We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations”
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The hotel is really quite nice and has all the modern conveniences and design we like. I think someone else here stated that the pool had one of the best outdoor views they had ever seen--we couldn't agree more, we found excuses to go out and swim whenever we had a few extra minutes. The indoor pool is also great, and the view was so intense I found excuses to keep doing laps.

For those not familiar with the town, its a cute, end-of-road Swiss village, with a nice little 'strip', very low-key and local, but we heard plenty of German and American accents. The mountain is a bit spread out, its really not easy to move between some of the runs, and getting down is not straightforward, ask a local or the front desk for some guidance. We are snowboarders, found some good spots to hang out in, but again, about 50% of the mountain is tow rope, which throws some people.

Now that all said, the terrain was nice, the views outstanding, and the general atmosphere really laid-back and enjoyable. There is a separate, higher mountain plain that requires a cable car journey--it was a blast! They had a fun snow tube course, an igloo run by the fondue specialists 'Gerber' that was super cool and its a really unusual setting. There's only a few tow ropes, but we found some killer powder, made it worth it. Probably best to go if its sunny. One other tip: ask the hotel to drop you off at the base with their ski van, the mini gondola ride to the base from the village takes way too long if there is a queue

Back to the hotel, the food was excellent, staff were generally helpful (I read one comment hear about a front desk 'nightmare'...I think they might be a little green, but they are trying, we had a good experience.) The spa is really really nice (mini ceiling lights in the sauna, eg), good small workout area, had a good professional massage. Nice attached ski room too, and its heated unlike some that are basically indoor.outdoor basements! Bring some DVD's, the rooms are all well equipped and have fun!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYLONbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

There were many positives about our stay and we did enjoy ourselves overall. Rooms pleasant (although no bath which I think is a must in a top ski hotel), spa is stunning and outdoor pool has beautiful views over the slopes, food good, though service slow. Decor is very interesting, definitely very modern so don't go expecting a cosy atmosphere. On the negative side, they got our booking wrong which was an annoying start to our stay (didn't give us the rooms that we had booked six months previously), the hotel reception was at times very dozey and inexperienced, one courtsey van didn't seem enough to service 140 guests especially if they were making longer trips down to the train station, no-air con in rooms which got very hot at night. Of course, to us Brits, it seemed so expensive given the exchange rate which probably made us look at the hotel very critically in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JaneSurrey_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Wir hatten grosse Freude bei unseren Aufenthalt in Adelboden. Speziell, haben wir den Design vom Hotel, die Spa (mit der Spitze im Aussenpool), den freien Billard, die fantastische Aussicht, die Lage im Dorfzentrum, der Service am Empfang sowie am Frühstucksbuffet, die Aufmerksamkeit an unseren Hochzeit, höchstens geschätzt.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank finsteraarhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

This newly refurbished (Dec 07) four star hotel is not only excellent value for money, it also offers a friendly and attentive service and great food.

Set in the beautiful Swiss Alps, the hotel has been well decorated resulting in a modern, but warm and cosy, interior. They have a great picnic hamper for those heading into the mountains. But with a nice spa, pool room, bar, and free DVD rental there is plenty to do even if the weather takes a turn for the worse.

I travelled with my 8 month-old daughter who was also made very welcome, and was allowed into the Thermal Pool which was wonderful.

If you are looking for a comfortable mountain retreat, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

let me start by saying that I was going to give this hotel 5 out of 5 for the first time, but the problems we had with the front desk were a nightmare.

we booked a kuoni package which was great value, we had a beautiful suite with a view down the valley to the waterfall. the room was lovely, beautifully furnished and comfortable. the problems started when we arrived as there was not a bed for our son. I took the paperwork down to the front desk and explained that we had booked for three on a half board basis and showed the relevant paperwork. they simply replied I had to pay for a bed, i asked them to speak to kouni about this as I had already paid. A bed did arrive about an hour later and i thought no more about this.

as the week progressed we seemed to be being charges for my son's evening meal (usually a plate of chips or some pasta) he is only 3, so again we queried this with the front desk only to find that we were being charged 100CHF per day for the additional bed on a B&B basis and for his food. we managed to get them to remove the food after a debate but they were unprepared to do anything about the 700CHF, we were being charged, i repeatedly asked them to speak to kuoni, but thet were completely uninterested in assisting. We finally spoke to kuoni ourselves on the final day who who horrified about how we have been treated and stated they had already paid the hotel for the third bed and the hotel should have contacted them, and it would have been immediately rectfied. what was the most upsetting was when we advised the front desk of this. they still did not believe us and rang kuoni straight away to check. Why did they not do this when we checked in????.

as you can imagine this clouded my view of what was apart from this a lovely hotel. All the rest of the staff treated you well and were really friendly, especially in the restaurant, being happy to provided alternative meals especially for my son as the half board meals were really for adults.

there is a play room next to the restaurant which is well equipped so you can take children in there before or during the meal. this was great. You can also get dvds to what in your room, we did not do this as you can get uk tv on satellite which is fine for the odd time you needed to watch some tv.

adelboden is a pretty ski resort, we went to interlaken on the train a few times as we were not especially lucky with the weather, but when the sun did shine the views were breathtaking. the transfer from zurich was very easy and efficient.

the spa was good especially the hot tub which enjoys virtually 360 degree view of the valley.

a good holiday all in all if a bit upsetting at the end. this was excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LMSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank undercovermoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Solis Cambrian for a week in May 2008, shortly after the hotel had re-opened after refurbishment and just before Euro 2008 started. Apparently this off-season for Adelboden - too late for winter but before the summer season has started - so both the hotel and Adelboden were pretty quiet.

The hotel was clean and very well presented and the staff were, without exception, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are classed as south-facing or mountain view and, slightly confusingly, it's the south-facing ones have the best views. The view from our balcony was superb. There's a lovely indoor pool and a smaller outdoor spa pool with jets and such and one of the best by-the-pool views I've ever seen.

We were on a half-board package and dined in either the main restaurant or bar every evening. The food and service were consistently excellent.

We drove to Adelboden, so got to sample their spacious underground car park. There's a small car park in front of the hotel, but it only holds about 5 or 6 cars, so fills up quickly.

Overall we were very impressed with the Solis Cambrian and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
237 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
736 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 15 in Adelboden
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: £171 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing