We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, family welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Went with 4 adults and 2 babies, had communicating rooms with comfortable furniture and baby beds. All a bit rusty but clean and functional.

It's a big hotel so you might have to take a few elevators to get to the breakfast room or to the spa from your room but not too big a deal since you can do it all indoors wearing your bathrobe !

Great private spa with three pools, very quiet and not too crowded.

The food buffet was excellent and good price / value. Nice with kids and special requests. Deserts were amazing so was the breakfast buffet.

Parking is easy, they even park your car for you.

I would go back any time !

Room Tip: If you want the main building ask for it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sourisverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Lindner Hotel for 5 fairly disappointing nights at the beginning of March.
The rooms look like out of the 90s (beginning), the bathroom was also old and run down - but clean.
The comfort of the beds was also from this periode. The pillows were some kind of long, flat bags with clustered foam flakes inside. I asked if I could get another pillow, and was hand over a flat foam wedge in a pillow case..Also very unusual.... So much for the bedding quality.

The spa is big and clean, but nothing special. No towels available in the entire spa area. Guests are limited to one towel a day, which they have to bring from their rooms....

The breakfast buffet is nice and the choice is good, but there are no newspapers. I asked the waitress, and the answer was, that, in the mornings, they were used at the other hotel (Hotel de France), and they receive them only in the evenings (?)....Doesn't that sound a bit cheap?

During the day, it is impossible to get a coup of coffee in the entire hotel, as the so-called Maison Blanche is not a restaurant, but only a breakfast room, and the bar only opens at 5pm. One is allowed to sit on the sunny terrace of the bar, but must forget about the service. Neither can drinks be ordered in the spa area. Asking the reception again for help, I was told to cross the underground passage to get into the public spa, where there is some king of shopping facility.....

The access to the public spa is not free of charge, but at a reduced price for guests. The roman-irish bath is nice, so is the sauna village. Forget about the regual spa area. Very noisy and crowded, especially in the afternoon and evenings. Better to stay at the hotel.

During our entire stay, I was not able to identify anybody in charge of any particular departement. The hotel is managed as anonymous as a train station. Comparing this hotel to Austrian standards - where guests are mostly treated like kings - there are simply worlds in between - servicewise and pricewise.

I am still wondering where the fourth star did come from???

Room Tip: If I had known how to choose a good room, I would have done that for myself..... But apparently, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We are surprised to find our room so small. In USA a 3 star , you got already a huge room with 2 double beds. The toilet is tiny too and old.The way going to Thermal Bath smell awful. We enjoyed anyway the Thermal Bath bec. It's inside the Hotel. It's quiet and have some privacy in the Grotto Bath. The breakfast are diverse. Everything you need for the breakfast are there. But the dinner at " Sacre Bon's" restaurant are awful. The cook needs more training. He cooks like in the camping restaurant. I would come back on that hotel if they will give me 50 % discount.The price are 4 star but the hotel and service are 3 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretrich50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have stayed at Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad already a few times and we are still looking forward to come back. Location and staff can't be any better. Usually the Resort's general atmosphere is both relaxed and inspiring. What sets it apart is the in house bath and spa. While you shouldn't expect to find the latest design thrills the water in itself has to offer great rewards. It's truly rejuvenating! The rooms differ quite a bit depending on the booking category. However we slept sound and safe no matter in which room we stayed. The breakfast is excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have Lindner many times, because the hotel has its in-house thermal bath pools and spa facilities. The service this year was slightly improved compared to 2013. Also, the price this year is more reasonable considering the room standard and overall service level. The room is clean and beds are comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very nice. We also appreciate the transport service offered by the hotel, e.g. between the hotel to the lift station, this makes it worth of a 4-star hotel.
However, the room is really old and only worth of a two+ - three star standards. Our room has very low ceiling and the door seems not more than 1.85 m. Our son, who is 1.90 m, had to bend himself each time when going in/out of the room. The service level in general has deteriorated during the last five-seven years: e.g. the water temperature in the thermal pools has decreased; there is no more free towel service in the bath (each guest has on towel), less service people in the restaurants and by the pools.
We had a poor experience with our dinner at Sacré Bon: our waitress was nice and service minded, the 3-course menu was well cooked. However, when we asked for the bill, we were wrongfully charged with extra wine that we did not have and over-charged 2x 7.5 CHF extra for the vegetables (1 piece small broccoli of 2cm, 1 small piece cauliflower of 3cm, 2 small piece carrots of 4 cm), which were served together with our meat. When we protest this overcharge, the waiter (as the waitress was already left at 10 pm) said that this was what we asked for! 15 CHF is a small amount; however, his behavior damaged our experience in this restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We´ve been coming to Leukerbad every year for many years for skiing and wellness and find Alpentherme to be the best in the area, second only to Burgerbad (which is much larger and more of a place to have fun with their water slides - Alpentherme has none of that and is more adult-oriented...). That said, there are certain aspects to the spa that are a bit dubious.
But let´s start with the positives:

1) It has a really nice Sauna area which is like a little village. N.B. this is a textile-free zone so no clothes, just your towel ;-)
2) Beautiful outdoor heated pool, surrounded by mountains
3) there´s generally a peaceful atmosphere throughout the Therme/Spa.

And the negatives:

1) the decor can be a bit cheesy -- especially the eagle/falcon-themed ceilings with even cheesier lighting effect in the main swimming hall;
2) they tend to play the same music the entire day without any variety -- it gets old...;
3) the people at the reception are rather friendly but also quite clueless. This has not really changed in all the years we´ve been coming here.

Lastly, regarding treatments - As far as deep tissue massage is concerned, we´ve stopped booking them here, altogether. The reason being that the quality of massages we´ve received have varied so widely each time -- some quite good,some so completely abysmal they cause you to start thinking about the massage therapists´ qualifications and training. So unless you have a specific referral for someone, I´d say you´ve got a 50-50 chance.

All in all, Alpentherme is a fine place to come to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings - whether you´re there for skiing or just coming partake in the wellness/spa experience.



If you´re coming to Leukerbad without children, this is probably the place to come to relax and

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked here for a wedding anniversary weekend, off season. Although the hotel looks impressive from the outside, the 'First Class' rooms were not first class, by any standards. Old style furniture and chipped and cracked bathroom floor with very old bathrooms. We asked to change room and the reception assured us that all the first class rooms were the same.
The breakfast buffet is excellent - everything you could want was there.
Be aware of the package with the spa - usually in a spa costing this price there is at least a sauna and steam room..... Not at the Alpentherme. You have to pay extra for the sauna and steam room access (almost double the price), which we felt was extremely excessive. However the pool is beautiful. We used the sauna and steam facilities at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leukerbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
0.1 mi away
Therme 51° Hotel, Physio & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#9 of 26 in Leukerbad
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#2 of 26 in Leukerbad
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roemerhof
Hotel Roemerhof
#17 of 26 in Leukerbad
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa

Address: Dorfplatz 1 | 3954 Leukerbad, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland (Formerly Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leukerbad
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Leukerbad
#8 Spa Hotel in Leukerbad
Price Range: £131 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thermal Hotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad is centrally located in Leukerbad which is known as the largest thermal area of the Swiss Alps. On a height of 1.411 meters surrounded by the Valais Alps it combines tradition and modern lifestyle. The Thermal Hotels & Walliser Alpentherme consists of 3 buildings: the Grand Bain, the Maison Blanche (built 1625) and Hotel de France (built 1845) which is located directly next to the main building. All buildings possess a long and interesting history. The 135 rooms and suites are spread out between the three buildings and connected by an underground tunel so that all facilities and the Walliser Alpentherme can be reached easily. The rooms are comfortably equipped either modern or in the typical local style of the area. We are offering 7 meeting rooms up to 200 persons. Banquet hall Balmhorn is perfectly suitable for festive events and weddings. Tailor-made incentives if requested. The hotels have their own wellness area with thermal indoor- and outdoor pool, sauna, steambath and grotto bath as well as a beautiful garden to relax. Directly next to the hotel the Walliser Alpentherme is situated with a wide variety of beauty- and wellness services. The restaurant Maison Blanche offers you every morning a rich and tasty breakfast. A culinary highlight is our restaurant Sacre Bon in Hotel de France. It invites you with its warm atmosphere to enjoy the evening with traditional meals from Valais or international creations from our chef. The Bar Grand Bain is the ideal place to end your day either in front of the chimney with live piano music during the winter season or on our terrace with an amazing view on the alps during summer season. We offer numerous services as for example free Wifi at our hotel lobby and free luggage and parking service by our porter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad Hotel Leukerbad
Lindner Hotel Alpentherme Leukerbad
Lindner Resort Alpentherme Leukerbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing