We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Residence
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just back from a Crusader Holiday here, disappointed with the 'look' of the hotel, after having seen all the beautiful chalet type buildings, our room was on the 4th floor, had fantastic scenery over the mountains, shame about the state of paintwork, or the dirty windows and balcony furniture. Room was warm, we never had to put the radiator on!! despite having snow on 2 days. Bed was comfortable despite the rough sheets!! (holes in the bottom ones) We had a family room with bunk beds too. TV with sky that was good, but NO kettle so that very disappointing. Food was self service plenty of it, depending what time you turned up!! we had big parties turn up and swarm around the food like ants. Evening meals were bland, Only once were there any sort of potatoes on offer!! however you would not go hungry. Hotel is mostly aimed at skiers, as we were out of season (shops and ski lift were closed) they need to look at this. all in all a lovely holiday but an improvement in the hotel would have made it wonderful. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were great, not too crowded,!!

Room Tip: The higher the better, the views are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefflee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    149
    45
    28
    24
See reviews for
152
77
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in April as part of a Diamond Rail holiday package to Switzerland. Not the pretty alpine hotel you might expect in this lovely mountain valley, more a blocky lump. The views from the balcony were spectacular and you can see why it is a very popular spot for skiers. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant is all varnished timber in style and has nice views out over the valley. Food is available as a self service buffet and generally was excellent in quality and quantity only spoiled on the last 2 days by a shortage of rolls and bread at breakfast. The swimming pool and spa looked good but we didn't find time to use it on this trip. While the location is spectacular it is in a steep valley so it is not the place if you enjoy a gentle stroll to nearby shops and attractions in the evenings.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel look out over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clutzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Generally great trip. Went with big group. Hotel welcoming food plentiful hot and of a good variety for our week. We actually went full board , mistake, bit of a trek back from slopes at lunch. All uphill and as week wore on a long haul for tired bodies. Only five minutes but once a day enough.

Pool and hot tub were an added bonus. Maybe could have been a little warmer but still a lovely facility to have on site.

Skiing was great and at the end of the slopes in the little bar we had a few great après ski hours culminating in a sing off with the local ski instructors.

Tobogan which is at a different location a must. Adults and kids enjoyed.

Finally I had to leave ahead of the group, and to my delight the hotel was a two minute cab ride to local train station from where I had direct access to Zurich airport.

While on the slopes is always better. Not a bad ski option at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The pool and sauna area was very nice and didn't seem to get overcrowded when we wanted to use them. There were no groups staying here when we stayed which may be why.

The room was basic but clean and tidy. It did lack a bit of tlc as the lamp, one of the chairs and the bathroom tap all needed repairing. However, the view was lovely. It was very hot in the room at night time and you aren't able to control the temperature of the room. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is a shame, especially as the Alpine prices for drinks and food are high!

We took the half board option. The restaurant staff were nice enough and the food was fine. there was plenty of it too. If you want breakfast before 8am there was no cooked option (bacon and scrambled eggs).

The bar area is ok but tends to be dominated by unsupervised children. They were no bother but not everybody's cup of tea.

The village is a short walk down hill and quite pleasant. He hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the ski lift.

We would return for a budget stay in a nice location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithlasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is exactly what we wanted for our Switzerland snow ski vacation. Fabulous mountain views, clean room for 2 parents and 2 kids, pool, friendly staff, bar and restaurant. All at a low price....Loved it! The village was marvelous also...

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, (7th) and had superb views of the beautiful alps. This hotel does require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTBMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Ok, so reviews are mixed on this hotel. We went as a family for a skiing holiday and had a great time. If you're expecting 5 Star luxury, don't come here. If you want a friendly, relaxed, reasonably priced, unpretentious hotel with good facilities for the kids, then seriously consider this as an option.

Food: Yes, the food is sometimes a little plain and it can get busy at mealtimes. Generally, we felt that the food was of a good standard.

Staff: We found the staff to be very helpful, very polite and, if we needed something done, it was taken care of quickly.

Facilities: Good. Schools use this hotel for group holidays. It can get a little noisy, the pool and leisure facilities can get crowded.

Distance from the slopes: Not too bad. A shortish uphill walk to a nice nursery slope or down to the main lifts. Just tolerable if you're carrying a lot of kit.

The room: Spacious, if a little basic. No tea and coffee facilities so you may wish to pack a small kettle. There's a flat screen TV with a good range of channels and plenty of sockets. Lots of hot water; except when things get busy, then it's not so hot! We slept well, (probably because we were so knackered from teaching the kids)!

Overall: We'd certainly come here again. Watch the exchange rates. Switzerland is getting a tad pricey for us Brits!

Room Tip: The lifts aren't great. Try and get a room on the lower floors, say 2 or 3. We were on level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Findmeacheapdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsildon,Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here early Feb. the week before UK half term. 3 adults and 2 children.
OK, the highlights, the hotel is in a good position for getting on the slopes (nursery) or lifts each day. Parking good. Locality to restaurants, shops, cafes etc good.
Hotel restaurant had an eclectic choice for dinner, depending on which way you look at it....no chips all week (good), veal featured (not good when you have to explain it's origins to young ones). Quality of cooking ok in general though. Breakfast very 'samey' as per previous reviews but this is typical when not staying at a top hotel.
Reception staff (also bar staff, one in the same...) were lovely although overworked! Room cleaning lady was brill.
Bad stuff. Hotel has a lot of school groups. The hotel is not responsible for the kids, the school staff are..but they seem to spend alot of time in the bar and not supervising their charges. This needs improvement as other guests can find the noise, size of the groups and general rowdiness challenging (and we had a teenager with us!). The swimming pool and sauna/jacuzzi area need more attention with regard to this, maybe no unaccompanied under 16's??
Resort is great though and would go again.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was spacious with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloHoliday67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
0.1 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#1 of 3 in Aigle
64 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Toscane
Villa Toscane
#17 of 17 in Montreux
262 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Residence

Property: Hotel Central Residence
Address: Belvedere, route du 20, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing