We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally Faultless! 'Genuine' first class service at every turn.”
Review of Hotel Vitznauerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Literally Faultless! 'Genuine' first class service at every turn.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So great to come back from a holiday and actually feel completely relaxed! This hotel was just faultless in every regard. From the moment we arrived the superb reception staff were so genuine in wanting to provide the highest level of service. They were so professional and really great that it never crossed the line into that 'over service' that some smart hotels can fall into. They got it right 100% of the time as did also the staff in the restaurant and spa. And really helpful of them to mention to arrive via train from Zurich airport to Lucerne and then a very scenic boat trip to Vitznau - really great way to arrive and much cheaper than taking a taxi!
Another wonderful aspect was that unlike a lot of lakeside hotels it didn't have a road in between it and the lake. So not just wonderful gardens running right onto the lake with water so clean that swimming was no problem at all but also completely quiet at night for blissful nights sleeping!
The room had a stunning view of the lake (as does the restaurant) as the hotel is situated a particularly attractive part of Lake Lucerne. The spa has first class facilities and relaxation areas, which is ideal as being near a lake and mountains the weather can have the odd off moment so it's nice to have a fall back if you can't fit in a mountain walk or lake trip.
It's also literally just five mins walk from the part where the lake boats stop and also the mountain railway terminal, so it couldn't be a more convenient place to start your days trip.
One of the best holidays we've ever had no question at all.

Room Tip: Lake view is such a special one from the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryKewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Dear Terry

Best wishes from Vitznau and many thanks for your fantastic feedback!

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your Holidays and feel relaxed! This is our goal!

We are so happy about your words. So many praise!

We would also never miss our Location directly at the Lake Lucerne! Swimming in the sea is perfect and just Relaxing..

Thanks again for that Feedback!
We would be so glad to welcome you again in our Hotel!

Best wishes and all the best!
Your Vitznauerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    39
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
54
143
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khor, Qatar
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Here you will live a dream. Real 5 star hotel, spacious rooms with lovely modern theme. Large bathroom with state of the art facilities. The view is more than perfect, you could spend hours looking out the window without getting enough of it. Great staff you will love them all. Really quiet place and nice town in between Luzern and Zurich. Food was really nice and creative, and breakfast was simple but has whatever you will think of. The price is really great, you get what you are paying for.
2 notes: the shower was broken in my room, and once during breakfast the staff was a bit rude because we came late to breakfast (But still within the serving hours), I think he was preparing the tables for lunch so he was pissed off when we chose a table (he had already prepared) therefore we had to change place and also the way he took the order and cleaned up the table was not comfortable.
However my stay was overall more than lovely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdulaziz_alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Dear Guest

Many thanks for this great Feedback! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and your room with the large bathroom!

We can not say anything else than you are right.. The Location at the Lake Lucerne and the view are more than perfect!

We are sorry for the broken shower and the staff during the breakfast. We do have new staff and it wont happen again!

We would be glad to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best!

Your Vitznauerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Only one word can describe the impressions that sink in when you first see the hotel, whether you approach by road (30-45 mts from Lucerne by car) or the more special boat trip (46-60 mts by boat) - stunning!

The hotel is simpy DDG, which I term as "drop dead gorgeous". But it is not just the stunning location, lakeside & mountain views and the serenic beuty.

The food is extremelly good, and this is combined with attentive & outstanding service, noting your every need and frankly exceeding them. For example if staff happen to overhear you talk about "xyz missing from my room", the chances are that "xyz" will magically appear. Ask for Balsamic vinegar, and you get Olive Oil as its natural partner too. Impressive.

Rooms are well sized, suites (there are 4) are exceptional (two story), bathrooms newly renovated and the spa area simply trhe best I hjave ever seen - steam, sauna, fitness, all new, modern, chic...with great touches such as small fruits, soft drinks etc all for no extra cost.

The only bug bear is the access to the free wifi - painful password process, this needs reentering every time you turn on the phone. Somewhat inconvenient.

In short, even though I live "next door" just 40 miniutes away, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in - and I will return and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a special hotel in central Switzerland - worth every cent!

Room Tip: if you can stretch to a suite, you will not be disappointed. Try to get Lakeview whatever you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Dear Dwatkinsuk

Wow.. what a great Feedback! Many thanks and best wishes from Vitznau!

It is so great to hear that you have enjoyed your room and the spa area.
Our staff is very attentive and of course when we hear something is missing, we have to act! Because our goal is, that every guest is as happy as you are after a stay in our hotel.

Thanks again for this fantastic feedback.
We would be glad to see you again and wish you all the best.

Your Vitznauerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlunkhofen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed with my wife and daughter for two nights. The staff is exceptionally friendly. Being Swiss myself I think I can say that this needs to be mentioned. Warm and welcoming and I guess not one of them of Swiss origin. Might be the secret of the success.

The exterior of the hotel are kept as they were designed over one hundred years ago. The interior however is modern and tasteful. They have kept the charming features and added the modern luxury.

The spa is small but the staff knows their trade. If you enjoy a large spa or a swimming pool this is not for you. In summer the lake is better than any pool but in the colder season you will not be able to swim. There is a small hot (not so hot) tub and a sauna. You can get a lot of treatments.

The location is great and the park lovely. You can enjoy your food or drinks right on the water. The room we stayed in had a nice balcony and we could enjoy the views of the lake, the wonderful sun set and the ships passing by.

Breakfast buffet is rich and you can enjoy the food looking out onto the water.

If you like to mingle with jet-setters you might want to stay at the Park Hotel Vitznau. However, if you are looking for a quiet jewel, visit the Vitznauerhof. You will not be disappointed. But you will be a couple Swiss francs poorer as all of this does not come cheap! I did not regret one franc I spent there though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XC-TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your detailled Feedback! It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Vitznauerhof.

Friendliness is one of the most important points for us and we try to be as helpful as it is possible everytime!

The architect tried to combine the old with some new design and mixed the tradition with the modernity. We are happy to hear, that you like it!

Thank you again for your great Feedback. We would be glad to welcome you again in our house and wish you all the best.

Your Vitznauerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Perfect Location at one of the nicest places in switzerland! Great Restaurant, very clean Hotel, beautiful Wellness area! Very close, there is the oportunity to do different hiking trips. I have never been in a nicer Hotel in switzerland

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just back from a weekend wedding at this most impressive Hotel and Spa. Flying from London into Zurich, a train ticket can be bought that includes a boat transfer to Vitznau, via Lucerne. The ticket cost 100 CHF return and journey from Zurich central to Lucerne in about an hour. Literally a hop skip and jump from Lucerne train station is the terminal for the ferry which is a passenger only transfer of about an hour to Vitznau. Our ferry happened to be a refurbished old paddleboat and as is the way in Switzerland, they delight in the engineering of the paddleboat mechanics, so you can look directly into the engine room and marvel at how clean the pistons and camshafts are maintained!
A truly unforgettable transfer to Vitznau if the weather is right, as we were this trip. The ferry calls in at a few stops and jumping off at Vitnau, it is a few hundred yards easy walk to the superbly presented Hotel Vitznauerhof. Refurbished after severe damage from flooding a few years ago this Hotel gives off immediate impressions of sophistication and old world grandeur.
The hotel lies on the very shore of Lake Lucerne and take a walk out to the jetty and dive in! Swimming appears to be safe, although no sign of any lifeguards were visible, so perhaps children would need to be supervised. As it happened, the wedding was 'child-free' by mutual agreement of all concerned, so I cannot comment on how family friendly the Hotel could be.
An alfresco bar and restaurant area has a super view over the lake to the other side and the beautiful hills beyond. An outdoor jacuzzi is very clean and clearly very well maintained. Sunloungers and plenty of towels available, just outside the modern spa area which has everything you would expect in an wellness facility, everything looks brand new and an impressive feeling of quiet and calm.
The rooms are very nice indeed with safe, Nespresso machine and a minibar. Fabulous bathroom. It was well over 35C this weekend and my room was on the fourth floor, so with no aircon and a room facing the mountain instead of the lake, the Hotel already knew that it was going to be hot and a large stand up fan was supplied and was on constantly during my stay! Bed was very comfortable and could not have asked for more, although I regret not getting a lake view room when I had the chance. I was travelling alone and not expecting to stay long in my room, so I did not spend the extra on a lake view. Get a lake view if you can!

The breakfast buffet was outstanding and in fact, I am hard pushed to think of any better, anywhere. Everything you could wish for and more. Hot and cold. Veggie, soya milk, lactose and gluten free. Everything! In a lovely high ceiling function room, with large windows that look over the lake. What a memorable breakfast.

Staff were all friendly and attentive. With the large wedding and another function on at the same time, the service outside was a little stressed, but they worked very hard indeed. The food served at the wedding (over 100 people) was fantastic and I bet the normal menu would be top class fare.

This trip would be perfect for a long weekend/short break. Swiss public transport is so reliable, you do not need to bother renting a car. There are other Hotels in Vitznau, including (I believe) another more expensive Hotel (The Parkhotel?) a little further along the lake. But I would very happily return here for another luxury treat and a good swim in the lake!

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigPaddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just returned from a holiday of which 2 days were spent in Vitznau at this magical hotel. We were looking for a lake touch hotel and the options in lucerne were a bit expensive for the old hotels, so we decided on vitznau and the hotel looked like exactly what we wanted. Everything was so wonderful right from the ferry ride from lucerne, takes about 40 mins, but time just flies off admiring the scenery. since it was raining when we arrived at the ferry station, we called the hotel to pick us up and we had someone come to us asap with umbrellas. the hotel is a 2min walk from the ferry station (we dint know). we were shown to our beautiful lake facing premium room, small but very tastefully decorated with minimilistic furniture. the bathroom was lovely (the hotel has been refurbished in 2010 post the floods) the large balcony provides breathtaking views of the lake. Even though there were other guests, the hotel seemed like we were the only people there and enjoyed perfect privacy. The lady at the concierge suggested a wonderful place on mount riggi for dinner, this was the best part of our entire holiday. the riggi station is again 2mins from the hotel.breakfast was a small and simple spread, we asked for some chicken salami which wasn't there and were promptly helped by the staff,who got it for us. breakfast by the lakeside restaurant is the best start to the day anyone can ask. staff is warm and friendly. also dinner in the Sens restaurant is a must, its right on the lake with a wonderful outdoor deck for drinks and snacks, but make sure you make reservations well in advance, tables get booked fast. the hotel makes you fall in love with it and vitznau and will make u keep coming back. I most definitely will

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip_so82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitznau
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
270 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rigi
Hotel Rigi
#4 of 6 in Vitznau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Campus Hotel Hertenstein
8.4 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
8.8 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitznauerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitznauerhof

Property: Hotel Vitznauerhof
Address: Seestrasse 80, Vitznau 6354, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Vitznau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vitznauerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly restored boutique hotel in the heart of Switzerland. Come and relax with us and enjoy tranquil Lake Lucerne and the stunning mountain panorama. Let yourself be pampered in our SPA. Treat yourself and invest in your health and well-being. Discover exciting haute cuisine in on of our restaurants.Traditional and modern styles have been carefully combined to create a harmonious whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vitznauerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing