We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“leukerbad alpenthermen lindner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very nice place. Rooms are not four star. Services and facilities are ok. Very complete the inside spa, not to underestimate. The Restaurant Sacré Bon is expensive but very good. Alpenthermen are the strenght. The sauna area (nude) is the top.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel has gotten some poor reviews, so I was nervous. But check in was super friendly with Elgadaf(?) Who spoke great English. Really, all the front desk sraff were cheerful and pleasant about our many spa, hiking and other questions throughout our stay.

Our room, #404, had a beautiful view of the mountains and several waterfalls. It was super quiet except for the cowbells in the distance and occasional churchbells. We rarely heard anyone even though we were near the elevator. We were in the annex also known as hotel france.

I think it is well worth staying here because their 3 little pools are included...indoor, outdoor and our fave the (fake) grotto. The grotto is hotter than any pools at the public spa...so we really just stayed at the hotel's pools and did not pay to go to the larger public pools. Same thermal water. Some of the jets were not working, which was unfortunate. But we loved just putting on our robes & slippers and taking a dip on a whim.

Breakfast was outstanding with egg station, espresso maker, excellent meats and an amazing assortment of breads. Really anything and everything you could want and in a lovely room.

Bed was super comfy and they happily brought us extra pillows. Nice tub. Small refrigerator.

We found ourselves eating twice at their restaurant 'sacre bon' ? The food was delicious.

The bad.........
Got a flyer in the room about happy hour. Great...got there to find that 2 for 1 drinks mean you each have to get 2. Unlike in the picture ad. Ok. No problem. Then there was a little complication over my husband ordering a martini. The bar server (male) started loudly and mockingly scolding us that it includes COCKTAILS only.... we were confused and not arguing...and this went on. We unhappily mentioned it to the bartender (female) who asked him about it...and he began to lie to us in front of us about what he had said. For some reason, this made me tear up and we just paid for our 2 drinks and left --24chf !! Saddest happy hour ever....and the hotel should not need to trick peoplei nto coming into their bar .... it ruins a wonderfully relaxing spa day.

Other than this, our stay here was a wonderful one. It's worth the exttra money to be able to wander from your room ,in and out of the thermal pools all day.

Room Tip: Get a ciew of the mountains from the annex hotel if you possibly can...gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We come regularly for an overnight stay to make the most of the wonderful thermal baths. This time we had earned a free night for 2, with unlimited use of the hotel baths and a sumptuous breakfast. We were particularly impressed with the service - we had a beautiful airy room with a lovely view, a hand-written welcome note, apples and mineral water. From the bar to the breakfast staff, everyone was friendly, efficient, and courteous. It was a flying visit, but a wonderful one! Only one (very minor) downside, the hamam was out of order.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the Maison Blanche are very quaint and cosy, and close to the baths, dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have been going to this hotel for many years. Our last visit three years ago for New Year's eve was not satisfactory, so we waited this long to have a try. The hotel is supposed to be a 4 stars one, but is closer to a 3 stars. The reception staff were friendly and helpfull, although they spoke only german or english (no french). The porters are great ! And there is a convenient valet parking. As far as the negative aspects, first of all the rooms need to be entirely restored, we are facing the same furniture and decoration, which are shaby and have been in use for more than fifteen years...Then we were forced to eat in the opposite hotel, belonging to the same company, which you can join by a tunnel if the weather is bad. We had three dinners there, the first one which was a total disaster, so salty we couldn't eat it, and a not very pleasant service. The two others were correct, but nothing extraordinary. The breakfast was in the main building, pleasant and plentifull. The great thing about this hotel is that you have a direct underground access to the alpine thermal complex: superlative, well worth the visit ! A wonderfull outdoor-indoor swimmingpool, with all you need in a way of bubbles, view - simply great !
The spa is super too, as are the beauty center and the medical one ! Fantastic massages (a must, with Casper, in the place for almost 30 years...!) Well worth a try, or a stay, but don't expect too much from the hotel, but for the evening bar with a terrific pianist !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel has descended in the last five years from a top 4-star hotel to a poor two or three-star hotel. Many benefits have been withdrawn from hotel guests, for example, no free access to Alpentherme (Alpen Spa), no free apples at reception, no use of carrier bags, and no welcome drink. At the same time higher prices, less clean and older rooms, poorly maintained grounds. During our visit the hotel spa was not working ... which is the main reason for coming to this mountain spa. The water in the hotel spa as not being treated correctly and smelled polluted. Although the hotel denied that there was anything wrong, they had to empty the swimming pool the last day to do repairs and started sending guest to the nearby Alpentherme, but only after we were there for two days. None of the water jets were working in hotel spa. The hotel did provide us entry to the nearby Alpen Spa for two of the four days we were there, but refused to provide us access the other two days. Nothing was said about the spa not working either when we made the reservation or when we checked-in. This is a very dishonest Swiss business.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room, if possible in new/main building of Hotel de France.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Went with 4 adults and 2 babies, had communicating rooms with comfortable furniture and baby beds. All a bit rusty but clean and functional.

It's a big hotel so you might have to take a few elevators to get to the breakfast room or to the spa from your room but not too big a deal since you can do it all indoors wearing your bathrobe !

Great private spa with three pools, very quiet and not too crowded.

The food buffet was excellent and good price / value. Nice with kids and special requests. Deserts were amazing so was the breakfast buffet.

Parking is easy, they even park your car for you.

I would go back any time !

Room Tip: If you want the main building ask for it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sourisverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Lindner Hotel for 5 fairly disappointing nights at the beginning of March.
The rooms look like out of the 90s (beginning), the bathroom was also old and run down - but clean.
The comfort of the beds was also from this periode. The pillows were some kind of long, flat bags with clustered foam flakes inside. I asked if I could get another pillow, and was hand over a flat foam wedge in a pillow case..Also very unusual.... So much for the bedding quality.

The spa is big and clean, but nothing special. No towels available in the entire spa area. Guests are limited to one towel a day, which they have to bring from their rooms....

The breakfast buffet is nice and the choice is good, but there are no newspapers. I asked the waitress, and the answer was, that, in the mornings, they were used at the other hotel (Hotel de France), and they receive them only in the evenings (?)....Doesn't that sound a bit cheap?

During the day, it is impossible to get a coup of coffee in the entire hotel, as the so-called Maison Blanche is not a restaurant, but only a breakfast room, and the bar only opens at 5pm. One is allowed to sit on the sunny terrace of the bar, but must forget about the service. Neither can drinks be ordered in the spa area. Asking the reception again for help, I was told to cross the underground passage to get into the public spa, where there is some king of shopping facility.....

The access to the public spa is not free of charge, but at a reduced price for guests. The roman-irish bath is nice, so is the sauna village. Forget about the regual spa area. Very noisy and crowded, especially in the afternoon and evenings. Better to stay at the hotel.

During our entire stay, I was not able to identify anybody in charge of any particular departement. The hotel is managed as anonymous as a train station. Comparing this hotel to Austrian standards - where guests are mostly treated like kings - there are simply worlds in between - servicewise and pricewise.

I am still wondering where the fourth star did come from???

Room Tip: If I had known how to choose a good room, I would have done that for myself..... But apparently, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leukerbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
0.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#2 of 26 in Leukerbad
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regina Terme
Hotel Regina Terme
#20 of 26 in Leukerbad
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa

Address: Dorfplatz 1 | 3954 Leukerbad, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland (Formerly Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leukerbad
#7 Spa Hotel in Leukerbad
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Leukerbad
Price Range: £117 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thermal Hotels & Walliser Alpentherme Leukerbad is centrally located in Leukerbad which is known as the largest thermal area of the Swiss Alps. On a height of 1.411 meters surrounded by the Valais Alps it combines tradition and modern lifestyle. The Thermal Hotels & Walliser Alpentherme consists of 3 buildings: the Grand Bain, the Maison Blanche (built 1625) and Hotel de France (built 1845) which is located directly next to the main building. All buildings possess a long and interesting history. The 135 rooms and suites are spread out between the three buildings and connected by an underground tunel so that all facilities and the Walliser Alpentherme can be reached easily. The rooms are comfortably equipped either modern or in the typical local style of the area. We are offering 7 meeting rooms up to 200 persons. Banquet hall Balmhorn is perfectly suitable for festive events and weddings. Tailor-made incentives if requested. The hotels have their own wellness area with thermal indoor- and outdoor pool, sauna, steambath and grotto bath as well as a beautiful garden to relax. Directly next to the hotel the Walliser Alpentherme is situated with a wide variety of beauty- and wellness services. The restaurant Maison Blanche offers you every morning a rich and tasty breakfast. A culinary highlight is our restaurant Sacre Bon in Hotel de France. It invites you with its warm atmosphere to enjoy the evening with traditional meals from Valais or international creations from our chef. The Bar Grand Bain is the ideal place to end your day either in front of the chimney with live piano music during the winter season or on our terrace with an amazing view on the alps during summer season. We offer numerous services as for example free Wifi at our hotel lobby and free luggage and parking service by our porter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thermal Hotels und Walliser Alpentherme & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindner Hotels Alpentherme Leukerbad Hotel Leukerbad
Lindner Hotel Alpentherme Leukerbad
Lindner Resort Alpentherme Leukerbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing