We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and Staff”
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Let me start by saying this is indeed a very nice place to stay. Views from the lounge and restaurant are magnificent. We had a family room with a small balcony and a view on the mountains. Make sure you ask this at the time or reservation. It is a nice plus.

Breakfast buffet is as can be expected from a luxury hotel: abundance, quality and all tastes catered for. We had a 4 course dinner the first night and were not disappointed. Especially the wines going with each dish were outstanding !

Is there really nothing to 'complain' about ? Well, yes, there are a few mishaps.

1/ The infinity pool you will find on the hotel pictures is merely an infinity tub, although the views are magnificent and the water is nicely warm. The spa area itself (with the indoor pool) is very nice, however. Steam bath and sauna areas are very large and comfortable.

2/ In addition, we had booked a dinner package for each day of our stay, but the 2nd night, we discovered the restaurant would be closed after we had contacted the hotel to change our booking. From a hotel with this reputation and luxury status, I would expect some extra proactivity. Staff told us they would be happy to help us with reserving a table elsewhere, but we decided to go out and look for an alternative ourselves.

3/ Sound insulation is not perfect. We had a family with small children next to our room and had to call the reception since they seemed to be tearing down the place at 11pm at night the first night. 2nd night: same story, but then I first went out to ask them to calm down and secondly banged the wall a few times since my 1st courteous request did not seem to help. My second attempt seemed to be working better ...

All in all, I must say this is an excellent hotel to stay, with a staff that will be helpful and will make you feel special at all times. Happy also the hotel accepted to change my booking with a limited penalty as opposed to standard booking policies. Flexibility makes a difference.

No 5 stars, given the noise issues (frustrated) and the unexpected restaurant closure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guillermo21Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We did do a little bit of walking, but I must admit that mostly we just spent our time between the room, the spa, and the lounge area, taking in the stunning views and chilling out. We had a sunny day and a rainy day. Both were perfect. Lazily sitting in the warm lounge area on a rainy day, surrounded by views of mountains and waterfalls will stay with me for a long time. We had lunch on the terrace on the sunny day: we felt like we were in our own private garden in the mountains. The staff were very efficient and friendly, and importantly for us, were very good at being there when you needed them, but without giving you the feeling that they were hanging around you. The hotel has been designed cleverly to feel very open, but without losing the snugness that you want to feel up in the mountains. The room was very comfortable and peaceful, with all the bits you would expect from a high-end hotel. The kids loved swimming in the outside pool, especially the bubbly part! We will go again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel probably had better views than ours - but it was still a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Positives:
Modern hotel
Great room size
Enjoyed the wellness centre
Great view
Great breakfast (staff did not mention this was free upon checking in), staff at breakfast should be commended as they always ask if you would like a tea/coffee or anything can be ordered from the kitchen e.g. Pancakes, omelettes etc

Negatives:
Heated pool quite small
Staff not helpful with recommending activities which I think is vital being so remote e.g. Restaurants nearby like desalps is great, day visit to Spiez, Thun lake
Parking is 15 francs a day but staff do not tell you this
No tea/ coffee or mini bar or fridge provided
No kettle provided, requested one but had to buy my own milk and tea (otherwise hotel charges 10 francs)
Location
Restaurant expensive did not bother to try. Saw US beef dish for 59 francs so didn't even bother looking at the rest of the menu.
Amenities from the bathroom were not topped up from first day for example our body wash, shampoo and conditioner despite being 1/4 full (not enough to use for two people)
Sometimes reception did not answer and when they did requests were slow to be processed
Queen bed had two single doonas

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrian A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Cambrian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014
Google Translation

Dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt im The Cambrian grundsätzlich in guter Erinnerung geblieben ist, freut uns sehr! Vielen Dank, haben Sie aber auch über die Ihrer Meinung nach weniger guten Dinge geschrieben. So können wir stets an unseren Dienstleistungen arbeiten und rundum zufriedene Gäste verabschieden.
Gerne möchten wir zu einigen Anmerkungen von Ihnen Stellung nehmen. Unsere Mitarbeiter sind stets bemüht, unseren Gästen sämtliche wichtigen Informationen zu vermitteln. Alle verfügen über ein breites Wissen über das Angebot im Hause und in Adelboden und stehen gerne für eine Beratung zur Verfügung. Dass Sie den Eindruck hatten nicht vollumfänglich informiert gewesen zu sein, tut uns Leid.
Aus ökologischen Gründen haben wir bewusst darauf verzichtet, die Zimmer mit Minibars auszustatten. Selbstverständlich bringen wir aber unserem Gast das Gewünschte aufs Zimmer, was wir mit einem geringen Betrag verrechnen müssen.
Seien Sie versichert, dass wir Ihre Beanstandungen intern im Team besprochen haben.
Dürfen wir Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt restlos überzeugen? Wir freuen uns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Cambrian is a cool hotel with friendly staff, an amazing view, and a fabulous breakfast buffet. The rooms were well appointed, clean, and comfortable. You definitely MUST splash out for the rooms with a view of the valley.

On the downside, there were major issues with the wifi - Android devices weren't working I actually had to do some work when I was away so wifi was critical for me. The hotel did lend us an iPad which was pretty cool. We did spend quite a bit of time in a neighbouring hotel using their wifi.

And... although breakfast was great, the restaurant didn't live up to expectations

The 'pool with a view' is the hotel's star feature and it doesn;t disappoint. Pure chocolate box scenery as you wallow in a hot tub. It's great and worth the stay alone. Recommended.

Room Tip: VIEW VIEW VIEW VIEW - make sure you get a room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NorwichBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hi Friends,

We stayed at The Cambrian hotel for a night during our trip to Switzerland. This place, Adelboden, is a village and yet I managed to find it through my search on TripAdvisor.
The hotel ticked every possible check box. Highly recommended. Just keep in mind, fooding options are very limited for Vegetarians.

Pros

1) The best Infinity pool ever. Has the capability of being among the 10 best pools in the world with unbeatable views

2) Very modern and spacious rooms with balcony or window with excellent view. Taking the south facing rooms without doubt.

3) Good size washroom with top class emenities

4) Nice large lobby with unique furniture and decorative accessories

5) Very well located right opposite the bus stand. The bus starts from the Fruitegen station and terminates here

6) The reception staff were extremely courteous. Went out of the way to help us. Gave detailed idea of sightseeing in and around Adelboden

7) Lavish breakfast. The strawberries were to die for

8) The spa was a sell out throughout our stay. Must be good

Cons

1) The pricing could be better

For a quiet swiss holiday you have to stay here. Pin drop silence on the roads after 5 PM. One of the best walks I have had in my life. What amazing views. The Pizza we had at one of the places was out of the world (100 meters from hotel - its the only one there)

Happy Travelling,
Gautam

Room Tip: South Facing rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GudduKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had room 411 with a beatufil view to the valley and the mountains. The room had a good size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice as well. The room itself was very clean and the spa/wellness area, too. We enjoyed the outside pool with the stunnic view very much. The hotel offer a lot of DVD's you can rent for free. Also available are books and pocket and other games (DVD's and games for young and old). The breakfast offer a wide range of different breads, croissants, müsli, cerials, cheese, egs, fruits, tea, coffee, juice, ect. The hotel is well located and offer parking lots outside and inside (we used inside for 15.- p/day). You receive also a guest card saves you money for local attractions. The only "negative" we can say about the hotel are the above average prices for the dinner menue and a la carte dishes. Because of that we didn't eat in the restaurant, but once in the bar. It's a little cheaper and the burger has a good size for a good price.You will enjoy your stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eathealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I happened to be longing for this hotel from the moment when I read an article introducing "10 hotels with the best swimming pools that you have to visit before you die". The photos of the swimming pool that you may have seen on the internet are not exaggerated at all. It is exactly the same as what it is famous for. Perhaps the pool is not as big as one may expect, but it is still stunning and fantastic (its size doesn't matter).

The town is beautiful, room is fantastic, service is outstanding, breakfast is excellent, what else would one need more than all these?

* One little complaint - As I entered the breakfast restaurant, I chose a table at the terrace when I saw this jaw-dropping view outside. Only a few minutes later when I started having breakfast, the sun became suddenly so hot that my arms were already half-burned. I barely finished my plate and wanted to leave, but my wife insisted that we have some desserts before we go.

So, I asked the waiter if we could go back inside the restaurant and continue our breakfast at a new table (the restaurant was less than 20% full) because it was too hot to be outside, but the response was out of the hotel's character. He just looked at me for 3 seconds without answering, then deeply sighed while reluctantly saying "okay..." clearly and explicitly expressing "you are one strange guest" with his face.

My request may have been indecent depending on a waiter's and a guest's viewpoint, however, I hope the hotel knows that this little awkward moment may become a hair in the perfect soup. But I still want to give perfect scores to this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
13.2 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
239 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 13 in Lenk im Simmental
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
71 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#11 of 15 in Adelboden
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: £162 - £1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing