We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy chalet and breathtaking views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cozy chalet and breathtaking views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Grand Chalet twice. First time, we got upgraded and had one of the big corner rooms. It had a very spacious balcony. Second time around, we had a room which was much smaller. I wish I would have asked for the bigger room but I think the hotel was fully booked. Anyhow the room was good, but a bit crowded. I would have taken the desk out and left a bit more open space. We managed and it still felt cozy. Heating functioned very well. The room seemed clean. The bathroom was the minus. 70s I'd think. It would surely benefit from some renovation. The huge hair dryer belongs in a museum but it did its job of drying my hair and I had some laughs. The view from the small balcony was simply breathtaking, couldn't get enough of those sunsets and sunrises.

Location-wise, the Chalet is up the hill. Ask for shortcuts from the train station if you don't come by car, cos it's quite a walk on the main road. The ski slope is few hundred meters from the hotel so it's excellently accessible. We didn't know this the first time around, so do ask or have a look at the nice painted map at the entrance.

The restaurant was recently renovated and it's very cute and cozy with great views. Breakfast was very nice. Tasty scrambled eggs and some nice pastry. Quite some choice in cereals. Fresh fruit salad. We are vegetarians and had booked half board. They let us choose what we wanted to eat in the evenings and we were v. happy with what we got. I should mention the guy waiter who was fabulous and dealt with fussy me in the most charming manner.

The jacuzzi is a nice touch, in particular after a long day skiing. However I wouldn't call it a spa. :) There are no bathrobes in the rooms so you manage somehow with your towels and change in a sort of changing room. This latter could have been more tidy. As it was, it seemed more like a broom room. Certainly if they had removed some of the stuff lying around it would seem much improved. In fact, this was a general conclusion of ours: a bit more tidiness around the hotel (terrace down, where the old ski room was) would make a big difference.

The Grand Chalet is a cozy place, well located for skiing, with beautiful views of Leysin and the surrounding mountains. Go for the big corner rooms and enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose one of the big corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    66
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
89
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had a room with an amazing view. The room was very simple but it was OK. The staff was very helpful and kind. I miss that view !
The restaurant is very good, breakfast was diversified and excellent.
It is a very cozy place with lots of charm but it would be nice to have some renovations done in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I m actually writing this review FROM the balcony using free wifi! Brilliant hotel! My husband and I are staying here for the night while driving from Paris to Florence. Got upgraded to a junior suite and this balcony has the most gorgeous view EVER! The greenest view you ve ever seen! The staff are kind and speak some English! Our dinner was nt bad at all and the owner seemed very kind! Highly recommended if you come with car!

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing balcony if at no extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malavikasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We found the hotel owner most helpful and keen to advise on walking routes etc .
Dinner and breakfast was good , and we liked the cosy wood of the dining room .
Our bedroom was on the small side,and the bathroom is very small - but adequate ..
Make sure you get off the train at the very last stop so that you don't have to lug your cases uphill ! From there it is a pretty easy 500m.on the flat .
THe views from our bedroom were stunning and small balcony most appreciated .

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our stay didn't start well, as they had lost our reservation. But the manager on duty did manage to squeeze us in for the first night. It was clean, and essentially comfortable. Breakfast was quite nice. Location wise, it was difficult to reach with luggage. But in fairness, Leysin is such a vertical place, the same could be said about many places I'm sure. It's hard to pinpoint what we didn't like about this place - it was just a general feeling of being a nuisance to the owner. As they had lost our booking anyway, after the first night, we decided to relocate to another hotel down the hill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof5Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hard to find chalet but well worth it
great views, good service, helpful staff
great cooked breakfast
recomended

Room Tip: north side has the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Good hotel, friendly staff. Beds comfortable. Food generally good, but as with everything in Switzerland expensive if you strayed from the half board option onto the a la carte menu. This hotel has some of the best views imaginable (make sure your room faces the right way) but the flip side is that being at the top of the village it is quite a haul to get back to with your skis at the end of the day. There is a free bus which runs hourly, but if you miss it you have to wait for another hour...nonetheless the whole village is so pretty, the skiing perfect for novices and children, and no queues or crowds anywhere. But, given the strength of the Swiss franc, you pay heavily for the tranquility and just have to forget about the cost while you are there.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famousfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Residence
4.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.1 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#2 of 4 in Les Diablerets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Property: Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Address: chemin de la Source 2, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Grand Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the forest, the peacefull and the quiteness on the top of Leysin, you will be able to have an unique experiment from our SPA – jacuzzi with 37° water and a magnifficient view on our mountain and glaciers.After the second generation, the third one is here with same spirit of tradition to let you discover a typical and familial athmosphere and make you feel relaxed during your stay.5 minutes by foot from the Feydey station, next to the ski slopes and at the departure of the walking and mountain bike area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Chalet Leysin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing