We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Romantic Getaway”
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Cambrian hotel is located in a quiet village of Adelboden, great place for a quick escape from the busy city lifestyle. The hotel has fantastic facilities, and the service staff was superb, staff helped me organizing few romantic surprises. The hotel offers fascinating views of the Swiss alps, be it by the outdoor infinity pool/jacuzzi or by the tea and lounge room, and even on the restaurant. The room we stayed in was very stylish loft type, elegantly designed and very comfortable bed, it also offers a very nice view from the balcony. Spa facilities are very clean and amazing, I highly recommend their spa, even for a day trip.. I might go there even just for a day trip to their spa.

Room Tip: Junior suites or rooms on the higher floors offers a better view of the alps and the horizon. Spa i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wynskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We choose to have a Day at the Beautiful SPA of the Hotel.
It is very appreaciated that it is possible as a non guest of the Hotel to have a Spa Day.
The Entry Fee is 38.-per person witch i consider rather low regarding that you are allowed to use all facilities inklusive Slippers,Towels and Bathrobe.
The Outdoor Pool is a Gem,beautiful view of the Mountains around,with a Sundeck with Sun chairs and a restaurant were they serve a delicious little Selection made out of Locally made products.
Loved also the Indoor Pool with its Wall that feels like its Raining when You are under neath it.
All of the Steam bath/Sauna etc has a very nice Arcitecture and it is Spotlessly Clean everywere.
The Crew of the Hotel and SPA are all very Friendly and Professional.
Only a few hours spend in this Beautiful Spa made us feel so Relaxed as if we were on Holidays.
Thanks a lot to everybody that made it possible for us non guest to Enjoy Your Gem SPA!
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Out room was lovely, I really liked the decoration and the hotel is in the perfect spot in the middle of town.
The spa is lovely, sauna, steam room and of course the outside pool which is beautiful. You can sit there and enjoy the gorgeous views over the mountains.
Great service, would reccommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in August 2013 and were not dissapointed with the hotel and its location. The only
downside is that everything is very expensive. The spa was clean and very well set up. The manageress at the spa was very helpful and showed us the facilities on the first day of our stay. The treatment prices were so high it meant that we were unable to have a massage whilst we were there so I can't comment on those.
The restaurant at the Cambrian is very costly but the food was excellent and the service was exceptional.
There's free cake between 4-5pm but it is not made clear that the tea is not free and cost us 17 francs.
We would just like to have known this in advance rather than have the waiter chase us into reception with the bill.
The rooms are a good size, clean and the bathroom well stocked with washing products. We had a room at the front of the hotel that still gave a view of the surrounding mountains. For a considerable amount of money we could have upgraded to a room with a panoramic view of the mountains but our room was good enough.
There are no tea making facilities in the rooms which was a bit disappointing. Come on Cambrian, surely you can give away a few cups of tea and coffee!!
The walking around Adelboden is excellent and the tourist information hand out free maps that show local walks.
The cable car prices are extortionate and meant that we could only do some walks once where as we might have done them again.
We stayed for seven days but if I was honest we probably would have liked to leave after four nights.
The weather was mostly ok but because you are in the mountains when the clouds came in it did seem fairly dismal there and we were disappointed not to walk on three of the days.
I think the caveat with the Cambrian is "take plenty of cash" and expect to pay through the nose for everything.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have been planning a long weekend only in the hotel, but after these 2 days, I would definitely go back.
This is a design hotel, only renovated a few years ago, thus interior design is really cool and still cozy. The food and service in the restaurant is perfect. You don't have to wait, there is always someone around if you would like to have something.
Same positive impression at the reception. Any request was kindly fulfilled in a few minutes in at least 3 languages if not more ;)
The only backside is that they are in lack of parking places. However, the hotel is located in the city center, 50meters away from the bus station, 3 mins walk from the main street and 5mins walk from an indoor parking lot.
In brief I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to spend relaxing nights after long hiking or skiing tours.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view to the mountains are more expensive, but they must worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szaboemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've been here in July 2013 and in few words its superb!
The mountains and fresh air make you relax and totally enjoy this hotel.
In the hotel everything is with great taste organise, the swimming pool its superb both inside and outside.
Food is other great thing you will experience if you chose The Cambrian.
People in the hotel are very, very nice and polite... they will make you fell like home with every question you'll go to them.
So, I will just say I will sure plan on coming back in the future.

Room Tip: No noise in the rooms!!! Spa is great - a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stGeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in the Cambrian and could make use of a 3 for 2 deal. Overall we had a very pleasant stay with the following pros and cons:
+ friendly local staff in the restaurant
+ nice spa
+ nice lounge with mountain view
- one customer ignorant reception lady (we asked if we get some help with our luggage and it seemed to be a ridiculous request, she was more concerned about us parking on the correct spot and paying for it...)
- reception didn't know adelboden or the area very well

Adelboden and the Cambrian is certainly a place we would go back to. The Cambrian represents themselves as a top class hotel and they are on the right track but fall short with the reception staff and some small details.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Com4tTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
13.2 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
229 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
720 reviews
13.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 15 in Adelboden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: £154 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing