We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you may want in the mountains-summer or winter”
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Prangins, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“All you may want in the mountains-summer or winter”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Two steps from the center of Adelboden, right in front of the Post office bus terminal and really close to the lifts-location is perfect. And when you check in, you do not want to go skiing any more, so good and pleasing it is. OK, you still enjoy the mountains and skiing and snow shoeing, but what a pleasure to "go home" :-)
Breakfast, rooms, spa, sauna, outside pool, fire place in the lobby, winter garden... the place to came back to

Room Tip: The rooms on the South side have a better view, but they are more expensive. If you are planning to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    220
    72
    25
    21
See reviews for
116
520
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Overall a good choice. Slightly too modern decor for our taste as we prefer a more rustic feel. Breakfast is excellent and so is the spa area. The rooms were good, not great. The beds could be more comfortable. Staff was ok -- helpful but not always the most capable. No parking which is annoying as that wasn't clear when we booked it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD_Worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our family of four (two boys aged 8 and 11) stayed 6 nights at The Cambrian and didn't want to leave! This was our 'splurge' week on a 7 week holiday from Australia and the experience will stay with us always. We had a three bedroom suite, each with its own bathroom. The beds, pillows and doonas were all beautifully comfortable and the little Toblerone chocolate on our pillow each night was a treat. Lovely bottles of both still and sparkling Adelboden water refreshed in the rooms each day. We loved the indoor pool with stunning views to the mountains and the outdoor heated infinity pool and spa.....with snow right up to the edges and breathtaking views. We swam and enjoyed these facilities each afternoon after skiing. My husband and I also enjoyed the 'adults only' area with Finnish sauna, steam room and relaxation room. This unisex 'nude zone' challenged my modesty, but didn't seem a problem for most European couples. The massage I booked at the spa one morning was lovely but the therapist was a little too efficient (but then I probably should have expected that in Switzerland). The hotel catered for our boys superbly, without being a hotel full of families with children. Miniature bath robes and slippers to visit the pool and spa; great children's menu at the Cambrian's restaurant, offering entree, main and dessert (even serving them a taster course of a single Toblerone piece with berry sauce while we were served a taster, compliments of the chef). There was also a kids activity room on the same level as the restaurant. While the room was geared toward younger children and we couldn't seem to get the Wii to operate, our boys still looked forward to a visit each morning, before skiing, while we finished our breakfast. Food and beverage were lovely. Buffet breakfast was a highlight, with yoghurt, puréed fruit and pistachio crumble parfaits being my favourite. Dinner was delicious but pricey, however there are plenty of well priced restaurants located on the Main Street, only minutes walk away (we'd particularly recommend the Thai restaurant). It is adviseable to book a table somewhere on Friday and Saturday evenings, as Adelboden is definitely a weekend hangout. Afternoon Tea, served from 4-5pm in the Winter Garden room was a lovely opportunity to appreciate the gorgeous view, while enjoying pots of leaf tea. The team of young staff were welcoming and very helpful, although conversing in English was a challenge for some. The decor throughout the hotel was elegantly casual, understated and very welcoming. A good complimentary DVD library available from reception, and while there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, the gorgeous bar staff were happy to fill a china teapot with hot water for me to take to the room each night. There was a bar fridge in the room, in which we stored our own drinks. Allow a leisurely 30 mins from the hotel to the ski slopes each day, with two separate gondolas required. Skis and boots can be stored near the end-stop of the first gondola (at your cost) or in the room provided at the hotel. Not all guests at The Cambrian are skiers, with plenty of more local couples, just there for a romantic weekend in the mountains. While The Cambrian was time-consuming to travel to without a car (we travelled from Salzberg), it's unique offer was well worth the time. We caught the local bus up the mountain from Frutigen, after training from Zurich, via Bern. The bus timetable is well linked with the train, the bus has an enclosed trailer for luggage and the bus station is directly opposite the hotel. Adelboden is a charming village to stay in and The Cambrian is absolutely first class!

Room Tip: Request a mountain-side room on higher floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Perfectly located right by the slopes, walking distance to everything. Staff are just beyond helpful, always smiling, and even though we asked ridiculous amounts of questions ( due to it being out first time) they still smiled and answered willfully!!! We stayed in the panoramic view suites , a little more pricey intact the whole hotel is pricey but WORTH it.The panoramic views are just breathtaking, ca not take it all in at once, two balconies, large double bed, 2 bathrooms. The only down fall was the fact that we canceled a massage 2 hours after we made it for the next day and they charged us a 100 euro cancelation fee without informing us, but because we loved it so much it wasn't a deciding factor!!!! Will recommend and go back!!!

Room Tip: Panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxlife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is the best skiing place hotel in Switzerland I've been so far. My standards here are somewhat lower than normal, as Swiss are not best in service sector in my opinion.

Stuff was very helpful. We had some questions regarding slopes and transportation and they explained all to us very into detail. I feel cold very easily (my threshold is low) and I mentioned that the air-conditioner was not increasing the temperature enough, they provided us with an additional heater. Hotel was nicely decorated, and rooms were pleasant. On breakfast each table had fresh flowers. Breakfast was not most-varied but was quite good. Again, better than most Swiss places. There was lots of toiletry, was OK but not that good (I have high standards using high-end products), again good compared to Swiss hotel standards. Furniture was new and nice.

There were some flows, but I am still giving 5 because of the very helpful stuff. There is no refrigerator (but as was winter we simply used the balcony). There is no cattle and the bed is not most comfortable though OK.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirine313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Three nights in the Cambrian Adelboden and we didn't want to leave. Our family of five stayed in a family room with one main room with queen bed, mezzanine with single bed and separate bedroom with two single beds. The hotel is very stylish and the perfect place to retreat. The outdoor heated pool/jacuzzi overlooking the rooftops of Adelboden and the valley is superb after a day's hiking. The indoor pool is also stunning. There is a restaurant with views across the valley - breakfast is extensive and excellent as is the dinner menu. The children were made to feel very welcome with coloring pencils and sheets. Afternoon tea is served in the lounge each afternoon - we didn't try this, but did enjoy drinks in the lounge in early evening before dinner. If only Adelboden were closer to home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyFamily512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

It's the second time we are staying at the Cambrian and we loved our stay both times. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the spa facilities are a dream come true after a busy day out in the surrounding nature. Everything about this place is impeccable. The one thing that keeps it from getting a five star rating is the restaurant and the service that comes with it. Both times we stayed here we had to wait more than 90 minutes for our food to arrive and while the restaurant atmosphere is cosy the prices and the quality of the food don't add up with the rest of the hotel. A word to the wise - if you want to make the Cambrian truly amazing the only thing that needs a bit of work is the restaurant staff (smile and make the guests feel welcome) and service as well as the food on offer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mank0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
210 reviews
13.2 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
275 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 15 in Adelboden
141 reviews
13.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Property: The Cambrian
Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing