We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snow Shoe Walking Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet L'Epicea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet L'Epicea
Ranked #2 of 7 Leysin B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“Snow Shoe Walking Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The chalet was very clean, comfortable and well furnished - everything you would expect of a Swiss B&B. It was the little things that really made the difference - Ian and Julie are really friendly people and extremely hospitable. Although it is a B&B, there is a small kitchen for guest use - absolutely ideal for those on a restricted diet (or budget). A coffee machine in the common area, a kettle in the room, good WiFi, a wide selection of TV channels (including the main English channels), good parking... really hard to fault!
The chalet is about 1km from the town centre, so there is a bit of a walk to shops and restaurants (nice walk, good views). There is virtually no traffic past the chalet and it is extremely quiet.
Ian is an International Mountain Leader and leads snow show walks in the winter. We had 5 days of guided walking which were generally off the beaten track and included advice on snow conditions, avalanches and animal tracks. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JL_and_GL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Excellent hospitality from Ian and Julie. Ian picked us up from the station when we arrived, which was very welcome after the 2 hour train journey, Julie provided a lovely breakfast both mornings we stayed and both of them couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
The chalet itself is in a beautiful location and our room was clean and comfortable, plus the view of the mountains from the window was stunning. It was a short walk from the town centre, which meant our room was very peaceful at night.
We also did a day's snowshoeing with Ian, which was great fun and he tailored it to the fitness of the whole group so that everyone could enjoy it at their own pace. The views were fantastic and Ian is very knowledgeable on the area.
I thoroughly recommend staying here - in fact, we're already thinking about a trip back in the summer!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Great location, great view from every room, very nice host, very clean rooms and in general very good value for money! The chalet is a bit outside of the village centre but it is compensated with lovely view you get!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartosz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was my first stay in Leysin and I have to say it was great. Communication was straight forward and booking easy.

Julie and Ian were kind enough to pick us up from the station which was a great help after a long week at work! The room was spotless and had everything we needed with the location being perfect for our needs (It was close to the snow shoe route I wanted to use and the village for my girlfriend to go snowboarding)

Breakfast was nicely presented and a great for getting setup for a day of sport!

Overall I had zero complaints about staying here and would happily book here again the next time I am in Leysin and have no trouble at all recommending it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

My friend and I stayed with Ian and Julie for a fall hiking vacation early this fall. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The bathroom facilities were modern and the Chalet offers excellent views of the valley and beyond. Breakfast was light and fresh each morning.

Additionally, Ian's expertise as a guide offered an incredible trekking experience that will last a lifetime. I would definitely recommend taking advantage of this opportunity and getting to know Leysin's unique mountainside setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zach g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Even though it rained during our stay the overall setting and cleanliness
of the property along with the amenities were outstanding.
The Chalet is a good hike to the village so if you have no rental
car, not to worry, there are options to call a cab.
The rooms are excellent as well as the common place living area.
Nice place to read a book. They even make theor own jams and over a lovely breakfast.
Thanks Julie for the hospitality.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. ours had a shower, but bathtub options also exist. Views from all three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ch1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchs Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

A dream of night and a huge breakfast: D. I can sincerely recommend the new hosts. We will certainly back here like to stay and relax. Quiet location and beautiful views of the mountains. We look forward now to a next time. Thank you very much for the nice family atmosphere and hospitality. Goodlook and greetings Family Hühne

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central Residence
0.7 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#1 of 7 in Leysin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet L'Epicea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet L'Epicea

Property: Chalet L'Epicea
Address: Avouillon, route d' 26, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Leysin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet L'Epicea 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Leysin, a village in the Swiss Alps, this traditionally styled bed and breakfast offers a variety of facilities in a picturesque setting with amazing views of the alps. B&B L'Epicea is located in a quiet and peaceful quarter of Leysin and guests can enjoy the mountain scenery of the Swiss Alps and countryside views just 1 km from the cable car departure point and 40 km from Montreux and Gstaad. The hotel offers traditional rooms, decorated with mainly wooden furnishings, with a cosy atmosphere. Our breakfasts include fresh bread and croissants delivered daily by a local bakery along with a selection of teas & fresh coffee, fresh fruit, fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and our renowned homemade jam.We also offer guided walking holidays based in Leysin exploring the Swiss Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet L'Epicea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing