently annoyed hotel employ told me, is that the hotel "needs to make as much money as they can before the 51° complex is built in front of the hotel." Thhe 51° is a new complex of condos and appartments for multimillionaries, but it is a shame that a more accessable four-star hotel is using it as an excuse to price gouge their guests while providing a continuiously deteriorating service. The only explanation the hotle employee could give, who is Swiss herself, is "well, this is Switzerland." I am not sure that is true as I have had some very good experiences in Switzerland, but this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Try the Mercure another 4-star hotel. Old, but better service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Furniture was a bit worn-out. The pools weren't clean. There were some bad smells in the hall leading form the lobby to the rooms. Employees at the reception were rather cold. The room was confortable. Despite a mail explaining me that the rooms are a available at 3pm, I had to wait an extra 30 minutes more. The hotel is worth 4 stars but some things need yet to be improved.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights here with my teenage son......Thank Goodness we didn't pay the rack rate!...Leukerbad is beautiful, spas great ,walking and scenery outstanding.....The Hotel is dated, faded and has some of the worst service I have come across in the Hotel industry,EXCEPT the chambermaids on our floor 4 who were polite, helpful and engaging.
Such a shame as it could be a great Hotel...Check in was appalling we arrived at night 10pm after travelling all day I was alone with a teenager. Two male receptionists decided to eventually deal with us after finishing their conversation and deciding who could be bothered. Unbeknown to them at the time I speak French and fully understand their whole conversation.
Breakfast was a hushed affair with a grumpy waitress and I felt like I was in a sanatorium!!....The breakfast choice was good and I couldn't fault that so credit to Chef.I had to wait for a table to be cleared and set up and felt intrusive and a pain!
We had a busy day at the Spa and walking we had a late lunch out. We decided to go to the bar for a drink and a snack...The head Barman was grumpy and I actually asked if he could smile as i was fed up of looking at miserable staff... We asked for a Club Sandwich off the bar menu and he looked at his watch and tutted...not quite the response you were looking for !...

Great Place but try another Hotel is my advice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelouBath_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneve
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Booked the room through booking.com that advertises that the baths at lindern hotel AND alpentherm are free during the stay,when we got there the guy at reception,said no that we have to buy tickets to use the baths at alpentherm,i showed him the booking.com website that clearly states that the use of the baths are free,so he reluctantly gave us 2 free passes,but just for one day.the next day was a new battle with a very rude receptionnist,asked to see her superior but he was in a "meeting", the room we had was really shabby 251(see picts) and really not up to the standard of a 4*.the breakfast was great and the baths at the hotel very pleasant,and staff except at reception very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianageneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leukerbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#1 of 26 in Leukerbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#8 of 26 in Leukerbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thermalhotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermalhotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad

Property: Thermalhotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad
Address: Dorfplatz 1 | 3954 Leukerbad, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland (Formerly Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leukerbad
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Leukerbad
#7 Spa Hotel in Leukerbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thermalhotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thermalhotel Leukerbad are centrally located in Leukerbad which is known as the largest thermal area of the Alps. On a height of 1.411 m surrounded by the Valais Alps it combines tradition and modern lifestyle. The Thermalhotels & Alpentherme consist of 3 buildings: the Grand Bain, the Maison Blanche (built 1625) as well as the Hotel de France (built 1845) which is located directly next to the main buildings. All buildings possess a long and interesting history. The 135 rooms and suites are spread out between the three buildings and connected by an underground tunnel so that all facilities and the Walliser Alpentherme can be reached easily. The rooms are comfortably equipped either modern or in the typical local style of the area. We are offering 7 meeting rooms up to 200 persons. Banquet hall Balmhorn is perfectly suitable for festive events and weddings. Tailor-made incentives if requested. The hotels have their own wellness area with thermal indoor- and outdoor pool, sauna, steambath and grotto bath as well as a beautiful garden to relax. Directly next to the hotel the Walliser Alpentherme is situated with a wide variety of beauty- and wellness services. The restaurant Masion Blanche offers you every morning a rich and tasty breakfast. A culinary highlight is our restaurant Sacre Bon at the Hotel de France. It invites you with its warm atmosphere to enjoy the evening with traditional Valais meals or international creations from our chef. The bar Grand Bain is the ideal place to end your day either in front of the chimney and with live piano music during winter season or on our terrace with an amazing view on the alps during summer season. We offer numerous services as for example free Wifi at our hotel lobby and free luggage and parking service by our porter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thermalhotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad Hotel Leukerbad
Lindner Hotel Alpentherme Leukerbad
Lindner Resort Alpentherme Leukerbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing