We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent views”
Review of Waldhaus-Huldi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waldhaus-Huldi
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This family run hotel in the quiet village of Adelboden is ideal for people wishing to walk, explore and ski in this area of the Bernese Oberland. It is also a peaceful haven for those who only want to sit on the terrace and enjoy the spectacular views. Comfortable rooms, good food and friendly staff make for an enjoyable stay. But, most of all, the tireless work done be the family to ensure that your holiday is one to remember, is a special feature of this hotel. We have just returned from our 18th visit together (but my wife beats me with a total of 42 visits). This surely says it all !

Room Tip: Try the cheese course at dinner - excellent. Make good use of the lift pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DeryckH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a week in June with my wife and daughter. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Adelboden, but it is only a short walk into the town itself. Unfortunately, while we were here the main road through the town was being resurfaced. Whilst this was done with normal Swiss efficiency, it did mean that, at times, we had to find some extraordinarily convoluted routes to get from the hotel to the other side of the town.

The hotel itself is a typical picture-postcard Swiss chalet. We stayed in the Waldhaus in a huge room (#72) on the top floor. The room itself was a duplex and our daughter occupied the upper deck whilst we were in a very substantial room below. The room was nice, but could probably do with some updating. Some of the furniture was a little shabby. Nothing too bad, but it did detract. The hotel also needs to look into buying some new towels. The bathroom was great (particularly with the ability to lounge in the tub with the window open to look out over the mountains) but drying yourself off afterwards felt a little bit like rubbing sandpaper over your back!

We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Breakfasts were okay, but if some of the big walking tour groups got there before you, then was often little in the way of choice. Evening meals were, perhaps, somewhat more varied. On our last night we decided that we should have taken advantage of the 'dine around' option to try other hotel restaurants in Adelboden. This is only available on certain nights of the week, and we had missed it by the end of our stay.

The staff at the hotel were, uniformly, excellent. From the reception desk to the dining room to the cleaning staff they were all exceptionally willing to help and assist wherever necessary. All were really friendly and will make any stay a better one.

We had a great time touring the Adelboden area while staying here. The inclusion of lift passes as part of the 'deal' meant that we travelled far and wide during our holiday. We would definitely recommend this place to others. It is clean and comfortable and you will be made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Look no further for a genuine warm-hearted welcome. The hotel has a magnificent setting amidst the mountains in a truly charming village. Kurt and his family have owned the hotel for 100 years this year and are devoted to making your stay comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble. Service is impeccable. Bedrooms are comfortable, water piping hot. Many of the rooms have a mountain view and some even have two balconies. The terrace seating area is a delight. Meals were nicely cooked and presented. It was heartbreaking to say goodbye to the breakfast buffet! Many families return here year after year and I hope to be one of them. Never been to the Alps? Give Adelboden a visit summer or winter and I guarantee you won,t be disappointed. the hotel offers competitive rates for a weeks' stay and offers guided winter activities including winter walking on the superb mountain paths.

Room Tip: The hotel is set across two different buildings. We were in the annex, which, although on the roadsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISABEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed a week at the Huldi as part of a hiking holiday with a group of 37. The family run hotel was fabulous. Clean comfortable rooms with a stunning view from two balconies. The owners made every effort to insure our stay exceeded our expectations. The food was the best we ever had in Switzerland. The free wireless internet helped us keep in touch with home. Just a short walk into town for shopping and public transportation. As I said we traveled with a large group and without exception, all agree, one of the best holidays ever.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spend a fabulous week in this quaint little village of Adelboden at the Waldhous-Huldi while on a HF Holiday walking tour. The 4th generation owners were very accommodating and provided excellent service, as did their very dedicated staff. The updated guest rooms offered amazing views from the balcony, were spotless and well maintained. Our dining experience each night was a foodies delight with a French flair consisting of many options and courses. Every afternoon at 4pm we enjoyed tea and biscuits in the lovely parlor. I also took advantage of the heated pool which was refreshing and a real treat after a day of hiking. We were also treated to a wine tasting, cheese tasting and musical entertainment.It was hard to say goodbye, and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014zeldab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A family run hotel in a quiet part of the village were standards are excellent. Great views from the dining room with great food, wonderful attentive staff, superb views all contributed to a wonderful walking holiday with HF Holidays

Room Tip: Ask for South facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a walking holiday. I have never stayed in a hotel, motel, or Bed and Breakfast where the owners have been so pleasant and eager to please their guests. The food was excellent. Fellow walkers with food allergies were totally accommodated. The beds were very comfortable. View from our balcony was amazing! (#65) Bathroom was modern with like-new shower and fixtures. Plenty of drawer and closet space.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brady3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 15 in Adelboden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baren
Hotel Baren
#9 of 15 in Adelboden
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinmattli
Hotel Steinmattli
#8 of 15 in Adelboden
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhaus-Huldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhaus-Huldi

Address: Dorfstrasse 77/88, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: £155 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldhaus-Huldi 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Waldhaus-Huldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Huldi Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing