We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly with nice views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central Residence
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The pool and sauna area was very nice and didn't seem to get overcrowded when we wanted to use them. There were no groups staying here when we stayed which may be why.

The room was basic but clean and tidy. It did lack a bit of tlc as the lamp, one of the chairs and the bathroom tap all needed repairing. However, the view was lovely. It was very hot in the room at night time and you aren't able to control the temperature of the room. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is a shame, especially as the Alpine prices for drinks and food are high!

We took the half board option. The restaurant staff were nice enough and the food was fine. there was plenty of it too. If you want breakfast before 8am there was no cooked option (bacon and scrambled eggs).

The bar area is ok but tends to be dominated by unsupervised children. They were no bother but not everybody's cup of tea.

The village is a short walk down hill and quite pleasant. He hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the ski lift.

We would return for a budget stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithlasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is exactly what we wanted for our Switzerland snow ski vacation. Fabulous mountain views, clean room for 2 parents and 2 kids, pool, friendly staff, bar and restaurant. All at a low price....Loved it! The village was marvelous also...

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, (7th) and had superb views of the beautiful alps. This hotel does require...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HTBMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Ok, so reviews are mixed on this hotel. We went as a family for a skiing holiday and had a great time. If you're expecting 5 Star luxury, don't come here. If you want a friendly, relaxed, reasonably priced, unpretentious hotel with good facilities for the kids, then seriously consider this as an option.

Food: Yes, the food is sometimes a little plain and it can get busy at mealtimes. Generally, we felt that the food was of a good standard.

Staff: We found the staff to be very helpful, very polite and, if we needed something done, it was taken care of quickly.

Facilities: Good. Schools use this hotel for group holidays. It can get a little noisy, the pool and leisure facilities can get crowded.

Distance from the slopes: Not too bad. A shortish uphill walk to a nice nursery slope or down to the main lifts. Just tolerable if you're carrying a lot of kit.

The room: Spacious, if a little basic. No tea and coffee facilities so you may wish to pack a small kettle. There's a flat screen TV with a good range of channels and plenty of sockets. Lots of hot water; except when things get busy, then it's not so hot! We slept well, (probably because we were so knackered from teaching the kids)!

Overall: We'd certainly come here again. Watch the exchange rates. Switzerland is getting a tad pricey for us Brits!

Room Tip: The lifts aren't great. Try and get a room on the lower floors, say 2 or 3. We were on level...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Findmeacheapdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here early Feb. the week before UK half term. 3 adults and 2 children.
OK, the highlights, the hotel is in a good position for getting on the slopes (nursery) or lifts each day. Parking good. Locality to restaurants, shops, cafes etc good.
Hotel restaurant had an eclectic choice for dinner, depending on which way you look at it....no chips all week (good), veal featured (not good when you have to explain it's origins to young ones). Quality of cooking ok in general though. Breakfast very 'samey' as per previous reviews but this is typical when not staying at a top hotel.
Reception staff (also bar staff, one in the same...) were lovely although overworked! Room cleaning lady was brill.
Bad stuff. Hotel has a lot of school groups. The hotel is not responsible for the kids, the school staff are..but they seem to spend alot of time in the bar and not supervising their charges. This needs improvement as other guests can find the noise, size of the groups and general rowdiness challenging (and we had a teenager with us!). The swimming pool and sauna/jacuzzi area need more attention with regard to this, maybe no unaccompanied under 16's??
Resort is great though and would go again.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was spacious with a good view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloHoliday67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Excellent restaurant with local and international plates, friendly reception (they speak french -obv-, german and english) and good spa (but open only after 4pm!!). Wonderful view on the surrounding mountains.
We were able to access the room only at 4pm and it was quite dirty (but acceptable for one night).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

If your not in the mood for B&Bs or chalets this is by far one of the best choices in winter. The dinning room is a great feature if your too lazy after a day of skiing. I have stayed at the Central 6 times, and found the rooms ranging from mediocre to great. I have never tried the pool but I do know it exists. The balconies are nice, but a prepare for a chill as it is winter. It's a good hotel overall. Nice location for skiers/boarders, mostly beginners as it's right next to the bunny slope. I would highly recommend this hotel if your not in the mood for a hotel stay in Leysin.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 6 which are a minute's walk from the hotel (called Les Chamoissaire) and a ten minute downhill walk from Leysin Feyday station. We were on the 6th floor which had great views. Apartment was fairly basic but well equipped and clean and warm, it had a a twin bed with a sauna, a lounge/kitchen area with dining table, 6 chairs, 2 comfortable chairs, sofabed and TV (note apartments only get BBC news, although we found another channel that sometimes had UK films, another large twin bed, and bathroom with bath, shower and a balcony (with table and chairs). Apartment was serviced daily with towels and toilet paper/cleaning (lovely staff). Had use of hotel facilities including free wifi, swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna/steamroom, plus various other facilities (table tennis, pool table, a few game machines and toybox for kids. 5-10 min walk down to main lifts/ski hire, but they run a free bus in the morning (we didn't use this) no bus back but you can ski into baby slope above resort and walk down within 5 minutes down steepish hill. Staff in hotel friendly, speak english and helpful We went off season so hotel quiet and apartment good value (about £100 per night - it is more expensive if you just turn up) hotel does have school groups out of season (wasn't an issue for us). Our apartment had fantastic views.. Pros: Leisure facilities good but can get crowded once skiers return, pool also deep throughout if you have non-swimmers. I think location was good for non-drivers - you can get a train from geneva airport to Leysin Feyday in 2 hours changing at Aigle for cog train, then walk down from Feyday in 10 mins. Good free wifi in hotel, but in apartment block you pay 5 CHF per 2 days and wifi reception still variable. Leysin is very hilly and the navette only runs round the village every hour, so you need to get used to walking uphill in altitude if you are going out to restaurants etc. Sauna in apartment was really nice. Cons: None really, we only had one key for apartment between 6 of us (that is all they will do), so had to plan logistics quite carefully. Sofa bed fine for young kids, but less so for adults - so would recommend apartments for 4 adults or two adults plus kids. Apartment is not "rustic" nor building picturesque if this is what you are into, but if you want to be on the slopes via public transport within a few hours of landing in geneva, you cannot go wrong with Leysin provided you are prepared for the prices of everything.

Room Tip: I emailed them in advance to get an apartment with a sauna (no extra charge was made). We also had...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
0.1 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
649 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Toscane
Villa Toscane
#17 of 17 in Montreux
265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#1 of 3 in Aigle
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Residence

Address: Belvedere, route du 20, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Price Range: £55 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Central Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing