We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Design and expensive hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
St-Saphorin-Lavaux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Design and expensive hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Born in Switzerland, having quite a good overview of hotel management, I was a bit disappointed by the hotel.
Yes, the design is perfect, the location is amazing, but it's not worth the price.
Rooms are not totally sound insulated, the spa is quite small and the outside pool cannot welcome more than a few couples. You definitely have to choose your moment to enjoy the spa, given the 71 rooms in the hotel !
Breakfast is a nice buffet

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylifeepesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    214
    71
    25
    20
See reviews for
107
511
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Beautifully decorated hotel-friendly staff. Public areas clean and tidy. Rooms very clean and tidy. Food is excellent-just wish there was tea/coffee facilities in room... Need tea in the morning before I face the world!
Spa was great but fully booked for treatments-would be useful to be advised to book in advance of arrival.
Town is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneSPStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We just returned after staying 5 nights at the Cambrian in Adelboden, and I simply can't wait till the next time.
Adelboden is a lovely village with kind and welcoming people, and the Cambrian is not different.
Service was great, every question that we had was kindly replied by the staff, recommendations and reservations were done by them to other restaurants in the village as well.
Our room with a breathtaking view of the alps was simply amazing, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in!
The external poos was a nice treat as well, as it is so relaxing to simply enjoy it (or the jacuzzi) with this amazing view.

The only thing we had a minor trouble with was the parking as there are only about 10 external parking spots for the hotel (that for some reason charge 10 CHF per day) and some additional spots in the Garage which is shared with other (and costs 15 CHF per day). If no place left you will be sent to park at the street and use the parking meter...

I hope we'll get to visit this lovely hotel someday in the future as we already miss it.

Room Tip: Order a south room with a view to the alps, it is simply breathtaking to wake up every morning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhadG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We've stayed at the Cambrian for the second time and were not disappointed. We love the friendly staff, great location of the hotel, amazing alpine view, generous breakfast and wonderful spa. This is a small, personal hotel where you instantly feel at home, ready to kick off your shoes and just relax. If you love personal service with a local, effortless touch, this is the right hotel for you.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south are more expensive but you'll get a wonderful mountain view that will be wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l84dinner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Cambrian hotel is located in a quiet village of Adelboden, great place for a quick escape from the busy city lifestyle. The hotel has fantastic facilities, and the service staff was superb, staff helped me organizing few romantic surprises. The hotel offers fascinating views of the Swiss alps, be it by the outdoor infinity pool/jacuzzi or by the tea and lounge room, and even on the restaurant. The room we stayed in was very stylish loft type, elegantly designed and very comfortable bed, it also offers a very nice view from the balcony. Spa facilities are very clean and amazing, I highly recommend their spa, even for a day trip.. I might go there even just for a day trip to their spa.

Room Tip: Junior suites or rooms on the higher floors offers a better view of the alps and the horizon. Spa i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wynskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We choose to have a Day at the Beautiful SPA of the Hotel.
It is very appreaciated that it is possible as a non guest of the Hotel to have a Spa Day.
The Entry Fee is 38.-per person witch i consider rather low regarding that you are allowed to use all facilities inklusive Slippers,Towels and Bathrobe.
The Outdoor Pool is a Gem,beautiful view of the Mountains around,with a Sundeck with Sun chairs and a restaurant were they serve a delicious little Selection made out of Locally made products.
Loved also the Indoor Pool with its Wall that feels like its Raining when You are under neath it.
All of the Steam bath/Sauna etc has a very nice Arcitecture and it is Spotlessly Clean everywere.
The Crew of the Hotel and SPA are all very Friendly and Professional.
Only a few hours spend in this Beautiful Spa made us feel so Relaxed as if we were on Holidays.
Thanks a lot to everybody that made it possible for us non guest to Enjoy Your Gem SPA!
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Out room was lovely, I really liked the decoration and the hotel is in the perfect spot in the middle of town.
The spa is lovely, sauna, steam room and of course the outside pool which is beautiful. You can sit there and enjoy the gorgeous views over the mountains.
Great service, would reccommend

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
13.2 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Property: The Cambrian
Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing