We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab resort for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab resort for kids”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good hotel, friendly staff. Beds comfortable. Food generally good, but as with everything in Switzerland expensive if you strayed from the half board option onto the a la carte menu. This hotel has some of the best views imaginable (make sure your room faces the right way) but the flip side is that being at the top of the village it is quite a haul to get back to with your skis at the end of the day. There is a free bus which runs hourly, but if you miss it you have to wait for another hour...nonetheless the whole village is so pretty, the skiing perfect for novices and children, and no queues or crowds anywhere. But, given the strength of the Swiss franc, you pay heavily for the tranquility and just have to forget about the cost while you are there.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famousfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    67
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
92
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Lovely hotel,brilliant proprietors. Breakfast good BUT dinner poor. Not only that but not much of it. To be fair when mentioned they sought to correct but not good.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbeecheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed again for 5 days. Refurbished restaurant and new boot room. Helpful owners always willing to help. Our 15th visit and never disappointed once.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My 6 year old and I stayed at the Grand Chalet in Leysin and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is nicely situated. The room was very nice, a very good value in my opinion. We ate at the hotel's restaurant and the food as well as the service was very good. The restaurant was renovated recently and it looks fantastic! The owner of the Grand Chalet, and his wife went out of their way to make us feel welcome and satisfied. We were offered to use skis for my son (for free) during the day if we needed to. No doubt about it, next time we are going to Leysin we will be staying at the Grand Chalet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brotherP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The best breakfast in a hotel in 3 months in France & Switzerland. Evening food ok but the service was pretty erratic at dinner time - excellent and helpful staff the rest of the time though. Good wifi throughout, nice terrace overlooking the valley with great views over the mountains. Rooms clean and nice with terrace overlooking the mountains.
Parking is free and rubbish - no car park as such, just squeeze into the line of cars parked on the narrow road outside the hotel or at the bottom of the hill. However.. I did leave my car there for a week unattended with lots of gear in full view and NOBODY broke in.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

The staff were friendly although you needed to speak French to some. The view was incredible and breakfast on the balcony was wonderful. The room was decorated nicely but the bed was uncomfortable. The food was really good.

So if they had made the beds more comfortable, this would have been the best hotel we've stayed in for ages. But still worth going to

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipseylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
241 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Nice hotel perched above Leysin, around 2 km from the centre of the village, in a quiet position. Very friendly and helpful staff and owners, my fiancée and I we had a nice room (even if the bathroom was a bit small...) facing south, with a great view overlooking the mountains. Very nice ideas the Jacuzzi (that can be also half or totally covered, if you want...) on the terrace of the hotel, it's great to enjoy 37°C water in the tub, while outside there can be also -10°C.Very big buffet breakfast, good food at evening, I would like to return also in summer...I can suggest it also for families, couples and groups of friends. Parking can represent sometimes a small problem( or you park 100 meters before the hotel, or 100 meters below it, since the places along the slope sideways the hotel in winter often gets icy.
I hope to return there, it really deserves!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and owners, the lanscape, the Jacuzzi on the terrace, the big and good buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — The bathroom (a bit small), the parking on the slope sideways the hotel not always freed from snow and ice in winter
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stifen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Residence
4.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#1 of 3 in Aigle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Property: Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Address: chemin de la Source 2, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Grand Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the forest, the peacefull and the quiteness on the top of Leysin, you will be able to have an unique experiment from our SPA – jacuzzi with 37° water and a magnifficient view on our mountain and glaciers.After the second generation, the third one is here with same spirit of tradition to let you discover a typical and familial athmosphere and make you feel relaxed during your stay.5 minutes by foot from the Feydey station, next to the ski slopes and at the departure of the walking and mountain bike area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Chalet Leysin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing